http://gamingtrend.com
September 22, 2014, 06:15:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wizard101 anyone?  (Read 14185 times)
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« on: March 04, 2010, 05:51:17 PM »

I'm curious if there are any other otherwise mature adults who enjoy playing Wizard101? I started playing a couple months ago, looking for some way to combine gaming and entertaining my 3 year old. We were both pretty tired of Plants vs Zombies. The free areas were just enough to get me interested in the play mechanics, but not enough to keep me entertained for long. I grabbed a discounted 1 year sub for $60 and feel like I've been getting my money's worth.

It's far simpler than anything else I've tried, except for Toontown. The combat is basically a card game, you build your own deck from spells you get from trainers as well as some you get from items you have equipped. Stats on equipment can affect damage, healing (given or received), "mana" generation, defense, accuracy, health and mana pools. Equipment is gained through drops, quests, shops or crafting  (and microtransactions).

The game is mostly solo friendly, each world has one dungeon that would be very challenging solo. Friends can help with most anything and it seems you can teleport to your friends location pretty much anytime. Fights have up to 4 per side. At low levels they are limited to even numbers, a bit later the enemy can have one more mob than the players side. There's also arena pvp for combinations from 1v1 to 4v4.