http://gamingtrend.com
November 28, 2014, 08:47:34 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Must-have Firefox extension - AutoPager  (Read 1089 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« on: July 15, 2009, 03:10:49 PM »

I hate Firefox.  I find it to be slow, buggy, prone to crashing and takes bloody forever to start up.  However, it remains my browser of choice because of the astounding array of useful extensions.  My latest discovery is AutoPager.

You know all those websites that force you to click through to pages two, three and beyond, loading all those adverts and things again, just to read a single story?  AutoPager banishes all that nonsense!  Just underneath the normal "page 2," "page 3" links you get a pagebreak inserted by AutoPager along with some arrows to navigate between the generated pages.  I've tested it with great success on Eurogamer and The Register, it works like a charm (it even offered to do the same on GamingTrend but I declined).  It works on sites that have been profiled by AutoPager users.  If you encounter an incompatible site you can profile it yourself using a built-in application and send the result to the AutoPager server so that all users benefit.

This just became one of my "can't do without" extensions. smile
« Last Edit: July 15, 2009, 03:14:01 PM by Huw the Poo » Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
naednek
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4717



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2009, 03:16:59 PM »

probably would be better to have added this to the App Thread
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15974


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2009, 06:29:40 PM »

Quote from: Huw the Poo on July 15, 2009, 03:10:49 PM

I hate Firefox.  I find it to be slow, buggy, prone to crashing and takes bloody forever to start up.

Huh? What Firefox are you running? Mine opens up very quickly, requires an act of gord to crash, and is really fast to render pages.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2009, 07:18:02 PM »

I'm using 3.5 right now and found out takes about a minute to start up the first time I use it after booting up my PC and even then it still takes about 30 seconds before it's responsive.  I think I may downgrade back to 3.0. 
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Moliere
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5110



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2009, 07:26:10 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on July 15, 2009, 07:18:02 PM

I'm using 3.5 right now and found out takes about a minute to start up the first time I use it after booting up my PC and even then it still takes about 30 seconds before it's responsive.  I think I may downgrade back to 3.0. 

That could have something to do with your Add-ons. If you're running Adblock + with a bunch of filters that will delay your startup time.
Logged

That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2009, 07:31:16 PM »

Quote from: Moliere on July 15, 2009, 07:26:10 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on July 15, 2009, 07:18:02 PM

I'm using 3.5 right now and found out takes about a minute to start up the first time I use it after booting up my PC and even then it still takes about 30 seconds before it's responsive.  I think I may downgrade back to 3.0. 

That could have something to do with your Add-ons. If you're running Adblock + with a bunch of filters that will delay your startup time.

3.0 didn't have that kind of delay, even with Adblock.  I think I am going to disable all the plug ins and see if one of them may be causing the problem, but it's only after I boot up my PC (but no matter how long I wait before starting it) so troubleshooting is a pain.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2009, 07:54:31 PM »

Quote from: Destructor on July 15, 2009, 06:29:40 PM


Huh? What Firefox are you running? Mine opens up very quickly, requires an act of gord to crash, and is really fast to render pages.

What version are you using? slywink  That sounds nothing like the Firefox I know.  I'm using 3.0.11 on Ubuntu but it's been like this for years now.  And CeeKay's just depressed me because I was hoping that 3.5 would bring some kind of speed boost with it.  Destructor, do you ever shut down your PC?  Once Firefox has been cached, opening it isn't nearly so painful, but it's still slow as shit to render pages.  Compared to something like Opera, anyway.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
SkyLander
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1889



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2009, 08:02:39 PM »

Firefox is kind of slow loading on my work computer but that is when it first boots up. It is fast on every other computer I've used it on. From OSX to Ubuntu to XP to Vista to Windows 7. ANd it never really crashes on me. Once in awhile when I try to load some pretty funky webpages or other issues or going on. But that is incredibly rare.

So what Firefox are you using?
Logged

Pretty....what do we blow up first?
ericb
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1654



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2009, 09:24:45 PM »

It has to be a conflict or add-on issue.  I run firefox on XP, Ubuntu, Vista, Win7 and OS X 10.4 and it doesn't take longer than 5-10 seconds to start and display my home page on the initial start.  Typically it takes less than that after it's been opened and closed again (until the next reboot smile)  And I typically run adblocker, scriptblocker and the weather plugin (not weatherbug) plus the noia theme.
Logged
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2009, 10:13:35 PM »

I'm surprised at the number of you reporting no problems at all; Firefox is notorious for these issues, although apparently it's worse if you're running it on Linux.  disgust  I think I'll follow CeeKay's lead and start testing the plugins.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Canuck
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5491


I live in Japan


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2009, 10:47:36 PM »

Firefox is a little slow to start up the first time for me as well.  It crashes occasionally but not any more often than any other browser I don't think.  I love how when you do crash, it will restore all the pages that you were viewing previously. IE probably does that now as well, but it didn't used to-had to copy Firefox like every other feature it now has smile
Logged
Canuck
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5491


I live in Japan


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2009, 10:57:30 PM »

Ok so I'm going through the forums and I've got Autopager installed but I'm not really seeing what it's doing.  Can you explain a little more?  Also, everytime I go to a new site I get a pop up which says so and so has a setting for this site-do you want to use it?  Should I be clicking yes?  Is there any way to make it so it just automatically accepts the setting instead of popping up every time i visit a new site?
Logged
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2009, 11:00:24 PM »

