http://gamingtrend.com
November 27, 2014, 06:00:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why do radio stations only play singles?  (Read 1690 times)
ScubaV
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: April 29, 2008, 10:30:18 PM »

I work in a lab with 4-6 other people depending on the time of day.  The radio is always on, though the station varies, as that is the only way to listen to music (internet access is tightly controlled, and headphones are not allowed).  Needless to say, I'm getting very annoyed with hearing the same songs over and over and over and over and over again, even if they're ones I like.  How did this come to be?  And why do radio stations only play singles instead of other tracks to add some variety?

I have absolute faith in the power of people to be stupid.

My vision is augmented.
Giles Habibula
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 11:20:23 PM »

Often wonder this myself.
 I have more variety on my home CD collection.
I can only guess it has something to do with a 'package' of songs they license for a set fee. More songs would cost them more....?
My buddy works as a DJ at a local station, and he says he doesn't know. All he knows is that there is a hard drive with a playlist on it, and that's all he has to work with.

Back about 10 to 15 years ago, there was a local station that used to play non-singles. And every Saturday night, they'd do something called a "CD Sideshow", where they would play an ENTIRE CD. I bought a lot of CDs based on what I heard on that show. For instance, I was introduced to Blue Oyster Cult's "Fire Of Unknown Origin" that way, and became a BOC fan because of it. I used to schedule my Saturday nights around that, to make sure I heard it each week.

The old days. I miss 'em.