http://gamingtrend.com
October 25, 2014, 08:48:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adaware Question  (Read 2407 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Riker's Beard
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 30


View Profile
« on: October 18, 2004, 04:31:52 AM »

Hey, I just downloaded Ad Aware to install on my machine, but I'm also running Norton Antivirus and Norton Firewall.  Any one here running Ad Aware in conjunction with those programs?  If so, any conflicts between them?
Logged
wankerjr
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 281


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 04:41:26 AM »

Nope.

I have NAV and ZoneAlarm Pro running. Adaware SE is only once in a while when I figure I should scan for something. So far it has worked flawlessly.
Logged

How does this work again?
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2004, 05:20:56 AM »

I've never had any issues with adaware and either of the norton programs. I'm also running both of them.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
Riker's Beard
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 30


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2004, 02:23:22 PM »

I've read at other sites that some folks are recommending people get both Ad Aware and Spy Bot for cleaning their systems.  Do you really need both, or does Ad Aware do the job adequately?
Logged
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2004, 03:20:14 PM »

I use both simply because no matter how many times I used to run them, one of the two always found things that the other one didn't.

Mind you, I haven't had either program find a single thing since I stopped using IE, but I suppose that's a given.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2004, 03:50:26 PM »

Quote from: "Riker's Beard"
I've read at other sites that some folks are recommending people get both Ad Aware and Spy Bot for cleaning their systems.  Do you really need both, or does Ad Aware do the job adequately?

Both definitely.  I've had each find things the other hasn't.  Just like Thin_J said.
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4693


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2004, 06:03:01 PM »

Spybot seems to be more thorough, IMO.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.076 seconds with 37 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.012s, 2q)