http://gamingtrend.com
October 24, 2014, 01:42:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New MacBook Air, need app ideas  (Read 416 times)
Zinfan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: August 04, 2011, 07:45:55 PM »

Just got a Macbook Air 13" and was wondering if there are any must have apps out there.  I'm new to the Mac world other than the iPod touch that I have so don't really have a handle on what might be needed for this thing.  I put Peggle, Bookworm and a journal app called Day One on the machine so far but what might I be missing? 

I think I may look into adding Windows 7 via bootcamp once I figure out how to do that (this thing has no DVD drive) and seeing if I could try putting The Witcher (saw a quick look on Giant Bomb that got me wanting to try this game again) on this laptop.
Laner

Badassfully

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2011, 07:54:19 PM »

The Witcher

On an Air? Sounds painful... it's pretty GPU intense.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 07:56:28 PM by Laner » Logged
GuidoTKP
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 12:59:33 AM »

If you use Google Reader a lot, then Reeder is a must.
wonderpug

hmm...

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2011, 01:21:38 AM »

Caffeine is a great little unobtrusive program that lets you stop your display from going to sleep for X minutes.  You just click a little coffee cup in the upper right whateveritscalled bar and it keeps the display awake for your preset default, or right click to specify some other time.
DarkEL

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2011, 01:26:23 AM »

Congrats - I just updated my old Macbook Pro for one of the new 13" MBA's as well.

Here's some of the Apps that I use a lot

Twitter client
Reeder for Google Reader (seconding GuidoTKP's recommendation)
Adium for Instant messaging