http://gamingtrend.com
August 31, 2014, 06:55:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Router question for a linksys and a vita.  (Read 494 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2654


View Profile
« on: March 04, 2012, 07:54:38 AM »

So I had to put my vita into a DMz to make wipeout work online. Everything else seems fine online with it. So a few questions.

If that address on my vita is in the dmz, is that address going to change and make the dmz no longer "valid",if you will?

Anything else I need to know about this sort of thing. I've been a pc gamer and console gamer for along while. I really never HAD to deal with this kind of thing. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Off to play some wipeout!
Logged
Calavera
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 317


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 05:32:49 PM »

You can always assign your Vita a static IP address on your router (if it supports that) to make sure the IP doesn't change.
Logged
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2654


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 06:18:38 AM »

Is there any downside to that at all? Thx, like I said no clue about routers;).
Logged
Calavera
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 317


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 02:02:34 PM »

Nope, no downside to giving a device a specific IP. When I do this, I usually give the static IPs to the upper end of the DHCP range so it's easier to keep track. For example, my router is 192.168.1.254, my wifi is 192.168.1.253, and then I have a static assigned computer that is 192.168.1.252.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.07 seconds with 31 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.011s, 2q)