http://gamingtrend.com
April 17, 2014, 09:55:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Whats your WoW GUI Look like?  (Read 2883 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Semaj
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1946


View Profile
« on: January 16, 2006, 09:06:53 PM »

Mine looks liek this...


yupyup... guess who does a LOT of healing?
Logged

WoW:
Venerable
Skywarden
Eagerly awaiting Drakes Fortune 2...
Koz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1358


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2006, 11:04:52 PM »

Think vanilla Blizzard UI and that's mine. I do have a Titan bar across the top, but almost all the rest of my mods are hidden off the GUI.
Logged
Semaj
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1946


View Profile
Hrm
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2006, 01:23:25 AM »

I needed something that helped me notice peoples health bars better, seeing as I am that priest, lol....

THis makes it really easy for me to group up and do whatever...

MonkeyQuest was hidden but all it does is list all the quetss you are currently on and what you should in theory be doing/collecting...
Logged

WoW:
Venerable
Skywarden
Eagerly awaiting Drakes Fortune 2...
unbreakable
Guest
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2006, 02:17:46 AM »

I use Cosmos.  It adds enough stuff to make it easier to play, and doesn't radically alter how the UI looks (unless you want to, which I don't).

About the only big break from stuff I use is the 'sidebars', which was a holdover from early Cosmos (and other UIs).

I was tempted to grab the UI to make the group display more 'DAoC-like', but, well, I just don't play my priest anymore, so watching other people's health is, at best, a secondary concern.
Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 8913


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2006, 02:25:43 AM »



Mine... poor image quality as I resized it down to 1024x768 for easier viewing.

gellar
Logged
unbreakable
Guest
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2006, 02:36:23 AM »

is it easier to play with everything scrunched up like that?
Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 8913


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2006, 02:51:02 AM »

For me, yes.  I use the mouse a lot (rather than hotkeys) so the less area of travel, the better.  Being able to have access to all my abilities one one area is key.

gellar
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15844


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2006, 01:07:28 PM »

I run a widescreen display at 1280x800, so I won't upload my shot directly (as I'll really bork the page biggrin ), so click here to take a glance.

In a nutshell when I was still playing:

The left and right bars would vanish if I didn't have my cursor on them. The buttons near my persona would vanish if I didn't have a target selected. And the little blurb window titled Damage Watch up top wasn't there unless I had the window highlighted (red thing on the top center).

In short, I played with as little of the screen taken up with stuff as possible (as I'd rather see the world than a bunch of buttons), but it was capable of bringing up everything I needed at a moment's notice.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Jag
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2372



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2006, 03:05:37 PM »

If you are REALLY interested in UIs, you should check out the official UI forum. Not surprisingly it doesn't have the asshats of the other forums. Also many original modders (telo, Norganna, etc) post there with updates and fixes.

It also has several 'post your ui' threads that have some of the most amazing things i've seen in this game yet.

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.aspx?FN=wow-interface-customization&T=253504&P=33

(I would actually view the thread backwards for the most recent stuff)

Like this one that has animated toon icons:

http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/7254/mazzleuiparty5xd.jpg
Logged
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2006, 04:00:03 PM »

What priest mod is that?
Logged
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7328



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2006, 04:57:21 PM »

gellar that is the weirdest UI setup I've seen.   :shock:
Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 8913


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2006, 05:12:25 PM »

Quote from: "warning"
gellar that is the weirdest UI setup I've seen.   :shock:


It's actually preconfigured setup from the guy who made MonkeyQuest.  I found and switched to it this weekend, and find I like it quite a lot.

http://www.toctastic.net/

gellar
Logged
Semaj
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1946


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2006, 09:58:46 PM »

See I figure if we talk about it here, you might actually get tips and tricks about the GUI as opposed ot on there where its all about: This is what I have, drool beyotches
Logged

WoW:
Venerable
Skywarden
Eagerly awaiting Drakes Fortune 2...
unbreakable
Guest
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2006, 01:09:23 AM »

Wow, that square mini-map rocks.
Logged
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2006, 03:41:41 AM »

Semaj, you still haven't said what Priest mod that is on your screen. biggrin
Logged
Semaj
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1946


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2006, 04:24:36 AM »

I dont have any priest mods on my screen I dont think...
Logged

WoW:
Venerable
Skywarden
Eagerly awaiting Drakes Fortune 2...
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2006, 01:02:35 PM »

Quote from: "gellar"
Quote from: "warning"
gellar that is the weirdest UI setup I've seen.   :shock:


It's actually preconfigured setup from the guy who made MonkeyQuest.  I found and switched to it this weekend, and find I like it quite a lot.

http://www.toctastic.net/

gellar


Can you move stuff around?
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2006, 01:58:52 PM »

Quote from: "Semaj"
I dont have any priest mods on my screen I dont think...


How do you handle your heals then?
Logged
Semaj
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1946


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2006, 02:57:07 PM »

Practice, lol.

I am a very click oriented type of guy so basically I made the Party-health bars bigger and with numbers and just study that.  When someone drops enough to merit healing, click on em (thier party icon), click on the heal (All of which are on the bottom line)...  

Usually you only use 2 or 3 different things when healing in an instance.  HoT, Flash heal, and maybe group heal when things get really hairy and everyone is taking damage.  Greater heal usually isnt used, and you dont shield unless its before a combat or someone is about to die.
Logged

WoW:
Venerable
Skywarden
Eagerly awaiting Drakes Fortune 2...
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 8913


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2006, 05:56:37 PM »

Quote from: "Misguided"
Quote from: "gellar"
Quote from: "warning"
gellar that is the weirdest UI setup I've seen.   :shock:


It's actually preconfigured setup from the guy who made MonkeyQuest.  I found and switched to it this weekend, and find I like it quite a lot.

http://www.toctastic.net/

gellar


Can you move stuff around?


Yep... though if you're just interested in doing that, you can get away with just using DUF and DAB without the Charcoal piece.  Ultimate UI comes with DAB preinstalled, so just add DUF and you can basically move anything you want.

gellar
Logged
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2006, 11:27:23 PM »

Quote from: "gellar"
Yep... though if you're just interested in doing that, you can get away with just using DUF and DAB without the Charcoal piece.  Ultimate UI comes with DAB preinstalled, so just add DUF and you can basically move anything you want.
gellar


I'm sorry...what language was that?
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.161 seconds with 64 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.05s, 2q)