http://gamingtrend.com
August 28, 2014, 11:31:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless Router  (Read 1493 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1223


View Profile
« on: December 12, 2010, 09:38:30 PM »

I need some ideas for a new wireless router it's going to be used to connect my Xbox 360 and my wifes IPad plus a laptop.
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
KC
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1496


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2010, 10:55:13 PM »

I've had no problems with the Netgear wireless routers that I have used over the last few years.
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2010, 08:13:27 AM »

Im using a Linksys WRT54GL for my 360 and wife's iPod and my PSP.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2010, 08:14:27 AM »

Quote from: pingwrx on December 12, 2010, 09:38:30 PM

I need some ideas for a new wireless router it's going to be used to connect my Xbox 360 and my wifes IPad plus a laptop.

DLink 4500 works great for me, but it's pricey.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1223


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2010, 10:10:22 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on December 13, 2010, 08:14:27 AM

Quote from: pingwrx on December 12, 2010, 09:38:30 PM

I need some ideas for a new wireless router it's going to be used to connect my Xbox 360 and my wifes IPad plus a laptop.

DLink 4500 works great for me, but it's pricey.

How many connections can that router support?
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2010, 10:56:08 PM »

Quote from: pingwrx on December 13, 2010, 10:10:22 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on December 13, 2010, 08:14:27 AM

Quote from: pingwrx on December 12, 2010, 09:38:30 PM

I need some ideas for a new wireless router it's going to be used to connect my Xbox 360 and my wifes IPad plus a laptop.

DLink 4500 works great for me, but it's pricey.

How many connections can that router support?

I can't find a hard number for that (I don't see anything in the specs but I did see something about people running a 14 player LAN games using it) but I've had my PS3, netbook and iPhone connected at the same time with no issues.

That said, I did see some horror stories about the router too, so I may have gotten lucky.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Bullwinkle
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15533


Watch me pull a rabbit outta my hat.


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2010, 01:24:36 PM »

I had the 4500 until it got fried by a lightning bolt.  I upgraded to the Netgear WNDR3700 after reading from so many sites that it was the one to beat.  So far, I've been extremely pleased.
Logged

That's like blaming owls because I suck at making analogies.
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2010, 05:55:42 PM »

Quote from: Daehawk on December 13, 2010, 08:13:27 AM

Im using a Linksys WRT54GL for my 360 and wife's iPod and my PSP.

This.  Put on either Tomato or DDWRT firmware.
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2010, 09:30:06 PM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on December 22, 2010, 05:55:42 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on December 13, 2010, 08:13:27 AM

Im using a Linksys WRT54GL for my 360 and wife's iPod and my PSP.

This.  Put on either Tomato or DDWRT firmware.

I think I used tomato.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2010, 09:33:50 PM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on December 22, 2010, 05:55:42 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on December 13, 2010, 08:13:27 AM

Im using a Linksys WRT54GL for my 360 and wife's iPod and my PSP.

This.  Put on either Tomato or DDWRT firmware.
I need to check those out.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2011, 01:46:33 PM »

Quote from: Bullwinkle on December 14, 2010, 01:24:36 PM

I had the 4500 until it got fried by a lightning bolt.  I upgraded to the Netgear WNDR3700 after reading from so many sites that it was the one to beat.  So far, I've been extremely pleased.

    I need to get a new router as my current router only support wireless G.  I have it down to either the one linked above (WNDR3700) or the netgear WNDR3400 http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-N600-Wireless-Router-WNDR3400/dp/B0041LYY6K/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1295012222&sr=1-1  The only difference I see is the wired connections on the WNDR3700 is gigabit.  Is it worth the extra $70.00 for the gigabit wired ports?
Logged
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2011, 03:21:33 PM »

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 14, 2011, 01:46:33 PM

Quote from: Bullwinkle on December 14, 2010, 01:24:36 PM

I had the 4500 until it got fried by a lightning bolt.  I upgraded to the Netgear WNDR3700 after reading from so many sites that it was the one to beat.  So far, I've been extremely pleased.

    I need to get a new router as my current router only support wireless G.  I have it down to either the one linked above (WNDR3700) or the netgear WNDR3400 http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-N600-Wireless-Router-WNDR3400/dp/B0041LYY6K/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1295012222&sr=1-1  The only difference I see is the wired connections on the WNDR3700 is gigabit.  Is it worth the extra $70.00 for the gigabit wired ports?

If you have gigabit ethernet on your PC and you stream stuff to other devices (preferrably other gigabit -enabled devices), it certainly can't hurt. Plus, you'll be all future-proof.
Roll Eyes slywink
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8974


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2011, 03:57:58 PM »

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 14, 2011, 01:46:33 PM

Quote from: Bullwinkle on December 14, 2010, 01:24:36 PM

I had the 4500 until it got fried by a lightning bolt.  I upgraded to the Netgear WNDR3700 after reading from so many sites that it was the one to beat.  So far, I've been extremely pleased.

