http://gamingtrend.com
October 20, 2014, 05:16:46 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A write in poll - what do your save names look like?  (Read 335 times)
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« on: July 05, 2013, 08:55:36 PM »

So as I started playing CoH2 I saved my game and realized that I might be a little odd in my naming convention.  In this case, "M1X1" designates Mission 1, First Expansion.  What do your save names look like? 

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Razgon

The Truth is out there

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 08:56:29 PM »

FVD1, based on my initials.

A new one
Ironrod

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2013, 09:23:52 PM »

00000001.sav, followed by 00000002 and so on. Note the 8.3 format. I still don't trust Windows and its fancy long filenames.

I started my 115th game of Civ 5 last night.

Curio City Online - Weird stuff you can buy
Curious Business - The Curio City Blog
EngineNo9

I said good day, sir!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2013, 10:06:29 PM »

Depends on the game, but usually I just name it the easiest thing possible, like "save 1" or something.  I've found that I very rarely go back to anything but the most recent, so it's just a matter of making sure I can find that one.  Which is generally easy in modern games that actually tell you timestamps on saves.

Sandwiches do fix everything.
Suitably Ironic Moniker

WAKKA-WAKKA-WAKKA!!!

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2013, 10:08:40 PM »

For most games, I rotate between 3 saves, ergo, "1", "2", and "3".

Patriotism means being loyal to your country all the time and to its government when it deserves it - Mark Twain

3ds friend code: 0001-3352-7186
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff