http://gamingtrend.com
April 21, 2014, 03:21:58 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: If I were to build a new gaming pc...  (Read 456 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2429


View Profile
« on: May 06, 2012, 06:50:40 AM »

I really only have one quick question on this subject matter. Is it possible to use my iMac's gorgeous monitor as a monitor for a windows machine? I absolutely love my Mac, and it's plan was to be utilized as a "family pc". Movies, music, and actually alot of gaming has been done on it! I would just love to be able to plop a gaming windows machine down below the desk and use the iMac's monitor with it. That beautiful screen would make me happy! It has a thunderbolt connection. Is that already an option? Maybe down the road?
Logged
Isgrimnur
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8523



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2012, 05:22:21 PM »

You'll likely have to use an adapter.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2012, 05:23:53 PM by Isgrimnur » Logged

Hadron Smasher on 360; IsgrimnurTTU on PS3

I'd rather be watching hockey.
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2429


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2012, 06:22:05 PM »

Quote from: Isgrimnur on May 06, 2012, 05:22:21 PM

You'll likely have to use an adapter.

Any downside to that?
Logged
Isgrimnur
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8523



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 06:29:43 PM »

I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't think so.  Signals are digital, so they get there or they don't.  It's not like you run into issues with static. 

And it seems like Monoprice can get you covered for pretty cheap.
Logged

Hadron Smasher on 360; IsgrimnurTTU on PS3

I'd rather be watching hockey.
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2012, 06:56:07 AM »

It depends on the model. Some iMacs have the ability to accept video input and others do not. For instance, when I bought one for my daughter awhile back, I was told that this was not possible on the 24", but was on the 27" (Of that particular revision...may not apply to a different one).
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Vidiot
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 543


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2012, 05:30:27 PM »

A lot more video cards have display port out now.  In that case if the iMac takes display port in you just need a standard dp to mini dp cable.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.075 seconds with 34 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.012s, 2q)