http://gamingtrend.com
November 28, 2014, 06:01:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TIVO Questions attn: Jeff Jones  (Read 2025 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« on: November 01, 2004, 02:21:31 AM »

Heya guys.
I have what I think is a series 1 tivo. I believe it gets 12 hours of recording, although I am not positive. With so little space, however, it is basically useless to me, so I want to ask a few questions.

I have found a 40 hour for 100 after rebates and 80 hour for 200 after rebates. Both seem like good deals. 40 hours sounds like enough, although 80 really does sound like it would be more than enough.

A couple questions: does this sound like good prices? Which size would yall recommend? and most importantly, can ANY of these units allow me to watch a different channel than the one I am recording. That drives me freaking bonkers with my current system.
Logged
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1099


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2004, 02:29:56 AM »

The 80 hour price is higher than I would pay.  How about throwing in a bigger drive into the cheaper one?

Check out www.weaknees.com .

I personally need 80 hours.  I started with 40 and installed another 40GB drive.  Are these models Series 2?  Make sure that they have two separate inputs so you can record one show and watch another.
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2004, 02:42:12 AM »

Greggy, I definately want one with two outputs. thats a dealbreaker for me.

this is the one I want: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?id=1082742887515&skuId=6654881&productCategoryId=cat03021&type=product

can you tell me what you think?
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2004, 04:40:43 AM »

One bump, added Jeff Jones name because I remember him being VERY Tivo knowledgable.
Logged
swizzlest
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2004, 04:50:02 AM »

Notes:

The only Tivo unit that has two inputs for recording are the DirecTivo units for use with DirecTV.  

Weaknees is a great site for your upgrades.

If you don't want a kit, you can use the Hinsdale instructions if your model has the bracketing for an extra hard drive (you can check this on weaknees website, I believe).

Two outputs?  It may have more than one set of outputs, but I'm pretty sure all your outputs will output the same picture and sound.  The only DVR on the market that has outputs that can stream separate feeds is a Dish Network DVR (blegh!), I believe.

Mike
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2004, 05:28:46 AM »

That absolutely blows..so what you are telling me is that other than the DirectTivo, I cannot get a tv with two different output feeds?
That is much lessimportant to me than the main issue:

Can I get a Tivo that will allow me to record one program and watch live TV at the same time?

Appreciate the help.
Logged
swizzlest
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2004, 05:35:56 AM »

Unfortunately, I am not well-prosed on the standalone Tivo.  

The DirecTV with Tivo receiver will allow you to watch one thing and record another.  It still won't allow you to watch two different programs output from it at the same time.

The standalone may have some functionality for this that is similar, but I am not sure.  I don't think so, but you can check out Tivo's website, or the Tivo Community, and many friendly persons will be able to help you if nobody jumps on this here.

Mike
Logged
Jeff
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3278



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2004, 06:15:54 AM »

Quote from: "Rage"


Can I get a Tivo that will allow me to record one program and watch live TV at the same time?

Appreciate the help.



I'm somewhat out of touch on Tivo these days. Mine is a 3.5 year old series one, and I don't know much about the newer models. To my knowledge, there are no standalone Tivos that have dual tuner capability.

Your question above, rephrased, is just asking if it has dual tuners, as that's the only way to record on one channel and view another one live. This limitation never bothered me as I'd just watch an already recorded show while recording a new one. The problem arises when there's two shows on at the same time that you want to see. The only way to fix that is to get a DirecTivo, or get a 2nd Tivo. The 2nd Tivo option would require a 2nd monthly payment, though.
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2004, 06:21:38 AM »

Hmm..ok...in that case, one more question.
A 40 gig hard drive will give me approximately how many hours of medium quality recording time?
Logged
Quaro
Welcome to Gaming Trend

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2004, 06:22:43 AM »

If you can record one show while watching another with a VCR right now in your home, then you can do it with a tivo.  It works the same way -- it can pass through the signal when in stanby mode.  Could also just split the cable and add a switch, so that you can always just go to the live feed.  But this only works if you have old fashioned cable.

Most people have a cable box with digital cable these days, and think about it -- the cable box can only be on one channel at once, so you would need two cable boxes to watch something different than you were recording.  Usually you can split the cable anyway and get analog tv on the live feed if you want, a subset of your regular channels, but I haven't even bothered as there aren't any conflicts that don't reshow the ep later in the week for anything i watch.

If you old tivo has a lifetime subscription, then it would be well worthwhile to upgrade it, even if you shipped it out to have it done professionally.  If it doesn't then you may as well get a new one.  I find that 80 hours is the sweet spot.  I've got 150 on mine now upgraded from a 40, but I don't use the space very much.
Logged
dangerballs
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 532


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2004, 06:53:31 AM »

Quote from: "Rage"
Hmm..ok...in that case, one more question.
A 40 gig hard drive will give me approximately how many hours of medium quality recording time?


Probably about 20 hours or so.  I have an 80gb and I record with best quality and it holds around 23 hrs.
Logged

What's Cooking at Hacienda de Bolas del Peligro?

PC: Tomb Raider | Xbox360: GTA V | PS3: Infamous 2, Ni No Kuni
swizzlest
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2004, 07:03:41 AM »

Another plus for the DirecTivo units - the unit only has one quality setting - best.  It records the digital stream directly from the satellite.  40 GB = Up to 35 hrs of programming.
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2004, 07:19:52 AM »

Sorry, i forgot to mention this very pertinent fact-no DirectTVhere, and probably wont have it until I move at the end of the summer if I even get it then.

Right now the 80 gig deal is looking the best.
Logged
Jeff
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3278



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2004, 02:02:29 PM »

Quote from: "Quaro"
If you can record one show while watching another with a VCR right now in your home, then you can do it with a tivo.  It works the same way -- it can pass through the signal when in stanby mode.  Could also just split the cable and add a switch, so that you can always just go to the live feed.  But this only works if you have old fashioned cable.


Not to be combative, but no, you can't. Splitting the signal won't work with a Tivo. IIRC, I tried this, and the Tivo fails to work with a splitter installed. (I forget the technical reasons why). Maybe things have changed with Series 2 though.

It's been 3+ years, but I remember frantically trying to do what Rage is trying to do now, have the ability to watch one and record another at the same time, and couldn't do it. I even called Tivo support, and they explained why splitters won't work, but I don't remember the details.
Logged
dangerballs
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 532


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2004, 04:52:18 PM »

Quote from: "Jeff Jones"
Quote from: "Quaro"
If you can record one show while watching another with a VCR right now in your home, then you can do it with a tivo.  It works the same way -- it can pass through the signal when in stanby mode.  Could also just split the cable and add a switch, so that you can always just go to the live feed.  But this only works if you have old fashioned cable.


Not to be combative, but no, you can't. Splitting the signal won't work with a Tivo. IIRC, I tried this, and the Tivo fails to work with a splitter installed. (I forget the technical reasons why). Maybe things have changed with Series 2 though.

It's been 3+ years, but I remember frantically trying to do what Rage is trying to do now, have the ability to watch one and record another at the same time, and couldn't do it. I even called Tivo support, and they explained why splitters won't work, but I don't remember the details.


A splitter works with my Tivo Series 2.  I have the cable coming from the wall into a splitter and then into my Tivo (Toshiba) and my TV.  Works perfectly.  There is a Tivo support page that talks about using splitters right here.
Logged

What's Cooking at Hacienda de Bolas del Peligro?

PC: Tomb Raider | Xbox360: GTA V | PS3: Infamous 2, Ni No Kuni
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4694


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2004, 06:30:16 PM »

A splitter works fine for me as well-  and I have the very first model Tivo (HDR114, or something)
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2004, 07:55:54 PM »

I wanted to drag this back up and ask a questino about installing a second drive. The 40 gig version for 100 bucks available seems like a good deal still, and I found a 120 gig harddrive at CC for like 50 bucks after rebate. So for 150 bucks I could get 160 gigs going...Now my question is how hard is it to manually add the extra HDD?
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4694


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2004, 04:15:51 PM »

If you're comfortable with the command line a la DOS or Linux and opening up your PC, it shouldn't be a problem.
Logged
lildrgn
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1406


It's not the years, it's the mileage.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2004, 05:00:49 PM »

Quote from: "Rage"
That absolutely blows..so what you are telling me is that other than the DirectTivo, I cannot get a tv with two different output feeds?
That is much lessimportant to me than the main issue:

Can I get a Tivo that will allow me to record one program and watch live TV at the same time?

Appreciate the help.


I'm a little cornfused by a friend of mine. He just bought a Tivo and is gadget impaired, yet, supposedly, he has set it up so he can do just what Rage asked. I have yet to talk to him so I'm not sure what he did, but once I know, you'll know.
Logged

dangerballs
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 532


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2004, 05:09:13 PM »

Quote from: "lildrgn"
Quote from: "Rage"
That absolutely blows..so what you are telling me is that other than the DirectTivo, I cannot get a tv with two different output feeds?
That is much lessimportant to me than the main issue:

Can I get a Tivo that will allow me to record one program and watch live TV at the same time?

Appreciate the help.


I'm a little cornfused by a friend of mine. He just bought a Tivo and is gadget impaired, yet, supposedly, he has set it up so he can do just what Rage asked. I have yet to talk to him so I'm not sure what he did, but once I know, you'll know.


If you use a splitter or have a DirecTivo, you can do that.  A regular Tivo without a splittler can't.
Logged

What's Cooking at Hacienda de Bolas del Peligro?

PC: Tomb Raider | Xbox360: GTA V | PS3: Infamous 2, Ni No Kuni
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.125 seconds with 63 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.021s, 2q)