http://gamingtrend.com
October 20, 2014, 11:33:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: opening GT  (Read 1974 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
drifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1251


View Profile
« on: August 27, 2011, 03:26:02 PM »

Why does it take 2-3 seconds for the main page to pop up on GT?  Its every time i come to the site and it keep IE locked up the whole time; so far it only occurs here.
Logged
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 03:49:34 PM »

Are you talking about the front page or the forum?
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11166


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 04:37:50 PM »

Yeah, I get the same thing in Chrome when going to the front page.  It seems to be getting worse over time as well.  It makes me want to skip the front page entirely.
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 04:44:09 PM »

I just tried some refreshes on the front page and the news comes up quickly but the Screenshots/Latest Videos/Popular Posts/Facebook/Twitter/Archives column come up slower.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8299


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2011, 06:58:19 PM »

This happened to me as well both here and on RPS - Unfortunately, the only good solution is to use something like adblocker to block the facebook and twitter links - its their connections that makes you hang a bit.
Logged

A new one
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2011, 09:25:02 PM »

It's the triple whammy of facebook, twitter and youtube on the sidebar. The main content area should come up relatively quickly, though. Let me flush the cache and see if that helps
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2011, 09:31:58 PM »

What version of IE, btw?
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
pr0ner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5359


Go Flames go!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2011, 02:23:28 PM »

I just had the home page lock up my browser while loading.  I'm using Firefox 6.0.

I've only had it happen once (I tested it a couple more times), so I'm not sure if it was my browser or the site itself.
Logged

XBox Live Gamertag: Pr0ner
drifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1251


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2011, 02:47:22 PM »

I am using IE 9 and its the front page that does it.  Just happened again this morning.
Logged
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2011, 04:13:40 PM »

Unfortunately I have no way to test IE9. Are you having load time issues with other sites as well? After some research I see a lot of people are having issues with the GPU acceleration.
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2011, 04:34:14 PM »

I could try a snippet of code forcing the page into IE8 compatibility mode, but again- no way to test. Also, is this happening on all non forum pages or just the home page?
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
drifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1251


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2011, 04:40:35 PM »

Just the main page and only on GT I dont notice it happening anywhere else.  It just opened up fine coming here this time not sure if it was cached or something else....
Logged
pr0ner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5359


Go Flames go!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2011, 03:07:41 AM »

I've had issues with the GT home page locking my browser twice tonight.  One time it totally froze my computer until it quit hanging.
Logged

XBox Live Gamertag: Pr0ner
drifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1251


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 18, 2011, 06:00:15 PM »

yeah its still doing it.  Will at times lock my whole PC for 1-2 seconds I guess while its loading the front page, not sure why.  Seems that if its cached in my PC then it doesnt do it.
Logged
pr0ner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5359


Go Flames go!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 18, 2011, 06:36:08 PM »

Also, in Firefox 6, that "by gamers, for gamers" line is plastered in such an ugly way across the Gears 3 review banner.  It's been that way all weekend, and it's hideous.
Logged

XBox Live Gamertag: Pr0ner
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2011, 06:54:30 PM »

Quote from: pr0ner on September 18, 2011, 06:36:08 PM

Also, in Firefox 6, that "by gamers, for gamers" line is plastered in such an ugly way across the Gears 3 review banner.  It's been that way all weekend, and it's hideous.

It's a caching issue. I've cleared it a number of times but your local cache may not be cycled through yet.
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2011, 06:55:27 PM »

Quote from: drifter on September 18, 2011, 06:00:15 PM

yeah its still doing it.  Will at times lock my whole PC for 1-2 seconds I guess while its loading the front page, not sure why.  Seems that if its cached in my PC then it doesnt do it.

I for the life of me can't figure out why. Our google page speed is at a whopping 91 out of 100 and I can't duplicate the issue to save my life.
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2011, 07:01:55 PM »

I get it sometimes as well.  Any testing I can help with?
Logged
pr0ner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5359


Go Flames go!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2011, 07:30:06 PM »

Quote from: th'FOOL on September 18, 2011, 06:54:30 PM

Quote from: pr0ner on September 18, 2011, 06:36:08 PM

Also, in Firefox 6, that "by gamers, for gamers" line is plastered in such an ugly way across the Gears 3 review banner.  It's been that way all weekend, and it's hideous.

It's a caching issue. I've cleared it a number of times but your local cache may not be cycled through yet.

A CTRL+F5 fixed my cache issue.  Thanks!
Logged

XBox Live Gamertag: Pr0ner
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8299


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2011, 07:31:36 PM »

Quote from: th'FOOL on September 18, 2011, 06:55:27 PM

Quote from: drifter on September 18, 2011, 06:00:15 PM

yeah its still doing it.  Will at times lock my whole PC for 1-2 seconds I guess while its loading the front page, not sure why.  Seems that if its cached in my PC then it doesnt do it.

I for the life of me can't figure out why. Our google page speed is at a whopping 91 out of 100 and I can't duplicate the issue to save my life.

I think I mentioned this before - Rockpapershotgun has the same issues, until you block facebook and the like via adblock. The explanation over there is, that it doesn't matter if the site is fast, its the user that is waiting for feedback from facebook on the page causing the delay and issues. I don't know if this is the issue, but they have some posts over there about it, and the symptoms are exactly the same

http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/forums/showthread.php?793-Front-page-load-time
Logged

A new one
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2011, 08:52:40 PM »

Ok, so it's an issue with some versions of IE and Firefox deciding they want to load everything in the page flow before displaying content, particularly on installations on older hardware. I have implemented a solution- all widgets that call external content such as FB, twitter, and Youtube, will now "lazy load". That is to say, they will load after all content is loaded. Let me know if that helps (and make sure you clear your cache just in case)
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2011, 12:03:13 AM »

So did my fix alleviate the situation?
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2011, 06:36:51 PM »

So we found out another thing that may have contributed to this issue with our adserver software. It was using the gamingtrend.net domain name that we were using during the transitional period and therefore all the ads were referring to that domain. Yesterday the .net domain was having trouble resolving on my end, and causing the entire site to hang up as was described. We fixed the resolve issue and changed all of the adserver settings to the proper domain and everything seems to be much snappier.
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11166


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2011, 01:10:23 AM »

When first opening up the front page in Chrome I now get a full system lock for about 10 seconds, as in I can't move my mouse or anything.
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
th'FOOL
Executive Producer and Editor-At-Large
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5016


Never whistle while you're pissing


View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: September 28, 2011, 01:18:01 AM »

Quote from: EngineNo9 on September 28, 2011, 01:10:23 AM

When first opening up the front page in Chrome I now get a full system lock for about 10 seconds, as in I can't move my mouse or anything.

Every time? Does it happen on secondary pages? I can't imagine what is on the page that would cause this at all.

At this point anything that loads in via an external API is set to load AFTER everything else via javascript.

Have you cleared your cache recently? Maybe the fixes haven't been cached for you locally?
Logged

Mike Dunn
Executive Producer & Managing Editor, GamingTrend
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.109 seconds with 73 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.026s, 2q)