http://gamingtrend.com
November 26, 2014, 08:53:03 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How does anyone surf with default IE?  (Read 1165 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
farley2k
Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 3330



View Profile
« on: December 14, 2004, 06:47:34 PM »

I am at training all week and all they have is IE with no pop-up stopper.  It is about impossible to do any actual surfing!  90% of sites seem to have pop-ups of some kind.  I surf for awhile and look down to see 8 IE windows open!  

It is so odd since I use Firebird usually or Opera to even see pop-ups.

Does anyone (by choice) still use IE without any pop-up stopping?
Logged

coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4127



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2004, 06:52:02 PM »

Quote from: "farley2k"
Does anyone (by choice) still use IE without any pop-up stopping?


At work I do. Very few of the places I go have pop-ups though. (the "choice" here is I could be doing work rather than browsing slywink )
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
disarm
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4189


my moral standing is lying down...


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2004, 07:04:20 PM »

the latest version of IE has a built-in pop-up blocker that does a good job.  as long as IE is kept up to date, pop-ups aren't really a problem anymore.
Logged

*Gamertag - disarm78*
Now Playing: Grand Theft Auto V
farley2k
Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 3330



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2004, 07:08:32 PM »

Quote from: "disarm"
the latest version of IE has a built-in pop-up blocker that does a good job.  as long as IE is kept up to date, pop-ups aren't really a problem anymore.


Now is that on IE on all OSes?  I know it is part of SP2 for XP but is that update available for say Win 2k?
Logged

disarm
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4189


my moral standing is lying down...


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2004, 07:37:50 PM »

Quote from: "farley2k"
Quote from: "disarm"
the latest version of IE has a built-in pop-up blocker that does a good job.  as long as IE is kept up to date, pop-ups aren't really a problem anymore.


Now is that on IE on all OSes?  I know it is part of SP2 for XP but is that update available for say Win 2k?

that's a good question.  i haven't used Win2K for several years now, so i can't answer that without having to look up the answer...
Logged

*Gamertag - disarm78*
Now Playing: Grand Theft Auto V
whiteboyskim
Senior Staff Writer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7850


Hard partier


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2004, 07:48:20 PM »

The answer is no. I'm on Win 2K at work with the latest patched version of IE and I get pop-ups quite a lot.
Logged

Behold the glory of my new blog!
Filmmaking is vision plus faith plus balls, all 3 of which Hollywood knows little about.
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2004, 08:08:07 PM »

Can't you install the Google Toolbar?  It blocks most popups at work.  At home it's Firefox all the way baby.
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4694


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2004, 08:43:03 PM »

Yeah, I generally don't make a habit of visiting sites that are heavy on the pop-ups.  If sites that I do visit regularly start with the popups, they get removed from my bookmarks pretty quickly.

Still, I use Firefox simply because I've gotten addicted to tabbed browsing.
Logged
Zekester
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2586



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2004, 11:35:18 PM »

The very few times that i actually use IE, I have no popups.

Damned if I know what i did to set it like that, though.  retard
Logged

I am....Migaloo
Rest in Peace, Nan & Star
XBL Schins67
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.082 seconds with 41 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.015s, 2q)