http://gamingtrend.com
September 22, 2014, 10:25:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Asus router warning.  (Read 775 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« on: February 18, 2014, 06:33:15 PM »

http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/02/dear-asus-router-user-youve-been-pwned-thanks-to-easily-exploited-flaw/

Luckily I run tomato on my asus router...
Logged
Rumpy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1469



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 11:45:53 PM »

That reminds me of something that happened to my PC early in the 90's shortly after I got broadband. Might have been a vulnerability or simply a flaw in my configuration. I was spooked when shutting down to see the shutdown screen had been replaced with a graphic with a message, all in Spanish. Fortunately my Mom is fluent enough to have been able to translate. It basically had a similar message as to what is seen in this link, and I was fortunate enough that it wasn't anything malicious, as it could have been worse. I took it as a nudge in the right direction and worked on a better configuration. There are fortunately still some good people in the world.
Logged
Caine
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 10122


My cocaine


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2014, 05:05:28 AM »

I have one of these, but thankfully have never had the cloud disk enabled, nor the FTP client.  no recent txt files were dropped on my external usb either. 

thank you for mentioning this.  and Asus gets a big  thumbsdown when it comes to routers from now on based on their lack of response when they were presented with this vulnerability. 
Logged

Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2014, 04:08:56 PM »

You should try a tomato build on your router, so much better than the Asus firmware....
Logged
Caine
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 10122


My cocaine


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2014, 04:46:15 PM »

after this snafu, I think I will.  I bricked my last router with a bad DD-WRT config so I was a little hesitant to attempt it as the Asus fw seemed good enough. 
Logged

Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2014, 11:13:25 AM »

Which model do you have? I have a RTN16.
Logged
Caine
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 10122


My cocaine


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2014, 07:01:06 PM »

Quote from: Mystic95Z on February 20, 2014, 11:13:25 AM

Which model do you have? I have a RTN16.
I have that one as well
Logged

Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 11:32:51 AM »

This would be the firmware you want then. I had tried a few other variants but the others had a niggling problem where after 4-5 days up the wireless would get really slow (rebooting the router in the evening while the son and I were playing WoW was getting annoying due to daughter griping...). The second link below is the simulator so you can see what it looks like and feature set.

http://www.victek.is-a-geek.com/

http://www.victek.is-a-geek.com/virtual/tomatok26/status-index.html

« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 06:17:03 PM by Mystic95Z » Logged
Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2014, 09:20:16 PM »

Caine, you give that FW a try?
Logged
Caine
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 10122


My cocaine


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2014, 10:06:27 PM »

not yet.  been a bit busy of late.  I did look through the docs on it though.  seems to be a better build of DD WRT
Logged

Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 507


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2014, 12:24:25 AM »

Yeah. Been meaning to try out the media server stuff but I need to convert my USB HDD to a supported format since NTFS isn't mountable... The previous build I used (Toastman) didn't have media server.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.083 seconds with 44 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.017s, 2q)