http://gamingtrend.com
November 27, 2014, 08:05:34 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can a complete newb build his own rig? *Final Update*  (Read 4095 times)
Xmann
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Ironman in training

View Profile
« on: November 08, 2005, 01:11:02 AM »

I'm in the process of buying new components for my new system and i was throwing the idea around of putting this thing together myself.
The thing is i have never done anything like this before.  I have installed plenty of video cards and a power supply, but thats it.  Usually a buddy of mine does anything more than that for me.  But if it can be done without screwing something up, i'd like to learn to do this myself.
I know the common sense answer is sure i can do it.  But for someone who is not good at putting anything together, i dont want to get frustrated.
So whats the suggestions?  Are there any really good step by step guides in laymen terms for putting a system together?  My system will include a new mobo, processor, psu, video card, and ram.

Hazer
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2005, 01:37:28 AM »

Generic answer: Yes and No.

Honesty:

You could if you follow one golden rule:  It's Brain Surgery with Legos.

Delicate work (everything you'll be handling is Electrostatic Sensitive) but it's mostly Tab-A-Into-Slot-B work. Read the manuals, read the lables and above all make sure you don't force things to go together until you're 180% sure that it's SUPPOSED to fit together like that. Some pieces do require a bit of force to connect (putting a VidCard into an AGP slot for example), but most don't require too much effort. If you're pushing on something too hard, back off a second and double check that you're putting the right bits together.