http://gamingtrend.com
April 23, 2014, 01:00:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Model Wooden Ship building question  (Read 559 times)
Vinda-Lou
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: December 04, 2010, 03:34:30 PM »

As I'm slowly getting into the Patrick O'Brian "Master and Commander" series, I'm also getting interested in building a model ship.  I saw on Amazon there were a couple of very cool looking kits, but they were in the $300 range!  As I have no experience in building ships, and I surely don't have $300 to spend on them, I'm curious if any of you guys have built wooden ship models.  If so, what would be a decent brand/model to start with, and about how much would they cost?  If I enjoy it, I would quite possibly move on to the more expensive, more complicated ones.  Thanks in advance.
MonkeyFinger

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2010, 05:12:17 PM »

Do you actually mean a wooden model, or a model (as in plastic) of a wooden ship? I've done the latter years ago, a rather large version of the USS Consitition complete with hand rigging that I did. It was quite a lot of fun doing all the work and when my brother built a large glass display case for it, it was pretty darn cool. Left it behind when I moved out of state. Pretty sure it was this 1/96 scale kit. Based on the prices you're talking about, I'm guess you mean an actual wooden model, those can be considerably more expensive than a ~$60 plastic kit.

-craig

PSx: MonkeyFinger
XBx: MonkeyPhinger
Ironrod

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2010, 05:19:05 PM »

I sell a few very basic kits here. The manufacturer sent me an assembled Pirate Ship with my last order. It's cooler than you'd expect from such an easy kit. They're sold as puzzles, but the historical ones that I carry are really more like models.