http://gamingtrend.com
November 23, 2014, 02:25:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3D Movies: Disappointing so Far  (Read 1915 times)
PaulBot
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« on: July 17, 2010, 10:10:19 PM »

I'm no expert since I've only seen three 3D movies, but so far I'm underwhelmed. The first one was Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, but that was so long ago I don't remember details, but recently I've seen Toy Story 3 & The Last Airbender.

Toy Story 3 was a complete waste in 3D. I'm glad I had two free tickets to it, so it only cost me $17 for four of us to see it. It was a good movie, but the 3D effects seemed like an afterthought.

I just saw The Last Airbender today. Another good flick, and the 3D was better than Toy Story 3, but I was still left unfulfilled.

At Toy Story 3 & The Last Airbender, they both had some previews that used the 3D effects better than the movies. I'm talking about the stuff that comes out at you and makes you gasp or duck. That's what I want to see in a 3D movie.

So far I give the whole 3D movie thing a big "meh". Am I just not going to the right movies? Who's seen a movie that really puts the 3D effects to good use?

CEO of the GT Post Padders Club
coopasonic

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2010, 10:14:13 PM »

Quote from: PaulBot on July 17, 2010, 10:10:19 PM

At Toy Story 3 & The Last Airbender, they both had some previews that used the 3D effects better than the movies. I'm talking about the stuff that comes out at you and makes you gasp or duck. That's what I want to see in a 3D movie.

...and that's exactly what I don't want to see. I don't want gimmicks, I want immersion. I'd say you need to see Avatar in 3d when it is rereleased in the theaters next month, but it doesn't have the gimmicks you are looking for either. Just beautiful 3d.