http://gamingtrend.com
October 25, 2014, 02:47:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 62 63 [64] 65 66 ... 89   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: OO off line for a short time  (Read 222963 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8299


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #2520 on: November 17, 2009, 01:48:47 PM »

I havent - have you? :-D
Logged

A new one
Octavious230
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 839


View Profile
« Reply #2521 on: November 17, 2009, 02:07:39 PM »

No comment.  icon_twisted
Logged
naednek
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4678



View Profile
« Reply #2522 on: November 17, 2009, 02:18:18 PM »

welcome back.... again.
Logged
dbt1949
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2619


Don't tread on me


View Profile
« Reply #2523 on: November 17, 2009, 02:38:59 PM »

Tell Rip to look for bullet holes.
Logged

Ye Olde Farte
Ironrod
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3402



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2524 on: November 19, 2009, 06:08:14 PM »

Is it down for anyone else today? It just keeps timing out for me.
Logged

Curio City Online - Weird stuff you can buy
Curious Business - The Curio City Blog
dbt1949
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2619


Don't tread on me


View Profile
« Reply #2525 on: November 19, 2009, 06:16:11 PM »

It comes and goes.Mostly goes.
Logged

Ye Olde Farte
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #2526 on: November 19, 2009, 11:33:35 PM »

Been fine all day for me.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Ironrod
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3402



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2527 on: November 20, 2009, 12:04:59 AM »

All better now. META forum says to expect intermittent weekend OOtages in order to serve you better.
Logged

Curio City Online - Weird stuff you can buy
Curious Business - The Curio City Blog
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #2528 on: November 20, 2009, 12:54:42 AM »

Quote from: Ironrod on November 20, 2009, 12:04:59 AM

in order to serve you better.

they're prepping the cookbooks, eh?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8299


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #2529 on: November 20, 2009, 08:59:32 AM »

Yup, its down now, serving me better :-D
Logged

A new one
tgb
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 153


View Profile
« Reply #2530 on: November 20, 2009, 11:31:28 AM »

Come on.  This is starting to become comic.
Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9425



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2531 on: November 20, 2009, 12:42:30 PM »

Damn, and epic things were brewing in the battlestar galactica boardgame I was GMing.
Logged
dbt1949
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2619


Don't tread on me


View Profile
« Reply #2532 on: November 20, 2009, 01:36:14 PM »

Rip did mention in the Meta forum that it would be on and off again all day as they're doing some kind of magic things to it.
Logged

Ye Olde Farte
Shinjin
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 273


View Profile
« Reply #2533 on: November 20, 2009, 01:37:09 PM »

Migrating to a new server I think.
Logged
stessier
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 723


View Profile
« Reply #2534 on: November 20, 2009, 01:39:00 PM »

Quote from: Turtle on November 20, 2009, 12:42:30 PM

Damn, and epic things were brewing in the battlestar galactica boardgame I was GMing.

You have my attention.  I promise I won't tell any of the others.   ninja
Logged
tgb
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 153


View Profile
« Reply #2535 on: November 20, 2009, 01:59:51 PM »

Quote from: dbt1949 on November 20, 2009, 01:36:14 PM

Rip did mention in the Meta forum that it would be on and off again all day as they're doing some kind of magic things to it.

Who the hell reads the Meta forum?
Logged
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2536 on: November 20, 2009, 02:29:34 PM »

We are in the process of migrating the VM over. Wish me some luck here doing this remotely, but we've got the VM ported just a matter of making sure we don't run into conflicts between systems and get the iSCSI configured correctly.
Logged
cheeba
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2046


View Profile
« Reply #2537 on: November 20, 2009, 02:31:12 PM »

Thanks for all the hard work, FishPants!
Logged
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2538 on: November 20, 2009, 02:36:30 PM »

Quote from: FishPants on November 20, 2009, 02:29:34 PM

We are in the process of migrating the VM over. Wish me some luck here doing this remotely, but we've got the VM ported just a matter of making sure we don't run into conflicts between systems and get the iSCSI configured correctly.

if you're using vmware, are you guys using esxi or anything?  i recently ported all my development servers over to it and i absolutely adore it...plus, it's free.   icon_mrgreen
Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
dbt1949
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2619


Don't tread on me


View Profile
« Reply #2539 on: November 20, 2009, 04:02:58 PM »

Quote from: FishPants on November 20, 2009, 02:29:34 PM

We are in the process of migrating the VM over. Wish me some luck here doing this remotely, but we've got the VM ported just a matter of making sure we don't run into conflicts between systems and get the iSCSI configured correctly.


