http://gamingtrend.com
July 26, 2014, 11:34:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Partition size for xp pro and reformat questions  (Read 1781 times)
algernon
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« on: October 31, 2004, 05:32:23 PM »

I am going to reformat my new dell.

it has an 80 gig HD.

I am a newbie with regards to partitions.

Is it worth it / easy to create separate partitions for XP and other files?

What size partition for XP Pro?

What are the benefits to partitioning?

If I format with partitions? Do I put other files in the OS partition (MS word, etc?

Do I need to zero out my hd first or just insert XP disc in and go from there?  It came preformatted with all the new system bloatware and I want it fresh & clean.

One more thing:  I haven't even booted the system yet.  Should I boot it as shipped from Dell to check it out or just wipe and reformat?

Thanks in advance.
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2004, 07:47:17 PM »

Partitioning has several benefits.

The primary one would be the ability to boot to multiple operating systems.  This probably doesn't apply to you.

Less fragmentation.  It is also quicker to defrag smaller partitions.

Backups.  This won't help if the drive fails, but if you need to reformat the primary partition for a fresh Windows install then your data on the other partitions will remain.

Organization.  This is why I do it.  I have 370 GB on two physical drives.  I have them formatted into 10 different partitions (C-L).  Makes organizing things easier/more logical for me.  You could also do this with one 80 GB drive, and just use subfolders, but I don't find this as elegant.

You can either create your partition when you install your clean drive by using fdisk or you can do it at a later time with a utility like Partition Magic.