http://gamingtrend.com
October 26, 2014, 08:52:13 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Board + Processor = Happy Gaming Goodness?  (Read 1561 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21075



View Profile WWW
« on: August 17, 2004, 06:47:03 PM »

Any familiarity with these boards / chipset / processor?

ABIT "KV8" K8T800 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Athlon64 CPU -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=13-127-177&depa=0

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 1 MB L2 Cache
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-413&depa=0

I usually go with Asus, but their newest board is horribly overpriced just to add wireless I already have...
Thoughts?  Concerns?  Horror stories?
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
jimmyorr99
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 958


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2004, 07:13:43 PM »

none at all, good choice! i recently got a 3000+ with an A8NX-X (somthing like that) and its working like a charm.
Logged

if you strike me down, i will become more powerful than you can ever imagine.
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2004, 07:18:19 PM »

anytime I'm looking for a good mobo, I find what's on sale at fry's and do this:  http://www.google.com/search?q=ABIT+%22KV8%22+K8T800+review&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2004, 02:48:32 AM »

I have the Asus K8V-Deluxe with an Athlon 64 3400+.  It is an amazing system.

I didn't get the wireless addon, as I don't yet have any wireless gear (or a need for it).
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Fellow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1176


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2004, 11:24:08 AM »

Abit and Asus are usually both sure bets. I've used both boards in the past, and have never run into problems with either one of them.
Logged

X360 Gamertag: LuckyFellow
PS3: Fellow
Nintendo Wii: 2484 8443 5009 9425
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21075



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2004, 02:01:02 AM »

Well, thanks to Fry's having only open boxes to select from for Asus and Abit, I'm now running a Gigabyte board.   I fought like hell with this board to get it up and running as I kept getting error after error and drops to BSOD during XP install.  So out of pure anger and frustration I did the only thing I could in this situation...I called Gigabyte.  Seems that my SATA drives need me to find a working system and make floppys to install (a la SCSI) prior to XP install.  I also cannot use my Western Digital without removing the jumper from it and putting it on its own chain.  Thankfully this board supports 12 drives total, so its looking stable and VERY solid at this point.  XP boots so fast that the XP boot logo appears but never shows the blue bar, its already gone before that thing can move.  Ahhhh....can't wait to finish all my installs and upgrades, its gonna be beautiful!

Thanks to everyone for help selecting the board and processor, I'm not dissapointed.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2004, 06:40:06 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
XP boots so fast that the XP boot logo appears but never shows the blue bar, its already gone before that thing can move.  Ahhhh....can't wait to finish all my installs and upgrades, its gonna be beautiful!


Isn't that awesome! biggrin  My A64 finishes loading Windows before my work machine finishes checking the RAID status.

SATA and RAID remain headaches when performing a clean install.  I wonder how casual users would ever figure it out.  I needed RAID drivers for my machine and I had to get out my dusty old laptop to get the drivers on a floppy.

What are your final specs?
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
happydog
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1469


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2004, 07:36:05 PM »

Quote from: "stiffler"

SATA and RAID remain headaches when performing a clean install.  I wonder how casual users would ever figure it out.


I don't think many casual users will get a SATA/RAID setup just yet. And if they do the probably have someone to go to when they need a reinstall.

I have been thinking about jumping on the SATA drives. At this point I think HD speed is my biggest bottleneck so I would rather spend my money on that instead of on a new proccessor.
Logged

LiveTAG: happydog
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.199 seconds with 39 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.074s, 2q)