http://gamingtrend.com
April 25, 2014, 01:45:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hey lawyers (LSAT and GPA Q's)  (Read 1407 times)
ravenvii
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: October 23, 2004, 04:28:51 AM »

I hope the lawyers from Gone Gold still read the forums around here.

I'm majoring in philosophy, and plan to go to law school. I'm just wondering how the lawyers who has been there, done that, went about it. What's a good LSAT score? I'm thinking 165 and over? And how did you prepare for it? And what was your GPA? What should I keep it at? I currently have a 4.0 GPA, but I'm screwing up big time this semester, so that 4.0 will go poof. I'm hoping to go to either Georgetown or New York University law schools. Cornell would be nice, but dunno if I can get in. I think/hope I'll end up practicing in New York, so a New York school is ideal.

Sorry for the barrage of questions smile

Thanks in advance.
Eightball

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2004, 04:58:30 AM »

Hey Raven; basically to be looking at a top 20 law school you need a score over 165.  Top 10 you're looking at the 170 range.

Your GPA helps a lot, though it does depend on the college you go to *yes, professional schools weigh GPA based on college.  Totally unfair, but that's the way it goes*.

Check the USWorld & News Report guide to colleges thats released every year.  Gives the average GPA and LSAT score of admitted people.

Good luck.  It's actually a fairly painless procedure compared to applying to other grad schools (there is no interview process at most law schools, which I find absolutely bizarre).
KC

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2004, 11:30:54 AM »