http://gamingtrend.com
July 24, 2014, 06:21:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet at home down  (Read 707 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12513



View Profile
« on: February 28, 2008, 05:08:37 PM »

My Internet at home has been down since Sunday.  Multiple techs have not been able to restore.  I'm limited to interwebs at work only.  It's kind of driving me a bit crazy.  Anyone else been down this road and survived?
Logged
Larraque
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2392


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 05:16:52 PM »

Why is it down?

I don't think I've ever had an outage longer than a day and not in the past three years.  nod
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12513



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 05:18:04 PM »

Sadly no one knows.  They are leaning towards an internal wiring issue because they can't figure it out.  I like in a townhouse so they can't just string up a new wire, or so they say.  If the final verdict is IW issue, then I'm going to have to fight with the HOA to string a new wire up.  So very annoying.
Logged
ATB
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15296


Thanks for everything, Ryan. 1979-2013


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 05:21:18 PM »

OMG!

I'm in the same boat.

My internet was down just this morning, but time warner had d00dz here to check on it in mere hours.  It was a big issue so they had to escalate. The senior d00dz just fixed it and I am fully functional!


THE SAME EXACT BOAT!
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12513



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 05:22:51 PM »

Sadly the senior dood wasn't able to fix mine.  He's been out the last two days in a row.   mad
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15899


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2008, 05:37:40 PM »

As I've said before and I'll say again - I'll never move into a place that doesn't have access to high-speed internet.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12513



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2008, 05:39:51 PM »

Well that's the weird thing.  My townhouse is 3 years old.  I've had DSL in some form since the day I moved in.  There's cat5 to an outlet in every room.  Sunday it just died and for some reason no one can figure out why.   crybaby
Logged
Graham
Managing Editor
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4015


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2008, 07:02:53 PM »

Does your ISP have a dial-up number for you to use?  I know that some ISPs give you a phone # to call so that you can get online while you are away from home.  It might not be that fast, but at least you won't get the shakes and jitters from withdrawl.   slywink

Since you are using DSL, have you tried plugging your modem into every phone jack?  Maybe it is just that one outlet?  Have you plugged a phone into it to see if you get a signal?

Just a few thoughts.
Logged

Partial Owner of the World Champion Green Bay Packers
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12513



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2008, 07:50:39 PM »

Yeah the wire I'm trying with is the wire that feeds the signal into my house.  It's the weirdest thing.  The tech's meter can sync properly and shows amazing stats, but the way he explained it to me is that the meter only uses a 2MB packet, whereas the the gateway requires a 25 MB connection.  It just doesnt' make sense how my wiring would all of a sudden die on me.
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15899


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2008, 08:25:55 PM »

Chipmunks. Always blame the chipmunks. biggrin
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
IkeVandergraaf
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2784


RRoD FTL! F MS!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2008, 10:07:53 PM »

Quote from: ATB on February 28, 2008, 05:21:18 PM

OMG!

I'm in the same boat.

My internet was down just this morning, but time warner had d00dz here to check on it in mere hours.  It was a big issue so they had to escalate. The senior d00dz just fixed it and I am fully functional!


THE SAME EXACT BOAT!

How do you get internet on a boat?
Logged

Gamertag = IkeV
I KNOW DEEP IN MY NMIND THAT THIS DISGUSTING WEBSITE THAT IS OBIVOUSLY OPERATED BY HIGHSCHOOL DROPOUTS LIVING PURPOSELESS AND JOBLESS LIVES
Windows95
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 447


Uses only Genuine Microsoft Software!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2008, 10:14:45 PM »

Quote from: Graham on February 28, 2008, 07:02:53 PM

Does your ISP have a dial-up number for you to use?  I know that some ISPs give you a phone # to call so that you can get online while you are away from home.  It might not be that fast, but at least you won't get the shakes and jitters from withdrawl.   slywink

Back when I was still in University, I lived in res and had free high speed Internet.  Each summer I'd move back home to my parents farm in the country, and deal with sub 28.8 dial up.  icon_cry

It's almost easier to pretend the Internet doesn't exist then go back to dial up. smile
Logged

16-bit and loving it!
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 29, 2008, 01:38:48 AM »

Quote from: IkeVandergraaf on February 28, 2008, 10:07:53 PM

Quote from: ATB on February 28, 2008, 05:21:18 PM

OMG!

I'm in the same boat.

My internet was down just this morning, but time warner had d00dz here to check on it in mere hours.  It was a big issue so they had to escalate. The senior d00dz just fixed it and I am fully functional!


THE SAME EXACT BOAT!

How do you get internet on a boat?

you use tubes.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
IkeVandergraaf
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2784


RRoD FTL! F MS!


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 29, 2008, 12:14:00 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on February 29, 2008, 01:38:48 AM

Quote from: IkeVandergraaf on February 28, 2008, 10:07:53 PM

Quote from: ATB on February 28, 2008, 05:21:18 PM

OMG!

I'm in the same boat.

My internet was down just this morning, but time warner had d00dz here to check on it in mere hours.  It was a big issue so they had to escalate. The senior d00dz just fixed it and I am fully functional!


THE SAME EXACT BOAT!

How do you get internet on a boat?

you use tubes.

I thought the internet was like a truck?
Logged

Gamertag = IkeV
I KNOW DEEP IN MY NMIND THAT THIS DISGUSTING WEBSITE THAT IS OBIVOUSLY OPERATED BY HIGHSCHOOL DROPOUTS LIVING PURPOSELESS AND JOBLESS LIVES
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.089 seconds with 53 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.022s, 4q)