http://gamingtrend.com
November 23, 2014, 04:23:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: XBox official price drops  (Read 1092 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Larraque
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2392


View Profile
« on: September 04, 2008, 12:43:26 PM »

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/compare101.htm

$199 for the arcade
$299 for the regular 60gig version
$399 for the Elite

Logged
Soulchilde
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5288


You and I have unfinished business


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2008, 01:25:54 PM »

$199 for the arcade- Heh,  I might pick up a new one just to get a falcon
Logged

Quote from: Devil on January 12, 2007, 01:14:38 AM

NiM$
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15971


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM »

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.

But about bloody time Microsoft got with the program and dropped the price of the 360.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
ATB
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15583


Thanks for everything, Ryan. 1979-2013


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2008, 02:12:29 PM »

Quote from: Destructor on September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.



Not if you already have a 360!
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2008, 02:13:28 PM »

Quote from: Destructor on September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.

But about bloody time Microsoft got with the program and dropped the price of the 360.

Yesterday I saw that Target had the 20 gig HD on "sale" for $60.  So you could in theory get a 20 gig Falcon for ~$260.

Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Larraque
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2392


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2008, 02:14:48 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on September 04, 2008, 02:13:28 PM

Quote from: Destructor on September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.

But about bloody time Microsoft got with the program and dropped the price of the 360.

Yesterday I saw that Target had the 20 gig HD on "sale" for $60.  So you could in theory get a 20 gig Falcon for ~$260.



You know, two years ago I thought 20 gigs was way too much for a console - I never even came close to filling my 8 gig xbox drive.  eek
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15971


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2008, 02:21:43 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on September 04, 2008, 02:13:28 PM

Quote from: Destructor on September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.

But about bloody time Microsoft got with the program and dropped the price of the 360.
Yesterday I saw that Target had the 20 gig HD on "sale" for $60.  So you could in theory get a 20 gig Falcon for ~$260.

Oops. Okay - so you need to spend $260 to make it a viable 360.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 18614



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2008, 02:24:23 PM »

That doesn't have component video cables... that too is extra.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Devil
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7742



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2008, 02:28:55 PM »

Quote from: Purge on September 04, 2008, 02:24:23 PM

That doesn't have component video cables... that too is extra.

$3.74 at Monoprice is the dealbreaker?  icon_wink
Logged

XBox Gamertag: Devil13Devil
Wii Number: 0305 6568 6417 2609
PS3 Thing: Slived
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11244


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2008, 02:37:32 PM »

Quote from: Devil on September 04, 2008, 02:28:55 PM

Quote from: Purge on September 04, 2008, 02:24:23 PM

That doesn't have component video cables... that too is extra.

$3.74 at Monoprice is the dealbreaker?  icon_wink

Do they have the ones with the 360's special output block?
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2008, 02:46:40 PM »

Quote from: DragonFyre on September 04, 2008, 02:14:48 PM

Quote from: denoginizer on September 04, 2008, 02:13:28 PM

Quote from: Destructor on September 04, 2008, 02:05:57 PM

Too bad that Arcade unit is still worthless until you spend $100 on an overpriced HD.

But about bloody time Microsoft got with the program and dropped the price of the 360.

Yesterday I saw that Target had the 20 gig HD on "sale" for $60.  So you could in theory get a 20 gig Falcon for ~$260.



You know, two years ago I thought 20 gigs was way too much for a console - I never even came close to filling my 8 gig xbox drive.  eek

Tell me about it...  icon_biggrin

http://www.gamingtrend.com/forums/index.php/topic,28992.0.html
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2008, 02:52:53 PM »

I think it might be time to trade up my 2 year old model for the 60 gig.  I'll just need to look into transferring the data between HD's.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Devil
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7742



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2008, 02:58:56 PM »

Quote from: EngineNo9 on September 04, 2008, 02:37:32 PM

Quote from: Devil on September 04, 2008, 02:28:55 PM

Quote from: Purge on September 04, 2008, 02:24:23 PM

That doesn't have component video cables... that too is extra.

$3.74 at Monoprice is the dealbreaker?  icon_wink

Do they have the ones with the 360's special output block?

Nope!

Forgot about that - You're best off buying the $299 60G
« Last Edit: September 04, 2008, 03:00:33 PM by Devil » Logged

XBox Gamertag: Devil13Devil
Wii Number: 0305 6568 6417 2609
PS3 Thing: Slived
mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2008, 03:52:10 PM »

I'm still waiting for the Jasper chipset - if I can, anyway.  I have occasional 2 RROD on my upstairs 360; if it goes (or I get too nervous about it) I'll grab a Falcon model, and wait to upgrade my other 360.  The Jasper models may already be out, the original date was "sometime in August" - but they'll probably have to sell off all the Falcons first. But, yeah, $199 for a Falcon is a good deal if you have launch 360 that's showing early signs of failure.  icon_wink
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
metallicorphan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 16378



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2008, 04:11:44 PM »

http://www.gamingtrend.com/forums/index.php/topic,28652.0.html


i was two days out icon_mad
Logged

Manchester United Premier League Champions 2013!!

