http://gamingtrend.com
October 21, 2014, 03:08:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Star Wars: The Old Republic BETA SIGNUP  (Read 2377 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« on: September 29, 2009, 03:35:01 PM »

Go Go Go!

http://www.swtor.com/news/news-article/20090929_001
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 03:55:34 PM »

Quote
SWTOR.com is currently unavailable while we perform scheduled maintenance. Please check back again soon!

looks like they crashed the site.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18577



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 04:01:50 PM »

I was in the midst of measuring my feet for shoe size and toenail color (page 3 of the signup) when it crashed. frown - actually it was doing a system scan to see if it could find any illegal copies of Star Wars films on my hard drive.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2009, 04:09:46 PM »

I hear page 4 is actually a ruse to smoke out possible terrorists years before they even think about doing some act of terror.....
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2009, 05:29:57 PM »

Im all signed up! Though at the end it said thanks for joining Malaysian Midgets Muff Diving Club. Im not sure why Star Wars says that but its ok.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10883



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2009, 06:18:13 PM »

The train wreck of beta testers has brought the servers down...
Quote
Thank you for visiting www.StarWarsTheOldRepublic.com. We are making adjustments to the site due to the overwhelming response to the testing announcement. Please be patient and check back later. We estimate that the site will be back up in the next few hours.
Logged

Playing
PC
-Wasteland 2 (post-apoc, turn-based squad strategy/RPG )
-Grim Dawn
-Gauntlet (4 player co-op dungeon arcade brawling)
Hotfreak
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 625



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2009, 06:23:28 PM »

And a beta legend is born.

*Enter Hotfreak on his cane*
Hotfreak: You remember when old republic beta came out?
SomeoneHFcan'tRecognize: a-yep.
Hotfreak: The apps busted their web site!
SomeoneHFcan'tRecognize: a-yup. that's right.  I remember.
Hotfreak: Now where are my pills?!
Logged

This one is on the house...and this one is better than ever...
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2009, 06:35:12 PM »

Sweet jeebus Christmas What the tracking frell did they think would happen? Did they think there was no ntsrest in the game?  That Lucas had driven a Jar Jar shaped stake through the properties heart?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2009, 08:18:21 PM »

I'll never get to test the uninstaller at this rate.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2009, 08:35:42 PM »

I bought Star Wars Galaxies at release.  I feel like I've beta-tested one Star Wars MMO too many.
Logged
Jafisob
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 188


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2009, 10:10:08 PM »

Quote from: warning on September 29, 2009, 08:35:42 PM

I bought Star Wars Galaxies at release.  I feel like I've beta-tested one Star Wars MMO too many.

And I have tested too few. Waiting for the sign up site to come back up....  icon_smile
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2009, 10:36:57 PM »

I was in Galaxies' beta and I actually bought it on release. I always enjoyed it. I do see how they ruined it later on but I had fun. I had an entertainer and was a member of an Imperial clan . We had a town and went on weekly Rebel hunts. Back then it was cool.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2009, 05:07:08 AM »

Well it took forever, but I finally got signed up.

Make sure you have the latest Java installed.
They perform an online scan of your system (hardware and OS)
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2009, 05:20:48 AM »

got my app in.  it was odd, it looped me through the info entering twice.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2009, 10:25:07 AM »

It keeps looping me, never letting me get to the system scan.
Logged
TiLT
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6613


Preaching to the choir


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2009, 10:31:38 AM »

Me too. That entire signup site is an atrocity. It's buggy and seems to require admin privileges. I guess my beta signup isn't meant to be.
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2009, 10:41:31 AM »

I had to sign up again..I think. I could never get logged in with my original signup so I did it again. It doesn't show me as logged in and it keeps asking me to log in. But when I use the right info it doesn't say anything to tell me Im logged in! If I use the wrong info it says login failed. Argh
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2009, 11:05:56 AM »

Quote from: Daehawk on September 30, 2009, 10:41:31 AM

I had to sign up again..I think. I could never get logged in with my original signup so I did it again. It doesn't show me as logged in and it keeps asking me to log in. But when I use the right info it doesn't say anything to tell me Im logged in! If I use the wrong info it says login failed. Argh

Same here. 