That's what I said, Magic.
Logged

Ye Olde Farte
Pyperkub
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1569


View Profile
« Reply #2540 on: November 20, 2009, 04:34:52 PM »

Quote from: hepcat on November 20, 2009, 02:36:30 PM

Quote from: FishPants on November 20, 2009, 02:29:34 PM

We are in the process of migrating the VM over. Wish me some luck here doing this remotely, but we've got the VM ported just a matter of making sure we don't run into conflicts between systems and get the iSCSI configured correctly.

if you're using vmware, are you guys using esxi or anything?  i recently ported all my development servers over to it and i absolutely adore it...plus, it's free.   icon_mrgreen


iSCSI & esxi can be tricky.  Not impossible, but tricky, especially depending on the iSCSI device(s).

g/l FishPants!
Logged

Pardon me, but that is a .... damn fine cup of coffee.
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2541 on: November 20, 2009, 04:36:07 PM »

Using VMWare Server 2.0 right now, wish we had ESXi as the bare metal hypervisor but I don't really want to go through a reinstall at the moment..

Anyways so far I've got the external network up, just trying to guess my way through RIP's iscsi network.. It won't login (different subnet) so waiting on that information at the moment.  Once I have that we should be ok.
Logged
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2542 on: November 20, 2009, 04:45:23 PM »

Quote from: FishPants on November 20, 2009, 04:36:07 PM

Using VMWare Server 2.0 right now, wish we had ESXi as the bare metal hypervisor but I don't really want to go through a reinstall at the moment..

Anyways so far I've got the external network up, just trying to guess my way through RIP's iscsi network.. It won't login (different subnet) so waiting on that information at the moment.  Once I have that we should be ok.

you can export the image out to a standalone image via server and then import it into an esxi server in a pretty short period.  i do that for backups.  the only downside is you have to use converter to do it from within the image if it's powered on.  in any case, it's fairly foolproof.  you can also use converter/server and just move them between existing installations, but that presupposes you have both server and esxi running at the same time.  the vsphere client is just great for a gui enabled administration tool.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 04:49:29 PM by hepcat » Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
DocD
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 120


View Profile
« Reply #2543 on: November 20, 2009, 04:50:10 PM »

Quote from: Turtle on November 20, 2009, 12:42:30 PM

Damn, and epic things were brewing in the battlestar galactica boardgame I was GMing.

Care to share turtle? I won't tell. slywink
Logged
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2544 on: November 20, 2009, 04:54:44 PM »

Yeah I am using vSphere here at work; but I've been doing this blind, remotely with Arcanis' hands occasionally to assist.. Safe to say I'm a little frustrated at the moment.

Basically what's happened is the new server/host has a different connection to the SAN, different subnet on said SAN network and the credentials for the OO VM don't work/it can't find the target.. even after setting that NIC to get an address automatically from DHCP (which it did).. Still can't find the iscsi target -- which means it still can't find the OO directory.

Anyways I've been screwing around blind/without local help for about 4 hours -- I've told Arcanis when he gets a chance to boot up the old VM image and I will look at this another day.

 wasted
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #2545 on: November 20, 2009, 04:59:55 PM »

Spoke too soon. Down here too now.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2546 on: November 20, 2009, 05:10:13 PM »

dang fishpants, i'm sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with it and that you're basically doing this without actually having full access.  if you ever need another set of hands or something, let me know.
Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #2547 on: November 20, 2009, 05:14:55 PM »

Quote from: hepcat on November 20, 2009, 05:10:13 PM

dang fishpants, i'm sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with it and that you're basically doing this without actually having full access.  if you ever need another set of hands or something, let me know.

and for once he means this without any sexual innuendo.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2548 on: November 20, 2009, 05:16:36 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on November 20, 2009, 05:14:55 PM

Quote from: hepcat on November 20, 2009, 05:10:13 PM

dang fishpants, i'm sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with it and that you're basically doing this without actually having full access.  if you ever need another set of hands or something, let me know.

and for once he means this without any sexual innuendo.

do i?  i mean...errr...yes, exactly!
Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
Pyperkub
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1569


View Profile
« Reply #2549 on: November 20, 2009, 05:19:20 PM »

I'd think the iSCSI network would be one of the private networks (10.0.0.xxx, or 192.168.0.xxx)?  And if you have access to the host, shouldn't one of the nics be configured to connect to the iSCSI network?  You should have a better idea though...
Logged

Pardon me, but that is a .... damn fine cup of coffee.
newcastle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 564



View Profile
« Reply #2550 on: November 20, 2009, 05:43:16 PM »

man i feel like i am watching 24 and everyone's in the CTU HQs with all this tech speak, now all i need to hear is "Chloe i need you to socket a trace into a backfilter".