I'm not sure about always accepting, but you do only have to click yes once for each site so it'll get less noticeable pretty quickly.  If you want a good example, go to this Eurogamer game review and click yes when the popup appears.  Then, halfway through the review, you will see the AutoPager page break followed by page 2 of the review, all on the same page.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Ironrod
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3415



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2009, 01:30:01 AM »

How does this plugin enhance my porn browsing experience?
Logged

Curio City Online - Weird stuff you can buy
Curious Business - The Curio City Blog
metallicorphan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 16378



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2009, 02:24:30 AM »

yeah i am gonna go with the flow,Firefox 3.5 is slow when first opening page,then its fine....i haven't had a crash either since getting the 3.5(it would happen quite a lot with the 3.0 or whatever the last one was),and the opening of other pages etc is decently fast

i am using Vista if that matters
Logged

Manchester United Premier League Champions 2013!!

Xbox LIVE:Metallicorphan
Wii:8565 1513 0206 1960
PSN:Metallicorphan
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15974


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2009, 03:15:23 AM »

I'm running Firefox 3.5 on a Vista 64 PC, 4GB of RAM. I run a small list of addons: Adblock Plus (using a self-generated list of sites to block), Download Statusbar, DownloadHelper, DownThemAll, FireFTP, FireGestures, Flashblock, Greasemonkey, NoScript (self-generated list again), and Tiny Menu.

I might see a little slowdown the very first time (after a cold boot - I hibernate the laptop all the time, so it doesn't happen often) I run it, but it's absolutely nowhere near the times other people are stating. Seconds, tops, if even.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4694


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2009, 03:23:27 PM »

To get back to the OP, I installed Auto Pager, not quite understand what it was supposed to do.  

It's great, now that I've "got it" - nice find.

As for Firefox 3.5, there are too many extensions I use that aren't supported by 3.5 yet, so I'm still on 3.0.11
Logged
jztemple2
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2188



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2009, 11:37:30 PM »

I just tried Autopager and after I as well "got it" I found it to be easy to add a new site to their database. I used it on Bookmooch's member history page. It has always been a pain to try to find a book since I have to click through multiple pages; now they all load up as one big page. Cool  thumbsup
Logged

"The function of economic forecasting is to make astrology look respectable" - John Kenneth Galbraith
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2009, 11:47:21 PM »

Quote from: Huw the Poo on July 15, 2009, 10:13:35 PM

I'm surprised at the number of you reporting no problems at all; Firefox is notorious for these issues, although apparently it's worse if you're running it on Linux.  disgust  I think I'll follow CeeKay's lead and start testing the plugins.

I deleted 2 plugins, one related to gametap and another having to do with BBCode (not sure how that got there) and everything seems to be fine now.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2009, 07:49:03 AM »

Cheers CK.  I've looked through my list of addons and there really isn't anything there I'd rather do without, so I suppose I'm stuck with it.  There is 'Ubuntu Firefox Modifications', christ knows what that does.  I probably need it though.

Maybe when I get 3.5 in October things will get better.  icon_neutral
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15974


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2009, 01:54:54 PM »

For those of you that have had problems with 'slow startup time' in Firefox 3.5, go upgrade to 3.5.1 as it fixes the issue.:

Quote
Summary: very slow startup for Firefox 3.5 due to accessing IE Internet Temporary File...

And that's why I didn't have the problem - I NEVER run IE. Period.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Ironrod
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3415



View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: July 18, 2009, 02:56:46 AM »

Quote from: Destructor on July 17, 2009, 01:54:54 PM

For those of you that have had problems with 'slow startup time' in Firefox 3.5, go upgrade to 3.5.1 as it fixes the issue.:

Quote
Summary: very slow startup for Firefox 3.5 due to accessing IE Internet Temporary File...

And that's why I didn't have the problem - I NEVER run IE. Period.

Ahhh, that makes sense. I run IE rarely, and delete all of its temp files every time I run Crapcleaner. I've never had any problems with Firefox's speed.
Logged

Curio City Online - Weird stuff you can buy
Curious Business - The Curio City Blog
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: July 18, 2009, 06:54:30 AM »

Well, that doesn't bloody explain the slowdown issue on my Linux desktop!  crybaby
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
SkyLander
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1889



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: July 18, 2009, 04:17:03 PM »

Quote
I found out what my problem was: Bug 54684. It makes the cpu usage go to 100% and stay there for quite some time making the whole pc unusable. In my case for about 10 seconds. The solutions is very simple: System>administration>softwaresources>internet updates. SELECT ALL. If you do not have these selected yopu won't be able to get the patches necessary to solve this problem. These are:

libgnomevfs2-0
libgnomevfs2-common
libgnomevfs2-extra
libgnomevfs2-bin

Hope it helps!

Let's start and see if I can narrow down what your issues are.

Quote
you may try this. type in FF url bar:
Code:

about:config

find this key:
Code:

network.dns.disableIPv6

turn it to true, then
find this key:
Code:

network.http.pipelining

turn it to true.

And try that. See if it helps.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2009, 04:19:02 PM by SkyLander » Logged

Pretty....what do we blow up first?
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: July 18, 2009, 04:28:14 PM »

Hmmm, I've disabled IPv6 on the system itself, I wonder if Firefox's own setting makes a difference?  No idea what the pipelining thing is all about but may as well try!  Cheers Sky, next time I reboot I'll see what happens.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.133 seconds with 74 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.043s, 2q)