http://gamingtrend.com
December 25, 2014, 05:08:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Star Realms  (Read 1027 times)
Bullwinkle
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Watch me pull a rabbit outta my hat.

View Profile
« on: March 21, 2014, 12:57:17 PM »

I backed Star Realms on Kickstarter, and I've been extremely happy with it.  It seems to be available in retail stores now, so I thought I'd mention it here.

I've been playing this deck builder for a few months, and it's become a go-to.  

At it's base, it's in an Ascension format.  There are 5 cards in the trade row available to purchase.  These are either ships or stations.  You pay for them with gold in your hand.  The only other currency is weapons damage which you use to directly attack your opponent.  One interesting twist is that your health is also your victory points.  All of the games I've played have ended because someone is at zero health, but I can imagine scenarios where you actually burn through the huge deck and the difference will matter.

Some cards will give you health/vp and these can be critical.  Another way to protect yourself is with the bases.  When they cycle into your hand and you play them, they stay in front of you until an opponent takes them out (or you trash them - some cards give a bonus ability if you trash them).  Some of these bases are standard and are often just a nuisance to your opponenet, who must decide whether to spend damage on them or on you.  Some of the bases are outposts, and your opponent must spend any damage he has on them before he can get back to attacking you.  Destroyed bases go into your discard pile, so destruction is temporary.