http://gamingtrend.com
November 24, 2014, 08:27:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Acquired By Google  (Read 841 times)
DarkEL
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« on: September 02, 2011, 11:50:54 PM »

Big News for me

The startup that I've been working at for the last three years was acquired by Google today.  http://techcrunch.com/2011/09/02/google-zave-networks/

Adding on to that news - I decided that it was a good time to part ways and so I declined the offer to join Google. Lots of reasons for that but short answer is that as a software developer - I would have been incredibly excited to join Google ten years ago - today however, I just don't see it as a good fit for where I want to go and what i want to do over the next few years.
Isgrimnur

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 12:13:16 AM »

Congratudolences.

Hadron Smasher on 360; IsgrimnurTTU on PS3
leo8877

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 12:31:20 AM »

Quote from: Isgrimnur on September 03, 2011, 12:13:16 AM

Congratudolences.

Haha!

You could have been rich!!
DarkEL

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2011, 01:52:39 AM »

Quote from: leo8877 on September 03, 2011, 12:31:20 AM

Haha!

You could have been rich!!

Laff - yes because the quickest way to become rich is to become another cog in a giant machine.   Roll Eyes
DarkEL

View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2011, 02:11:22 AM »

BTW - that response was supposed to sound more tongue-in-cheek and not snarky.

I made some money from this deal but not life-changing money. On the plus side - I've also proven to myself that I can build something that will be desirable to other companies (I was the chief architect and director of development there)
Azhag

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2011, 03:16:00 AM »