http://gamingtrend.com
July 24, 2014, 01:10:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to teach rules better?  (Read 1645 times)
Chaz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: September 22, 2005, 01:16:46 AM »

So my girlfriend and I have been getting more into board games over the past month, and we're dragging our friends in with us.  We get together with a bunch of people a few times a week usually, which is good.

The problem is that I'd like to be able to play games when it's just me and her.  Thing is, I'm not a great teacher, since I'm just learning how to teach rules, and she's a terrible student.  If there's something she doesn't understand, she gets angry about it, and no amount of explaining makes her understand.  Usually, she just has to read it out of the rulebook.  Of course, this is magnified since most times, I haven't played the game myself, so my understanding of the rules is very limited as well.

I've tried getting her to read the rules on her own, but she doesn't because she doesn't like to.  I've also tried just explaining the very basics, and then starting a game and explaining the rest as we go.  What always seems to happen is that we come across a ruling that I have to consult the manual for, and upon clarifying the rule, she gets huffy saying that I should have explained that better and that knowing that would have made her play differently.

What's frustrating is that none of this is a problem when we're playing with other people.  I suspect the problem is that she's very competitive, and doesn't want to lose a one on one game to me under any circumstances, but the result is that I'm extremely reluctant to play anything with just her, let alone try a new game with her.  

Anyone else run into this?  How about any ideas of how to teach rules better?

Doopri