http://gamingtrend.com
December 22, 2014, 05:51:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Guild Wars?  (Read 1436 times)
KC
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: April 05, 2005, 09:43:52 PM »

I am a relative MMORPG newbie and have played WoW up to a level 24 Dark Elf.  I've heard about the upcoming Guild Wars and was wondering what the beta testers have to say.  I generally play solo and am liking WoW, but am getting tired of the fedex quests.  Is Guild Wars more of the same?  Also, is there really no monthly fee?
drifter

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 11:12:33 PM »

There is no monthly fee.  It is not an MMORPG of the true sort.  the only place where you are with other people is in the "city/town" zones before you start out on a quest.  The quests and this includes travelling to a new area are all instanced for your group.  You can solo but will be doing so accomponied by NPC's you can "rent" sort of to fill places in the group not filled by regular people.  The instances are set for a certain number of players and you really need to at least have close to what it calls for to complete it.  From what I understand of it the instances are handed off from the server where you meet up to the players computers that is why there is no fee; it does not require a huge backend infrastructure to support it.  The graphics are very good the quests I have done are very linear with a few deviations for bonus quests.

I wouldnt compare guild wars to any mmorpg out there its just not the same.
Lordnine

Lord of the Rutabagas

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2005, 05:02:32 AM »