http://gamingtrend.com
September 01, 2014, 09:17:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why aren't there "LEGO: etc" games on Android  (Read 1032 times)
farley2k
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: November 07, 2013, 04:14:09 PM »

With LEGO: Lord of the Rings coming out this week on ios I went hunting for some of the games on android and came up blank.  Apparently none of them (LoTR, Harry Potter, etc) are on android.  Has anyone ever heard of a reason why not?

wonderpug

hmm...

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 04:26:38 PM »

I think it's because generally, developing for Android is a pain in the ass.
farley2k

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 08:06:45 PM »

I am not a programer so I don't have a clue I just know that most stuff seems to come out for both OSes.  It is a bit disappointing too but I probably have too much stuff to play anway.

Oh and I am watching Assasins Creed 4 videos on Youtube so I sense even more of a backlog!  smile

wonderpug

hmm...

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 08:19:30 PM »

Since I'm considering trying my hand at mobile development, I've read up a bunch on the topic.  To vastly oversimplify the issues, the biggest problem is that there are so many different kinds of Android devices that it's more like developing for the PC.  The iOS ecosystem is gaining more and more variants, but for the most part it's like developing for consoles where you have a set number of device types to account for.

Another big aspect is that Android users seem much more reluctant to part with their money.  For whatever reason, paid apps don't sell nearly as well (generally) on Android than they do on iOS. 
leo8877

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 08:27:15 PM »