http://gamingtrend.com
October 22, 2014, 01:03:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What does this notification mean  (Read 921 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
RaptorRed
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 99


View Profile
« on: February 22, 2005, 05:40:52 PM »

I recently attempted to re-load my copy of Jedi Academy.
When loading the install disc I get this notice.

An installation support file could not be installed
Interface not registered

I have never sene or had this notice before what does it mean.

J/A is a store bought game and has been loaded and used severla times by me so this seems strange.

Thanx for any help.
Logged

I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was.
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15962


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2005, 06:29:18 PM »

Some older software is outright not compatible with WinXP. On really old stuff, it'll try to auto-detect what OS you're running, and upon seeing one that it doesn't know about, aborts the install. Or I've even seen ones that try to determine the speed of your CD drive, and goes absolutely nuts when the PC returns with a 48x value (when 2x and 4x was all the rage back then).

Easiest solution is to surf over to the CD via Explorer, find the setup/install program, right click it, and then under Properties, you should be able to choose under one of the tabs what OS Windows says it is when you install it.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
ChrisGwinn
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 261


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2005, 09:16:22 PM »

Jedi Academy installs just fine under XP.  I've done it before.
Logged
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11169


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2005, 02:18:10 PM »

I'm pretty ignorant on the JA thing, but it may be due to a change in XP service pack 2.  Do you have that installed?  Have you looked on Microsoft and LucasArt's known bugs pages?
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
RaptorRed
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 99


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2005, 04:09:49 PM »

I don't have SP2 yet. I seem to have solved the problem and JA runs fine.

I noted how I was able to solve this and other problems in my other post.

Thanx for the help.
Logged

I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 33 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.035s, 2q)