http://gamingtrend.com
November 23, 2014, 11:12:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: General "can't find 360" grumbling  (Read 3080 times)
farley2k
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: March 13, 2006, 05:39:47 PM »

I decided that I would prefer to play Oblivion on the 360 becuase I like sitting on the couch and the TV is big.  My PC will play the game but I would have to turn stuff down so I figured the time was right to buy one.

Except I can't find one.  Nowhere in my city or in Eastern Iowa as far as I can tell has any premium units.  I can get on a waiting list but I would be suprised if that was filled before the game came out, and they want to force a bundle down my throat.

Now I am no expert but I think that if an average customer cannot find your product 5 months after launch then your launch was a failure.  The sad thing is that it won't be a failure because no one is going to challenge MS for at least another year (I'll believe in a PS3 by Christmas when Santa knocks on my door with one in hand!)  So MS can be as big of screw-ups as they want.  No one will smash them.

Saddly enough I think that if Sony had simply said "the PS2 is still great, has a lot of life and we won't have a new system for 2 years" they would win.  I honestly think that more people would buy a PS2 over a 360 if they were not worried that the PS3 is just around the corner.  The PS2 still has some great, great games coming out, it has a huge install base.  Sony could have easily ignored the race to the next system.

Heck if Sony really wanted to smash the crap out of MS they would just need to release a Live like on-line service for the PS2!  

However that is not to be so MS will have the run of the field until at least next year.  Which means I may not even see a 360 until then!