http://gamingtrend.com
October 24, 2014, 08:54:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: XBox 360 - Sell me it, and why not arcade?  (Read 1655 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8299


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« on: November 03, 2008, 07:54:35 AM »

So,  a friend of mine, and me included btw, has been thinking about getting an Xbox now. My friend wants it purely for the Fallout3 game, which he played for 7 hours at my place the other day ;-D

Anyways, there are so many different xbox'es out there, that its hard to know what to get. The arcade is supecheap, so, why not get that? Is there any good reason that harddrive is important enough to pay a lot more for it?

Help and feedback fast is appricated, since the purchase will probably be today ;-)
Logged

A new one
Sarkus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2593


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 08:24:31 AM »

Skip the arcade pack.  If you go that route you will have longer load times as well as be missing out on the XBox Live stuff (a lot is available even with the free version.)  On top of that MS is finally allowing developers create games that require the hard drive so down the road you don't want to be trying to find the hard drive sold seperately.

Logged

Roger: And you should know, I have no genitals.
Syndey: That's alright.  I have both.

- American Dad
ATB
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15530


Thanks for everything, Ryan. 1979-2013


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2008, 10:26:20 AM »

Yeah. Spend the xtra bones for the HD.  He'll regret it otherwise.
Logged
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2008, 12:03:23 PM »

Quote from: Sarkus on November 03, 2008, 08:24:31 AM

Skip the arcade pack.  If you go that route you will have longer load times

Longer load times? Where is that info coming from?
360 games don't have installs, so are you implying they are caching data to the HD?
Not saying you are wrong, but I've never heard that.

Anyway, I disagree completely from these guys. Arcade pack is fine, with 2 caveats.
1) video cable is composite only. If you're going to spring for a component cable, consider just getting a pro
2) HD *is* very cool if they plan to get online. You should also know that MS has a program going where you can get a refurb HD for cheap. However, if you plan on doing that you might just spring for the pro.

At my store there is a $250 xbox available that's an MS refurb with a 20 gig hd, otherwise the same as the 60gig pro systems.
I haven't been suggesting these as much for the holidays, because you don't get the free games in the holiday bundles, but this might be a good choice for you.
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2008, 12:15:22 PM »

360 most certainly does have installs. well in 2 weeks you will have that option. now if you dont want to connect to live for 2 weeks.
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4693


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2008, 01:11:03 PM »

Quote from: Misguided on November 03, 2008, 12:03:23 PM

Quote from: Sarkus on November 03, 2008, 08:24:31 AM

Skip the arcade pack.  If you go that route you will have longer load times

Longer load times? Where is that info coming from?
360 games don't have installs, so are you implying they are caching data to the HD?
Not saying you are wrong, but I've never heard that.
Yes, games will use the hard drive for caching - one of the reasons the 20GB hard drive only has 13GB usable.
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15963


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2008, 01:21:21 PM »

Spend the extra bones and get the Pro pack. The Gimp pack (the Arcade) is only there to entice people away from the Wii. Get the Pro version now, or else you'll be spending the extra cash getting the Pro version's innards (and spending more to do it) later down the line.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2008, 03:42:32 PM »

+ a billion angry chinese men to getting the Pro and skipping the Gimp.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Isgrimnur
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8865



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2008, 03:55:08 PM »

Why not arcade?

Two words and three letters:  Rock Band DLC. 
Logged

Hadron Smasher on 360; IsgrimnurTTU on PS3

Quote from: McBa1n
http://www.vuvuzela.fm BVVVVVVVVVVVRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11173


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2008, 03:58:54 PM »

And demos, and videos and title updates, and the "new Xbox experience", etc... just don't do it. 
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
StriderGG
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 446


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2008, 04:10:43 PM »

I am also thinking about getting 360, but my choice is a bit different - Pro or Elite? The only thing I know that is different is HDMI (which is very nice, is the cable included?) and a bigger HD (which I am not sure I need that much to be honest).

What about those newer, more stable 360's (Falcon?), are they out yet?

What would you guys recommend?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2008, 04:27:45 PM »

if you buy an Arcade version the terrorists win.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
kronovan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7930



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2008, 06:54:29 PM »

And in line with the kind of sentiment Ceekay is expounding; the Pro because only the belt + suspenders and bandaided glasses type crowd get the arcade.  Tongue
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4693


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2008, 07:05:01 PM »

Quote from: StriderGG on November 03, 2008, 04:10:43 PM

What about those newer, more stable 360's (Falcon?), are they out yet?
Falcon has been out since last year - so far they do seem to be more stable.  Though the new hotness is the Jasper build, which is slowly making it's way into retail channels.
Logged
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 18582



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 03, 2008, 07:28:07 PM »

I'd recommend the 60GB Pro... and they now all come with HDMI with new HW, IIRC.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1228


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM »

What's the new Jasper build?
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4693


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM »

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.
Logged
KePoW
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1877


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 03, 2008, 10:43:16 PM »

Quote from: Laner on November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.