    I need to get a new router as my current router only support wireless G.  I have it down to either the one linked above (WNDR3700) or the netgear WNDR3400 http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-N600-Wireless-Router-WNDR3400/dp/B0041LYY6K/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1295012222&sr=1-1  The only difference I see is the wired connections on the WNDR3700 is gigabit.  Is it worth the extra $70.00 for the gigabit wired ports?

Only if you transfer large amounts of data through the wired connections (and all of your other wired devices have Gig-E links).

You're talking about the difference of 12 Megabytes per second versus 120 Megabytes per second in terms of transfer rates.  Keep in mind that most hard drives don't go 120 Megabytes per second, so you aren't going to actually see that as a real world speed.
Logged
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2011, 05:12:59 AM »

I ended up getting the WNDR3400 for $69.99   My wireless N card is rated to goto 150 mbps but I'm only getting 75 mbps, any ideas why?
Logged
KC
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1496


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2011, 09:27:57 PM »

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 15, 2011, 05:12:59 AM

I ended up getting the WNDR3400 for $69.99   My wireless N card is rated to goto 150 mbps but I'm only getting 75 mbps, any ideas why?

Did you check the Netgear setup screen?  IIRC, there is an option to set the wireless mbps rate.  I think it describes the settings as "neighbor settings" to avoid interference with close-by wireless networks.
Logged
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2011, 10:37:34 PM »

Quote from: KC on January 15, 2011, 09:27:57 PM

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 15, 2011, 05:12:59 AM

I ended up getting the WNDR3400 for $69.99   My wireless N card is rated to goto 150 mbps but I'm only getting 75 mbps, any ideas why?

Did you check the Netgear setup screen?  IIRC, there is an option to set the wireless mbps rate.  I think it describes the settings as "neighbor settings" to avoid interference with close-by wireless networks.

Yes I made sure I'm on a channel no other neighbors are on and also set the mbps rate to 300 mbps.  I know it's using wireless N but my wireless card can goto 150 mbps.  The odd thing is when I switch to a different channel it will connect at 150 mbps but then within 30 seconds drop out and reconnect at 75 mbps??

Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8974


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2011, 03:37:34 AM »

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 15, 2011, 10:37:34 PM

Quote from: KC on January 15, 2011, 09:27:57 PM

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 15, 2011, 05:12:59 AM

I ended up getting the WNDR3400 for $69.99   My wireless N card is rated to goto 150 mbps but I'm only getting 75 mbps, any ideas why?

Did you check the Netgear setup screen?  IIRC, there is an option to set the wireless mbps rate.  I think it describes the settings as "neighbor settings" to avoid interference with close-by wireless networks.

Yes I made sure I'm on a channel no other neighbors are on and also set the mbps rate to 300 mbps.  I know it's using wireless N but my wireless card can goto 150 mbps.  The odd thing is when I switch to a different channel it will connect at 150 mbps but then within 30 seconds drop out and reconnect at 75 mbps??



Is your network operating in mixed mode?  Are there other wireless device on the network?  To get the speed of N, I think the network has to be in N only and have no B/G devices connected to it.
Logged
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2011, 02:29:47 PM »

Well my desktop is hardwired and the only other things connected wirelessly are axbox 360, PS3 ipad and 2 iphones.  My only options in the netgear router configuration is the speed, which I selected up to 300mbps and the channel.
Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8974


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2011, 06:05:24 PM »

Quote from: BuckeyeShane on January 16, 2011, 02:29:47 PM

Well my desktop is hardwired and the only other things connected wirelessly are axbox 360, PS3 ipad and 2 iphones.  My only options in the netgear router configuration is the speed, which I selected up to 300mbps and the channel.

Yeah that must be it then.  I believe most iPhones are not N, I know the PS3 is not N, and unless the original 360 wireless adapter is not N.

Some of the newer routers allow you to run in dual-mode (my Airport Extreme does this) where you are actually broadcasting two networks: one standard and one @ 5GHz N.  That's really the only way to get around this step down.
Logged
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2011, 09:13:22 PM »

360 Slim, or the black MS dual-antenna are N. Otherwise, (A*)/B/G for you. What you might want to do is to have a G router and an N router (wire them together, and use gigabit ethernet) and get all your wireless G devices to use the slower one.

You'll need to be comfortable in planning your network though. I'd recommend having the G router as a part of the N router, and let the N do all the DHCP/Firewall/Gateway and set the G up to be a simple entry point.

*802.11A is only available on the 360 "cracker" wireless adapter, and the A connection requires router support and short distances. It was pretty much obsolete before N came out. Tongue
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2011, 09:29:32 PM »

The router I got Netgear WNDR3400 is dual band.  The 360 I have is the slim version and the iphones PS3 aren't connected to the wireless network yet.
Logged
BuckeyeShane
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 195


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2011, 02:35:31 AM »

Now all of a sudden it's connecting at 150 mbps, i did nothing to change this.  Why??
Logged
gellar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8974


I'm a dolphin!


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2011, 03:33:54 AM »

Local interference, I'd imagine.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.102 seconds with 68 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.022s, 2q)