*sigh*
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2009, 11:34:55 AM »

Ohs nos..even though it is not actually signing me up for an account it IS keeping each nick I try to sign up with. So now I cant try signing up with any nick Ive already tried. Wth frown
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Hotfreak
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 625



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: September 30, 2009, 12:39:20 PM »

The application process is in alpha.
Logged

This one is on the house...and this one is better than ever...
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2009, 02:33:45 PM »

I love this signup! I'm excited to be a part of it.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Kagath
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2487


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2009, 02:39:18 PM »

Just keeps sending me through the loop of signup.
Logged

Playing: ? 360 | ? | BF4 PC / XB1 | ? - WINGS *are* shit lately.
PSN/Live: MrStark77
Booner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1193


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2009, 03:09:21 PM »

Quote from: Kagath on September 30, 2009, 02:39:18 PM

Just keeps sending me through the loop of signup.

It was doing that to me too. I signed out, signed back in and it went through without issues.
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2009, 05:39:30 PM »

I had similar issues last night, but I would hit the back button and it would take me to the next step.
It was remembering what part I completed, but it was timing out getting to the next part.
I'm not sure this is the same for everyone.

Also, after the scan you will need to hit the [tab] key multiple times to get to the submit button.
I found that out in the forums. It would complete the scan, but it would appear to just die at that point.

If you are logged in it should show that in the upper right, it did for me at least.
I was having trouble logging in from the signup page so I went to the forums section and logged in.
The cookie "transferred" my login data to the signup page when I went back to it.

Good luck, it's like a mini-game of grinding  icon_lol
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: September 30, 2009, 05:45:03 PM »

I cant log in or register yet. Wrong info = failed login...right info = nothing...doesn't say anything or log me in. Its as if Ive done nothing.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Wargus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 895



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: September 30, 2009, 05:48:21 PM »

I'd think that given how bad SWG was, they'd do everything they could to instill confidence that they can make this game. Call me underwhelmed; If the signup is any indication, they are already screwed.

 tear
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: September 30, 2009, 06:13:18 PM »

Quote from: Daehawk on September 30, 2009, 05:45:03 PM

I cant log in or register yet. Wrong info = failed login...right info = nothing...doesn't say anything or log me in. Its as if Ive done nothing.

I just went there to see if I could log in and I was able to with no issues. It does show your account alias at the center right of the top of the page once you are logged in.

Not sure what browser you are using. I used IE 8
Make sure you allow cookies and your firewall program is not blocking.
Make sure you have the latest Java software
Make sure you use you use the right login name. On their MMO site you have to use your e-mail address, but in the forums you use your alias
I would clear your browser cache and cookies before retrying

I hope that helps
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 06:14:50 PM by DamageInc » Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: September 30, 2009, 06:36:05 PM »

Quote from: DamageInc on September 30, 2009, 06:13:18 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on September 30, 2009, 05:45:03 PM

I cant log in or register yet. Wrong info = failed login...right info = nothing...doesn't say anything or log me in. Its as if Ive done nothing.

I just went there to see if I could log in and I was able to with no issues. It does show your account alias at the center right of the top of the page once you are logged in.

Not sure what browser you are using. I used IE 8
Make sure you allow cookies and your firewall program is not blocking.
Make sure you have the latest Java software
Make sure you use you use the right login name. On their MMO site you have to use your e-mail address, but in the forums you use your alias
I would clear your browser cache and cookies before retrying

I hope that helps

No go. I use Forefox. Deleted cookies. Didn't help.
Updated to latest IE and latest java. Same problem.

I enter my account info then go to the beta info then it takes me back to my account info ..over and over. It never keeps it. And I cant login up top either. And I get no confirming email.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: September 30, 2009, 06:50:58 PM »

Are we suuposed to get an email saying we put in the app or are you talking about the email confirming account changes?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2009, 06:52:53 PM »

Quote from: Daehawk on September 30, 2009, 06:36:05 PM

Quote from: DamageInc on September 30, 2009, 06:13:18 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on September 30, 2009, 05:45:03 PM

I cant log in or register yet. Wrong info = failed login...right info = nothing...doesn't say anything or log me in. Its as if Ive done nothing.

I just went there to see if I could log in and I was able to with no issues. It does show your account alias at the center right of the top of the page once you are logged in.

Not sure what browser you are using. I used IE 8
Make sure you allow cookies and your firewall program is not blocking.
Make sure you have the latest Java software
Make sure you use you use the right login name. On their MMO site you have to use your e-mail address, but in the forums you use your alias
I would clear your browser cache and cookies before retrying

I hope that helps

No go. I use Forefox. Deleted cookies. Didn't help.
Updated to latest IE and latest java. Same problem.

I enter my account info then go to the beta info then it takes me back to my account info ..over and over. It never keeps it. And I cant login up top either. And I get no confirming email.

Dae, this isn't your problem.  This is their fucked up website problem.

