http://gamingtrend.com
September 01, 2014, 09:54:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What's the easiest to program a game?  (Read 5195 times)
unbreakable
« on: March 24, 2008, 09:27:10 PM »

I didn't want to put this in PC/Console, since it could apply to either.

Anyway, I've been thinking of finally, after years of threatening to do so, trying to program a game.  But... I'm not a great programmer, especially with the nuts-and-bolts stuff like assigning memory and stuff.

So what's the best (read: easiest) way to go?  I would actually like to, at some point, try getting the game onto a mobile platform (like possibly DS homebrew or the iPhone homebrew).

To start with I'm aiming pretty low, I'd like to do a kind of small basic Ultima 1 type of RPG.  Then I'd like to move on to a basic kind of Bard's Tale kind of game.

So what would work?  Would Flash be worth using for something like this, since iPhone could possibly maybe get Flash someday?  Several years back someone recommended Java... but since I really hate the kind of horrors it unleashes on PCs it's been installed upon, that doesn't seem like a good option.
kronovan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 05:25:38 PM »

I'm no expert, but I've toyed a bit here and there with coding a game. If you know any of the programming languages that Microsoft develops an IDE for you can more or less take your pick. If you want some decent graphics and sound you can use any language that lets you link the DirectX libraries. When I played around I used both MS VB.NET and Visual BASIC because, despite knowing some C++, I'm most comfortable with BASIC. I've also been told by friends working in the industry that C Sharp, C++, J Sharp and J++ are much better languages to use.