http://gamingtrend.com
October 23, 2014, 02:48:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Coping with the decline of a loved one...  (Read 824 times)
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: October 03, 2012, 02:35:54 AM »

Way back in 1993, when I was a sophomore in high school, my family was going through incredibly tough times.  My dad had been laid off from the steel mill, and was working for a youth organization that was supposed to be paying him a salary, but in three years had only managed to pay him a total of roughly $13,000.  We were scraping by, just barely and I remember the "horizons/gifted" program was going to take a field trip to the local science center.  I turned in a form saying that I could not go, and let the teacher know that we couldn't afford the $15 fee for the trip.  A week later I was informed that my trip was being paid for by one Mr. Morgan, the schools retired choral director who had worked at the school for over 40 years.  Evidently Mr. Morgan lived by the motto of paying it forward, and was always on the look out for kids he could help.