Everything to know about Destiny 2: Season of the Witch launching today

It’s been a busy day for Bungie with their Destiny 2 showcase hyping the final expansion of the Light and Dark Saga. But before we get there, we need to speak with an old adversary. Revealed today, Season of the Witch is now available in Destiny 2. The resurrection of the Witch Queen is here.

Season of the Witch
Destiny 2’s newest season – Season of the Witch – launches today. In Season of the Witch, Guardians will continue their ongoing pursuit of The Witness, and will confront old allies and enemies along the way. Savathûn’s ghost Immaru proposes a deal: aid in the resurrection of The Witch Queen and help defeat her sister, Xivu Arath. In exchange, Savathûn will reveal the key to the portal through the Traveler where The Witness is preparing to enact The Final Shape. Guardians will harness arcane Hive magic as they help their ally Eris Morn prepare for the showdown against the Hive god of war by transforming into a Hive god herself.

Key to Season of the Witch is the new Deck of Whispers, a new method of player progression that allows Guardians to customize their loadouts and powers in new ways. By completing Seasonal activities, players earn cards that can be used to build a customized deck full of buffs and perks for certain activities. Players in fireteams have the option to carefully strategize which cards they bring along to maximize their battle effectiveness on each run.

Time To Reflect

Alongside the adventure and action in Season of the Witch, the Destiny 2 development team is launching several new quality-of-life features to the game, designed to improve the experience of Guardians across the game. Among these key features is Timeline Reflections. These short playable missions, accessible through the Timeline feature in the Director, offer brief narrative introductions and summaries of key narrative events from Destiny 2 and are intended to help new players catch up with the ongoing story and to allow experienced players to relive and enjoy moments from the past.

With the launch of Season of the Witch, three Timeline Reflections missions are available, including Cayde-6’s final showdown with the Scorn from Destiny 2: Forsaken, the debut of Stasis from Destiny 2: Beyond Light, and the introduction of the Lucent Hive from Destiny 2: The Witch Queen. These missions are available to all players at no additional charge.

Reprised Raid: Crota’s End

Season of the Witch will also bring with it a reprised raid from Destiny’s past: Crota’s End. Originally released shortly after the launch of the original Destiny in 2014, Crota’s End finds Guardians braving the Lunar landscape to enter the Hellmouth and confront Oryx’s son once and for all.
Crota’s End will launch on September 1 and Bungie will be celebrating with a World First Race to recognize and reward the first fireteam to successfully complete the reprised raid. Fireteams all over the world will have 48 hours to complete the raid in Contest Mode, complete the Crota’s End Challenge Mode, and earn the Superior Swordplay Triumph. The first fireteam to finish every encounter, loot the final chest, and return to orbit after completing Challenge Mode will be declared World First and have their victory immortalized with Crota’s End World First raid belts.
Season of the Witch launches today and will end on November 28.

Stay tuned to Gaming Trend for full coverage of Destiny 2: Season of the Witch!

Noah is the resident weeb who spends most of his time gaming and watching anime. His goal is to expand his skills while meeting new people. You have probably seen him feeding the other team kills in Overwatch Comp or speculating Star Wars and One Piece. Follow him on twitter @RigsbyNoah.

See below for our list of partners and affiliates:


To Top