http://gamingtrend.com
September 30, 2014, 04:38:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AoC -- System requirements  (Read 2409 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
msduncan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2993


Roll Tide!!!!


View Profile
« on: June 01, 2008, 03:35:29 AM »

So I have an excuse not to play this game, right?

Surely it will not run well on a

Pentium M 2.26 GHz
2 GB RAM
GeForce Go 7800 GTX

Right?    Right?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 04:09:15 AM »

the only way to find out is to buy the game and see  icon_twisted
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
El-Producto
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2035



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2008, 11:16:28 AM »

I'm playing with a AMD3200+, 2GB RAM, and 8800GT.

I'm running it on my 22 inch widescreen at HIGH, with no shadows, and some of the view distances turned down.

I deleted the cache files, and I'm getting around 40-50fps in most areas.  It takes a second to load everything when the game first starts.. but after that it's smooth.
Logged

"Goonies never say die"
msduncan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2993


Roll Tide!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2008, 01:13:49 PM »

Quote from: El-Producto on June 01, 2008, 11:16:28 AM

I'm playing with a AMD3200+, 2GB RAM, and 8800GT.

I'm running it on my 22 inch widescreen at HIGH, with no shadows, and some of the view distances turned down.

I deleted the cache files, and I'm getting around 40-50fps in most areas.  It takes a second to load everything when the game first starts.. but after that it's smooth.

Is that roughly equivalent to my laptop?   The worse thing about having bought this XPS a couple years ago is trying to figure out how the power translates.
Logged
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10874



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2008, 02:21:49 PM »

If you're willing to download the insanely massive client (26GB installed saywhat) later on, we'll all have 7-day "guest passes" to share (they're in every box of the game). You may want to wait for that rather than plunk $50 down for something you're not sure will run acceptably.

They haven't activated the buddy key program yet, it sounds like they want to make sure they have enough server capacity for an influx of trial players. I hope it doesn't bring an influx of spammers/gold farmers/spambots (I only monitor OOC, trading and my guild channels, and so far it's been free of that junk).
« Last Edit: June 01, 2008, 02:24:49 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Wasteland 2 (post-apoc, turn-based squad strategy/RPG )
-Grim Dawn
-Gauntlet (4 player co-op dungeon arcade brawling)
godhugh
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1064


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2008, 03:52:31 PM »

I have:

P4 3.0ghz
GeForce 7600GT
2GB RAM
Windows Vista SP1

I run the game on high, with shadows turned off, water reflections on medium, anisotropic filtering at 4, and shaders 2.0. I get between 20-30 FPS.
Logged
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2008, 06:21:33 PM »

Your graphics card is questionable for this game. I'm sure it'll run once FC gets off their ass and starts addressing the technical issues. I think that's more important than any other problem right now.
Logged
rittchard
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3980


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2008, 08:00:04 PM »

I'm positive it will be playable, just you may or may not be happy with the settings you'd have to use.

As I mentioned in another thread, I got it running on my iMac which has less RAM, about the same processor, and on-board ATI graphics which are nowhere near as good as a Geforce 7800. 

I wouldn't be surprised if you could run fairly well using the recent "trick" settings of High detail but shadows off and Shader=2.0 (or something like that).
Logged
msduncan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2993


Roll Tide!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2008, 07:28:48 PM »

I'm suffering on my rig with this game.   As I feared.

I have everything at Low.  2.0 shaders and no shadows.     Pretty disappointed.
I even had to turn the resolution way down.

To be fair I haven't upgraded my video card drivers for a LONG time.... maybe since purchase.   Maybe that will help?
Logged
Biyobi
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 718


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2008, 10:58:15 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on June 01, 2008, 02:21:49 PM

If you're willing to download the insanely massive client (26GB installed saywhat) later on, we'll all have 7-day "guest passes" to share (they're in every box of the game). You may want to wait for that rather than plunk $50 down for something you're not sure will run acceptably.

They haven't activated the buddy key program yet, it sounds like they want to make sure they have enough server capacity for an influx of trial players. I hope it doesn't bring an influx of spammers/gold farmers/spambots (I only monitor OOC, trading and my guild channels, and so far it's been free of that junk).


It appears the buddy keys won't be activated until the first month is paid for (beyond the initial free month).
Logged
godhugh
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1064


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2008, 11:52:58 PM »

Quote from: msduncan on June 07, 2008, 07:28:48 PM

I'm suffering on my rig with this game.   As I feared.

I have everything at Low.  2.0 shaders and no shadows.     Pretty disappointed.
I even had to turn the resolution way down.

To be fair I haven't upgraded my video card drivers for a LONG time.... maybe since purchase.   Maybe that will help?

Try this...

Set the graphics to High (seriously).
Turn shaders to 2.0
Turn off shadows.
Set 3D Dynamic Occlusion to low.
Turn anisotropic filtering down to a reasonable level.
Turn water reflections to ground only.

That should help quiite a bit. Oh, and update your graphic drivers.
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2008, 12:47:01 AM »

Quote from: msduncan on June 07, 2008, 07:28:48 PM

To be fair I haven't upgraded my video card drivers for a LONG time.... maybe since purchase.   Maybe that will help?

Yes, I would try that.  Grab Driver Sweeper and follow the instructions to install the latest drivers.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Cortilian
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 110


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2008, 05:10:28 PM »

Quote from: godhugh on June 07, 2008, 11:52:58 PM

Quote from: msduncan on June 07, 2008, 07:28:48 PM

I'm suffering on my rig with this game.   As I feared.

I have everything at Low.  2.0 shaders and no shadows.     Pretty disappointed.
I even had to turn the resolution way down.

To be fair I haven't upgraded my video card drivers for a LONG time.... maybe since purchase.   Maybe that will help?

Try this...

Set the graphics to High (seriously).
Turn shaders to 2.0
Turn off shadows.
Set 3D Dynamic Occlusion to low.
Turn anisotropic filtering down to a reasonable level.
Turn water reflections to ground only.

That should help quiite a bit. Oh, and update your graphic drivers.


+1 - Really.  Amazing difference for me.

Ath 3800+
2gig RAM
7800GTX SLI
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.074 seconds with 49 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.013s, 2q)