http://gamingtrend.com
April 19, 2014, 09:41:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do tell your manager to do her job  (Read 723 times)
Soulchilde
Gaming Trend Senior Member

You and I have unfinished business

View Profile
« on: November 02, 2011, 02:13:00 PM »

My new manager just "ask" me to summarize two RFP , Request for Proposal, for two companies we are considering farming some work out.  I quoted ask because she basically stated she has two many others things to do and I need to handle this for her.  I informed her I'm very uncomfortable handling this since this a contract issue I have no experience in this area.   

This was kicked down to her by our Sr. Director since this was what she  was hired to do.

Now I consider myself a team player but in this particular instance I feel like I am out of my depth and the quality of the summaries most likely will not meet the quality of work I normally produce

Looking for suggestion

Quote from: Devil on January 12, 2007, 01:14:38 AM

NiM$
Harkonis

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 03:01:04 PM »

this is the kind of thing that can burn you no matter what you do.   disgust

Making it clear to her that you are uncomfortable doing it is definitely the best start though imo.  Next would either be being more assertive to her that you really don't think you should be doing it, or going to the next in the chain.  This is where you can have everything blow up in your face.  Business life sucks.
raydude

SPICE! Nomnomnomnom

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 03:21:51 PM »

Send the summaries to her, CC the Sr. Director.  icon_twisted

A Pew Research Center poll found nearly half of Americans hold the false belief that TARP was passed under President Obama, while only 34 percent know it originated under Bush.