http://gamingtrend.com
July 26, 2014, 03:28:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Home network connection dropout issues  (Read 476 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jztemple2
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2069



View Profile
« on: December 13, 2013, 02:13:34 AM »

I'm having an issue with the wireless network in my home, so I'm hoping you smart folks might be able to help me. I got a Securifi Almond range extender to try to solve the issue, but  it turns out to be something I think that is in the router. It's a recent problem, which is weird because I've had my Netgear Rangemax WPN824 v3 router for years, but this problem has only occurred the past couple of weeks.

I'll have my netbook (yup, I still have one of those) logged on to my wireless network, either directly from the Netgear wireless or from the Almond (the Almond creates a second network). Suddenly, after several hours or maybe a day or two, the netbook will say that the link has limited or no connectivity. If I try to reconnect to the same network link, the status will loop through authenticating, then obtaining IP address, then back to authenticating, and so on. Oddly, if I try to connect to the other wireless network, IE either the original Netgear net or the Almond second network, the connection is made right away. Also weirdly, it doesn't matter which is the original network I'm connected to; when it drops out, the other works fine.

Now I thought the problem might be the netbook, but I eliminated this as the likely source of my problem when I found that my Nexus tablet exhibited the exact same behavior.

I haven't updated the firmware in the router in forever on the theory of don't mess with what works. However, I'm holding off messing with that, hoping that some great minds here can identify a more obvious solution to the problem.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
Logged

True, but when the snarky comment is served on a platter, you don't wait for the napkin. - Bullwinkle
TheAtomicKid
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 04:03:58 AM »

Something you didnt explicitly state in your first post...

Before you got the almond, you would simply be stuck in the loop? What was the solution... reboot the router?

Atomic
Logged
jztemple2
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2069



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2013, 05:07:02 AM »

Quote from: TheAtomicKid on December 13, 2013, 04:03:58 AM

Something you didnt explicitly state in your first post...

Before you got the almond, you would simply be stuck in the loop? What was the solution... reboot the router?

Atomic

Yeah, I should have made myself clearer, the problem existed before the Almond. I thought getting it might strengthen the signal and fix my problem. It didn't. And yes, rebooting the router fixed the problem each time.
Logged

True, but when the snarky comment is served on a platter, you don't wait for the napkin. - Bullwinkle
TheAtomicKid
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2013, 12:37:04 PM »

Did you restrict the IP address range the network can offer? If it's running out of IP's it might do something like that.

Atomic
Logged
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
Re:
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2013, 02:14:40 PM »

It could also be a device flooding your router with connections and not closing them down.

One of the things that having ddwrt on my router showed me a while back.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2013, 04:15:07 PM »

had this happen to me with my router, a firmware update fixed it.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Punisher
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1719



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2013, 05:18:34 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on December 13, 2013, 04:15:07 PM

had this happen to me with my router, a firmware update fixed it.
This is usually a good first step in general.
Logged
jztemple2
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2069



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2013, 10:22:21 PM »

Quote from: Punisher on December 13, 2013, 05:18:34 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on December 13, 2013, 04:15:07 PM

had this happen to me with my router, a firmware update fixed it.
This is usually a good first step in general.

Yup, I think this is my next step. Thanks for the help!
Logged

True, but when the snarky comment is served on a platter, you don't wait for the napkin. - Bullwinkle
TheAtomicKid
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1438



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2014, 07:58:52 AM »

Progress... we're making progress?

Atomic
Logged
jztemple2
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2069



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2014, 03:07:56 PM »

Ah, I never did post that I found the solution. I took the Almond from it's location as a range extender and moved it to the back of my wife's computer and made it a router and wireless access point (it became a router connected by ethernet, downstream of my existing router). The Almond now sits much closer to my living room, giving me excellent wireless coverage there. I didn't bother with a firmware update to my Netgear router, as moving the Almond seemed to fix my rebooting issues.

I'll also note that the Almond is incredibly easy to set up. After hooking up the wires in the new location it took all of about twenty seconds to set it up as a router and wireless access point, although I did go to their forum just to ask if it was possible to have a router downstream of a router in a home network.
Logged

True, but when the snarky comment is served on a platter, you don't wait for the napkin. - Bullwinkle
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.083 seconds with 43 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.015s, 2q)