I've tried from two different PCs, each with two different browsers, updated Java and I get the same exact thing.  I never get a confirmation email either.
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2009, 07:16:43 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on September 30, 2009, 06:50:58 PM

Are we suuposed to get an email saying we put in the app or are you talking about the email confirming account changes?

I only got e-mails stating I made a change.
If you go to MyAccount you will see that the "yes" box is checked for the BETA and if your account and scan are confirmed

I know its frustrating. I apologize my info wasn't of any help.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Aganazer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 502



View Profile
« Reply #31 on: September 30, 2009, 07:17:31 PM »

I am having the same issue as everyone else.

Hopefully they will have better luck when the game launches. MMOG development must be a tough (but lucrative) business!
Logged
Caine
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 10243


My cocaine


View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: September 30, 2009, 07:27:13 PM »

what a F upped waste of web design.  hey you clowns, can't you even get the damn cookies working so we don't have to grind just to get a damn forum login? 

and just like that, it worked.  i guess the web gods finally smiled on me.  i figured it was different when the login screen rejected my alias as taken.  the confirmation email was waiting in my inbox.

i was hit the the 2nd info request, filled it out and then said 'provide later' at the beta stage.  so far, it's working.

you can also try to sign up for the beta after you make your account.  hit no at first then login and change it to yes.
Logged

Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #33 on: September 30, 2009, 07:27:59 PM »

Guys, I think I got registered.  At least I made it through the entire process and got a confirmation email.

Firefox didn't work.  Neither did the more current versions of IE, which I uninstalled from my system.  I used an older version of Internet Explorer - IE 7 - and got through the process.  I don't know if it was luck or not, but I thought I'd let you know.  
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
Wargus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 895



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: September 30, 2009, 07:48:05 PM »

I got it to work. When you get to the page asking for your personal info (name, address, etc...) hit provide later.  As Caine said, that seems to fix it.   
Logged
Kagath
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2487


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: September 30, 2009, 08:03:21 PM »

Looks like I got through as well. Well at least to the part of scanning/submitting and account updating. Not sure if there is anything beyond that.

Had to switch between Firefox and IE8. Keep trying.
Logged

Playing: ? 360 | ? | BF4 PC / XB1 | ? - WINGS *are* shit lately.
PSN/Live: MrStark77
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #36 on: September 30, 2009, 08:13:38 PM »

Quote from: DamageInc on September 30, 2009, 07:16:43 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on September 30, 2009, 06:50:58 PM

Are we suuposed to get an email saying we put in the app or are you talking about the email confirming account changes?

I only got e-mails stating I made a change.
If you go to MyAccount you will see that the "yes" box is checked for the BETA and if your account and scan are confirmed

I know its frustrating. I apologize my info wasn't of any help.

I dont even have a 'my account' ..it never signs me up when I try.

EDIT: Ok wait. I tried that trick you guys did by telling it I'd provide that info later and it said a confirmation email has been sent. Not got it yet but thats a start...and different.

Sorry if Im typing strangely..been weedeating and Im all shakey and cant feel my hands.

EDIT2: Im logged in!! Now to see about that beta.

EDIT3. I did it! I done it! It scanned and got the info and saved and finished my sign up! Thanks all.

Quote
Congratulations, you have completed the sign up process to test Star Wars: The Old Republic. Click below if you wish to update your information.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 08:21:47 PM by Daehawk » Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
morlac
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2779



View Profile
« Reply #37 on: September 30, 2009, 10:06:43 PM »

I've tried a few times throughout the last couple days but only get the "sorry maintenance" message.  Meh I'll pass.
Logged

morlac00 on PSN
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: September 30, 2009, 11:51:12 PM »

Quote from: DamageInc on September 30, 2009, 07:16:43 PM

I know its frustrating. I apologize my info wasn't of any help.

no worries and no apology necessary, this is all their fault.

or Daehawks.

yeah, I'd rather blame him.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Rumpy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1470



View Profile
« Reply #39 on: October 01, 2009, 03:31:19 AM »

Woot, finally made it! Helps if you enable Java when it gets to the scanning part.

Hmm, well, so I thought. I had to redo the process with the trick listed above, using a different email address. Hope this doesn't invalidate me because it would look like I have two accounts, but it's part of their shoddy system for not sending invites in the first place.

Edit Today: Btw, I did finally get the activation email for the first account. Seems like it's much slower if you don't use the trick, so keep that in mind if you give all the info in one go. Might seem like you're not getting anything, but it's just delayed.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2009, 04:50:00 PM by Rumpy » Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.163 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.039s, 2q)