http://gamingtrend.com
November 25, 2014, 09:02:03 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 32 vs 64 bit... this is why you should make the switch...  (Read 628 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
TheAtomicKid
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1444



View Profile
« on: August 05, 2013, 02:50:54 AM »

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91260   The first post should be fairly obviously the relevant bit...

Now, the addressing limits I knew about.
The gpu sucking up gigantic amounts of the addressing I knew about.
I did NOT know that dx9 etc also replicated the gpu memory into system memory, further depleting the pool. Ugh, and no damned wonder.

Atomic
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21081



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2013, 03:20:41 PM »

Quote from: TheAtomicKid on August 05, 2013, 02:50:54 AM

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91260   The first post should be fairly obviously the relevant bit...

Now, the addressing limits I knew about.
The gpu sucking up gigantic amounts of the addressing I knew about.
I did NOT know that dx9 etc also replicated the gpu memory into system memory, further depleting the pool. Ugh, and no damned wonder.

Atomic

Solid article.  I hear a lot of these things, even among tech people, incorrectly cited.  "There's no real version between the 32 bit and 64 bit version of XYZ" comes up a lot.  I can tell you that I personally like using more then 3GB of RAM, so 64 bit is the only way I roll....
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9458



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 05:29:35 AM »

For techs and professionals like us, 64bit is a must. I couldn't imagine my workflow existing if not for 64bit. I can have photoshop open on an absolutely massive file, unity running in the background while I change an asset, Max or maya open with the model I'm working on so I can update its texture. I can keep these programs all open safely and even fire up extra programs like xnormal, zbrush, or nDo without my PC batting an eye.

Meanwhile playing music or old movies

Sure, any one of these programs would be fine alone, heck, probably running 2 in 32bit might be fine, but not the 3 or 4, and not while doing the heavy stuff like texture bakes.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 05:32:39 AM by Turtle » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.073 seconds with 28 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.012s, 2q)