Thanks for the hardwork, keep it up!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 06:45:20 PM by newcastle » Logged
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2551 on: November 20, 2009, 06:18:47 PM »

Ok here's something weird.. Any VMWare / Linux geeks feel free to chime in:

1. Figured out the iscsi network, it's online and the OO area is mapped in.
2. Another network had to be added where the internal name server is, no problem, done, get DNS resolution.
3. Third nic is the external IP/intartubez.

So before I figured out #1, I had the other two nics online.. I could even "ping www.google.com" and it would give me the nice reply.  I added the third nic in, hit the jackpot for iscsi connection and now? I can resolve names but I can't ping anywhere (destination unreachable).

I am stumped.. SELinux is off, iptables is off.. Nothing is filtering at the moment, yet I can't seem to get out to the Internet at all.  The only thing I do know is that Arcanis was helping me out and was bringing the old VM online when I had this one up; wondering if there isn't a cluttered arp cache somewhere on the network now.

Anyone know how to force an arp update without having access to the routers/switches?  I figured by now it would have expired (30 mins), especially after a cycle of the system which should have resulted in a re-announcement of the IP/MAC location.

Or... Hrmm.. perhaps the old VM and this one have the same MAC address for the same IP; that could really fuck up CAM tables.. but again I'd expect that to have released by now.

Bueller?
Logged
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2552 on: November 20, 2009, 06:26:59 PM »

cached arp entries are a bitch.  i had a sonicwall firewall that wouldn't update the match between a mac and an ip on a replacement server for which i used existing addressing (i was lazy and didn't want to change NAT and forwarding info).  i eventually replaced the firewall since it was obviously just corrupt.

forcing an arp update on an external router is probably out of the question from a security standpoint. can you contact the ISP/whoever admins the router?  barring that, can you put in a different nic and try it with a different address?
Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2553 on: November 20, 2009, 06:37:08 PM »

Well I've asked the guys to disconnect the NICs from the old VM in the setup, then fire it off and shoot me the ifcfg-eth* scripts.  I must have missed something in the configuration when I've been mucking around.

I'm able to SSH into OO from the host OS; it's just the return path that seems mucky from the Internet. *sigh*
Logged
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2554 on: November 20, 2009, 06:41:42 PM »

check your /etc/resolv.conf by the way.  if you imported/exported your image at any point during this process, the dns servers in that file might have changed.

edit:  whoops, you say you can resolve names but not ping.  i misread your post.  
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 06:43:35 PM by hepcat » Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2555 on: November 20, 2009, 06:43:02 PM »

Nope resolution is fine.. Was the introduction of the iscsi network that has since borked my external access and I'm not sure why.. default gateway is where it should be to the external world..
Logged
Lassr
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 561



View Profile
« Reply #2556 on: November 20, 2009, 06:43:05 PM »

 Bring your own!
Logged

Roll Tide!
hepcat
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9262


I'M the one that knocks! Now...burp me!


View Profile
« Reply #2557 on: November 20, 2009, 06:44:50 PM »

how's the eth scripts look?  personally, i've done everything from adding an extra period to a subnet address to rem'ing out the wrong entries.  even though i love the granular control linux affords me, i sometimes miss the gui driven side of windows.
Logged

Warning:  You will see my penis. -Brian

Just remember: once a user figures out gluten noting them they're allowed to make fun of you. - Ceekay speaking in tongues.
FishPants
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Ouch


View Profile
« Reply #2558 on: November 20, 2009, 08:07:02 PM »

Well I need to head out.. I asked Arcanis to move the old one back online when he gets time.

Sorry kids just couldn't figure out the destination unreachable error messages.
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #2559 on: November 20, 2009, 08:08:55 PM »

Live, damn you! LIVE!
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Pages: 1 ... 62 63 [64] 65 66 ... 89   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.203 seconds with 104 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.081s, 2q)