http://gamingtrend.com
October 25, 2014, 05:39:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Powerline problems  (Read 595 times)
Teggy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Eat lightsaber, jerks!

View Profile
« on: June 25, 2012, 01:43:18 AM »

I've been running a Western Digital Powerline setup for a good 6 months or so with very nice results. However, in the last few days I've noticed that we've been having a lot of problems with the signal on the remote end. We'll get very low bandwidth and sometimes none at all. I was wondering if maybe it was due to the air conditioning now going on and putting some kind of stress on the electrical system, but there is no specifc time when it will stop working correctly. Sometimes it will work fine with the A/C on and sometimes it will work poorly with the A/C off. Wondering if anyone has any experience troubleshooting these kinds of issues?

"Is there any chance your jolly Garchomp is female?" - Wonderpug
Harkonis

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 01:59:57 AM »

I've tried a similar setup three times in my life at different places.  I've never had it work well.  It's very susceptible to any fluctuations and imo most houses that are older than 5 years just don't have suitable wiring for it. (and most that are younger than 5 years have cat-5 installed in walls slywink )

The AC could very well be applying enough of a surge to screw things up.  House wiring signals are also pretty sensitive to everything which is why I would never recommend a powerline network unless you simply can't go wired or wireless.

(and just so I don't feel stupid, you do mean network over the AC wiring in the house, right?  ninja )
gellar

I'm a dolphin!

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2012, 02:41:25 AM »