http://gamingtrend.com
August 23, 2014, 01:49:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Does "Built-in ATSC" mean it has integrated HDTV?  (Read 865 times)
corruptrelic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: July 03, 2006, 05:21:05 PM »

I'm a little new to HDTV but am looking at getting the most cost-effective HDTV (preferably built-in so I dont have to get the seperate box) so I can play the xbox 360 the way it was meant to be played. (Right now it's on a standard TV.)

I'm seeing some of them that say "HD Tuner Built-In" and others that are saying "ATSC Tuner Built-in", does that mean the same thing?

Here's one of the TV's (in my price range) that I was considering:
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=4529481

Was also looking at a couple if ILO's (Walmart's brand) and one of them says ATSC Built-in w/HDMI and then on the next page there's another one with Built-in HD with HDMI at about $100 more. (Same sizes though.)
The one with the Built-in HD says no set top box required, the other one doesn't make any mention if you need the box or not..
So now (being the old man I am) I have a headache on which TV to get..

Any suggestions?

"A gladiator does not fear death. He embraces it. Caresses it. Fucks it. Every time he enters the arena, he slides his cock into the mouth of the beast."
Crawley

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 06:52:44 PM »

Built in ATSC just means you can plug in an antenna and pick up the over the air (OTA) HD signals from your local stations. If you don't plan on using OTA you don't have to worry about it.