http://gamingtrend.com
October 23, 2014, 02:29:14 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dilemma with new phone  (Read 893 times)
Rowdy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: October 15, 2012, 09:46:19 PM »

Please help me make a decision about a new phone!

I have a Iphone 3GS which is nearing the end of it's life.  I am thinking of upgrading to a 4S (I can get one for $380) but keep waffling back and forth between Apple and trying out an Android phone.

Here are the facts - I'm an IT professional and am not put off by the more technical side of Android.  However, my household has a lot of Apple products - ipods, iphones and an ipad, so I kind of like that everything is centralized in Itunes.  I also love the app store, although I don't have any experience with apps on the Android side.

I use my phone for calling, GPS for bike riding (and tracking my rides), Golf (GPS for distances, have a great app!), internet radio, Facebook and some surfing, and four or five times a year for games and video watching while flying on business trips.  Converting video from torrents or whatnot to mp4 for my phone is sometimes a pain, although lately most of the shows I download come in the mp4 format already.

I'm kind of intrigued by the Galaxy SIII or the HTC one... but knowing that I like (not love) the Apple infrastructure and not being sure what comes with Android I'm on the fence.

What say you?  $380 for a 4s seems like a good deal... not sure if I should take the plunge, or if any of the Android phones would meet my requirements better than my iphone.
Andrew Wonser

A porcupine quilt made of porcupine quills.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 11:55:23 PM »