Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom Special Editions announced

If I learned anything about Ni no Kuni when the first one released, if you want the Collector’s Edition, order it immediately.   Well, now we have another opportunity as Bandai Namco and LEVEL-5 have announced three versions of the game – a Day One Edition, Digital Deluxe Edition, Premium Edition, and eye-poppingly awesome Collector’s Edition.

LEVEL-5, with help from former Studio Ghibli animator Yoshiyuki Momose, and music composed by Joe Hisaishi, has created something absolute magical.  Our brief (ok, I say brief, but I sought it out and played the E3 demo three times…) look at the game during E3 revealed a lot of “quality of life” improvements in the title, helping some of the minor pacing concerns the first title had, as well as a far more active combat system.   Here’s a little bit from Lead Editor Kay Purcell’s preview where we discovered some of the world building we’ll be doing in this sequel:

While those with the gotta-catch-’em-all bug may have been disappointed to hear that the familiar system is not returning to Ni No Kuni II, Level-5 has not left fans without something to obsess over in-game. When they say that Evan must build his own kingdom, they mean that quite literally. Kingdoms don’t create themselves, and Ni No Kuni II comes with a town building simulation, where you will have to command your subjects to take on tasks most suited to their skills, or most needed by your people. This includes customizing your city, convincing more townsfolk to move to your land, and, hopefully, reaping the game-wide benefits which come from ruling over a thriving kingdom.

Without further ado, here’s a quick look at what each one of the editions will contain:


Day One Edition – $59.99  (Purchase link)

  • Ni no Kuni II: REVENANT KINGDOM game software
  • Special Sword Set DLC

    (Click for a larger version)

Digital Deluxe Edition – $79.99 (Purchase link)

  • Day One Edition content
  • Exclusive Theme
  • Special Swords Set DLC
  • Season Pass

    (Click for larger version)

Premium Edition – $79.99  (Purchase link)

  • Day One Edition content
  • Exclusive SteelBook Case
  • 3D Papercraft Kit
  • Dragon’s Tooth exclusive DLC sword
  • Music Collection CD

    (Click for a larger version)

Collector’s Edition – $199.99 (Purchase link)

  • Premium Edition content
  • Ni no Kuni II Visual Arts Book
  • Chibi Mechanical Rotating Diorama
  • Lofty plush
  • The Making of Ni no Kuni II Blu-Ray
  • 3D Papercraft Display Case
  • Season Pass

    (Click for a larger version)

A season pass for Ni no Kuni II: REVENANT KINGDOM is also available for purchase digitally on the PlayStation 4 system and STEAM for $19.99. The season pass content includes the following:

  • Two large DLC releases – Enjoy additional Ni no Kuni II: REVENANT KINGDOM gameplay content fit for a king! The contents of these DLCs are under protection of the king’s royal guard for now, but stay tuned for more information.
  • Supply Kit – A healthy heaping of items hand-picked for the discerning adventurer.

Ni no Kuni II: REVENANT KINGDOM will be available on January 19, 2018 for the PlayStation 4 system and PC via STEAM.   They haven’t shown up for pre-order on Amazon quite yet, but as they activate this morning you’ll be able to purchase them at the links above.  As I said…based on the last title’s ability to move pre-orders, and the fact that Ni no Kuni II won best RPG of the show for E3 2017, you may want to act fast…

See below for our list of partners and affiliates:


To Top