This is officially out in retail now?  I haven't kept up.

If so, how do you specifically tell?
Logged
egrudzin
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 03, 2008, 11:17:08 PM »

Quote from: KePoW on November 03, 2008, 10:43:16 PM

Quote from: Laner on November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.

This is officially out in retail now?  I haven't kept up.

If so, how do you specifically tell?

They are not out yet so no one knows how to tell.  There were some reports that they were out a few weeks back but they were false.  Right now there are no confirmed sightings and no one knows when there will be.  Most signs point to "soon".
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12764



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 03, 2008, 11:34:48 PM »

Quote from: egrudzin on November 03, 2008, 11:17:08 PM

Quote from: KePoW on November 03, 2008, 10:43:16 PM

Quote from: Laner on November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.

This is officially out in retail now?  I haven't kept up.

If so, how do you specifically tell?

They are not out yet so no one knows how to tell.  There were some reports that they were out a few weeks back but they were false.  Right now there are no confirmed sightings and no one knows when there will be.  Most signs point to "soon".

When the Falcons first came out it took someone to get one and crack it open to verify.  I assume the same is true for this.

BTW does anyone know of a handy guide for telling which one you have now?  I got one back from repair and I'm sure it's not the same insides as the one I sent.
Logged
egrudzin
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 04, 2008, 03:41:21 AM »

Quote from: leo8877 on November 03, 2008, 11:34:48 PM

Quote from: egrudzin on November 03, 2008, 11:17:08 PM

Quote from: KePoW on November 03, 2008, 10:43:16 PM

Quote from: Laner on November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.

This is officially out in retail now?  I haven't kept up.

If so, how do you specifically tell?

They are not out yet so no one knows how to tell.  There were some reports that they were out a few weeks back but they were false.  Right now there are no confirmed sightings and no one knows when there will be.  Most signs point to "soon".

When the Falcons first came out it took someone to get one and crack it open to verify.  I assume the same is true for this.

BTW does anyone know of a handy guide for telling which one you have now?  I got one back from repair and I'm sure it's not the same insides as the one I sent.

Check this post for pics on how to tell: http://forums.xbox.com/15804553/ShowPost.aspx

Also there are plenty of ways to tell the Jasper from the old ones.  Most people seem to think attaching a Kill-a-watt to it to see how much power it draws will be the most reliable, since Jasper should draw significantly less power than a Falcon.  Also it might have a smaller power supply and I believe that the 360 lists its power usage on a label on the back so it's possible that will be updated as well.
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12764



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 04, 2008, 04:04:24 AM »

Quote from: egrudzin on November 04, 2008, 03:41:21 AM

Quote from: leo8877 on November 03, 2008, 11:34:48 PM

Quote from: egrudzin on November 03, 2008, 11:17:08 PM

Quote from: KePoW on November 03, 2008, 10:43:16 PM

Quote from: Laner on November 03, 2008, 08:27:37 PM

Quote from: pingwrx on November 03, 2008, 07:37:03 PM

What's the new Jasper build?
The Falcon motherboard has a 65nm CPU and a 90nm GPU.  Jasper has a 65nm CPU and 65nm GPU; so it should run cooler and use less power.

This is officially out in retail now?  I haven't kept up.

If so, how do you specifically tell?

They are not out yet so no one knows how to tell.  There were some reports that they were out a few weeks back but they were false.  Right now there are no confirmed sightings and no one knows when there will be.  Most signs point to "soon".

When the Falcons first came out it took someone to get one and crack it open to verify.  I assume the same is true for this.

BTW does anyone know of a handy guide for telling which one you have now?  I got one back from repair and I'm sure it's not the same insides as the one I sent.

Check this post for pics on how to tell: http://forums.xbox.com/15804553/ShowPost.aspx

Also there are plenty of ways to tell the Jasper from the old ones.  Most people seem to think attaching a Kill-a-watt to it to see how much power it draws will be the most reliable, since Jasper should draw significantly less power than a Falcon.  Also it might have a smaller power supply and I believe that the 360 lists its power usage on a label on the back so it's possible that will be updated as well.

Thanks man, that's exactly what I was looking for.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.14 seconds with 67 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.027s, 2q)