http://gamingtrend.com
October 20, 2014, 01:23:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Netflix: 'Rental-by-mail has 5 years left'  (Read 1016 times)
PR_GMR
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: May 28, 2008, 09:58:21 PM »

Get ready to get a big, fat fiber optic connection into your home. According to Netflix, the days of physical media will be over in 5 years. I've been suspecting this for some time, and I think the news is pretty cool. DVD? Blu-Ray? CDs? None of those will survive. Bring it all home with a big, fat fiber optic cable and keep it all tidy-ly stored in an (Apple-made  Tongue) fast media server computer of some sort... connected to a huge screen HDTV. As a filmmaker, I even look forward to the day we might by-pass those shady studios and distributors and bring you the goods straight to you home on release day.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2008, 12:02:18 AM by PR_GMR » Logged
YellowKing

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 10:04:50 PM »

That article completely misinterpreted what Netflix said. They predicted that the demand for physical media rental by mail would peak in the next five years. That's a long way from saying physical media will be obsolete within five years.

I'm a proponent of the idea that physical media (in terms of consumer consumption) will eventually be obsolete, but it's a long, long way out. The broadband/cable infrastructure is simply not in place to support it, and won't be for many years if not decades.
Moliere

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 10:05:49 PM »

Quote from: PR_GMR on May 28, 2008, 09:58:21 PM

As a filmmaker, I even look forward to the day we might by-pass those shady studios and distributors and bring you the goods straight to you home on release day.