Xbox LIVE:Metallicorphan
Wii:8565 1513 0206 1960
PSN:Metallicorphan
Doopri
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2853


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2008, 04:13:00 PM »

Quote
You know, two years ago I thought 20 gigs was way too much for a console - I never even came close to filling my 8 gig xbox drive.

i will third this! funny how times change right?  im constantly flirting at the edge of mine, what with demos and songs and such.  i hope i never get into the digital content id be in serious trouble (movies / tv shows and such)

and i think my hd is bigger than the 20 gig too (though i might be lying im not sure).  20 gigs used to be so much... hell i remember when i thought id be set for life the first time i bought an 800 mb hard drive smile
Logged
metallicorphan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 16378



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2008, 04:22:50 PM »

Quote from: Doopri on September 04, 2008, 04:13:00 PM

Quote
You know, two years ago I thought 20 gigs was way too much for a console - I never even came close to filling my 8 gig xbox drive.

i will third this! funny how times change right?  im constantly flirting at the edge of mine, what with demos and songs and such.  i hope i never get into the digital content id be in serious trouble (movies / tv shows and such)

and i think my hd is bigger than the 20 gig too (though i might be lying im not sure).  20 gigs used to be so much... hell i remember when i thought id be set for life the first time i bought an 800 mb hard drive smile

of course the 20 gig HDD on the 360s..is only actually 13gig(as i found out just after i installed all 7-8gig of Final Fantasy 11)

i remember my xbox180 HDD always saying '50,000+ blocks'..all the time,and i had my xbox chipped with over 200 games,and it still didnt break the 50,000



and FWIW myto,i know you have two 360s,just send the dodgy one in to be fixed and stick your HDD on the spare 360..i can't vouch for American xbox service,but i got my 360 back within the week when i RRODed April just gone....seems the service is much better now,as to when my disc tray broke and it took them over two weeks to get my 360 back to me
Logged

Manchester United Premier League Champions 2013!!

Xbox LIVE:Metallicorphan
Wii:8565 1513 0206 1960
PSN:Metallicorphan
mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: September 04, 2008, 04:33:54 PM »

Lately, I've been slightly down on myself about the fact that modern technology is leaving me behind - but I realized that might not be so bad after all.  Although I have no clue how to do everything the 360 is capable of doing, I will also never need the "big" hard drive... it still seems "giant" to me, lol. 

Metal, do you know if they will fix a TWO RROD, especially if it is only a sporadic problem? I know they should, but wasn't the warranty extension for the THREE RROD?  After all, it's still a great DVD player!   Roll Eyes
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
metallicorphan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 16378



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2008, 05:18:36 PM »

Quote from: mytocles on September 04, 2008, 04:33:54 PM

Lately, I've been slightly down on myself about the fact that modern technology is leaving me behind - but I realized that might not be so bad after all.  Although I have no clue how to do everything the 360 is capable of doing, I will also never need the "big" hard drive... it still seems "giant" to me, lol. 

Metal, do you know if they will fix a TWO RROD, especially if it is only a sporadic problem? I know they should, but wasn't the warranty extension for the THREE RROD?  After all, it's still a great DVD player!   Roll Eyes


i got two(does a black scren come on your TV telling you the code for the fault?),and what i did was unplugged it at the power brick(not the outlet)..and it became a 3RROD...however when i reset everything it became a two ring again...so i just rang them up,blagged* them that it was 3 rings,they asked me some questions about the light on the power brick,i told them it was red i think instead of green or orange when the 360 isnt on

and to be honest i dont think they even checked as i just got another 360 sent to me,not my original(as my original was a launch machine,and now my 360 says it was manufactured 07/2006(our launch was 12/2005)

*blagged....do you have that word?..i think it might even be Mancunian slang...means 'bullshitted'



EDIT:and i agree,it is a great DVD player...i have the small microsoft 360 remote that i got with the launch and its great
Logged

Manchester United Premier League Champions 2013!!

Xbox LIVE:Metallicorphan
Wii:8565 1513 0206 1960
PSN:Metallicorphan
mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2008, 07:44:20 PM »

Quote from: metallicorphan on September 04, 2008, 05:18:36 PM

Quote from: mytocles on September 04, 2008, 04:33:54 PM

Lately, I've been slightly down on myself about the fact that modern technology is leaving me behind - but I realized that might not be so bad after all.  Although I have no clue how to do everything the 360 is capable of doing, I will also never need the "big" hard drive... it still seems "giant" to me, lol. 

Metal, do you know if they will fix a TWO RROD, especially if it is only a sporadic problem? I know they should, but wasn't the warranty extension for the THREE RROD?  After all, it's still a great DVD player!   Roll Eyes


i got two(does a black scren come on your TV telling you the code for the fault?),and what i did was unplugged it at the power brick(not the outlet)..and it became a 3RROD...however when i reset everything it became a two ring again...so i just rang them up,blagged* them that it was 3 rings,they asked me some questions about the light on the power brick,i told them it was red i think instead of green or orange when the 360 isnt on

and to be honest i dont think they even checked as i just got another 360 sent to me,not my original(as my original was a launch machine,and now my 360 says it was manufactured 07/2006(our launch was 12/2005)

*blagged....do you have that word?..i think it might even be Mancunian slang...means 'bullshitted'



EDIT:and i agree,it is a great DVD player...i have the small microsoft 360 remote that i got with the launch and its great

No error messages - it's worse when you have those actually.  Just two red rings, with the flashing orange and green is for a connection problem, just disconnect and reconnect everything.  I had that once on one of mine, and it fixed it for good (like a year or more now).  The two red rings with no error message and no flashing colors is "simple" overheating - that's the problem I'm having on one of them, occasionally.  It never happens when playing a DVD, just on some games, sometimes - not often, but annoying, because it just shuts down to prevent 3 RROD.  It has pretty good air supply, but I'm going to try to improve it a little before I panic.  One time, one of them shut down when the temperature in the house climbed, but I could play it whenever I had the air conditioning on.  Fixed that one with the Nyko air cooler thingie.  I do realize my days are numbered though.  ninja

Blagged? Not in New England... must be native to Ye Olde England... and Mancunian? Is that like Manchester-ian?  icon_confused

We have the remote, but I think the regular 360 controller works as well, if not better - but that could be operator error, lmao.  retard
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.158 seconds with 63 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.041s, 2q)