http://gamingtrend.com
April 18, 2014, 02:37:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: X3: The Terran Conflict  (Read 7510 times)
Hotfreak
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2010, 12:31:27 PM »

Quote from: Old Negus on May 06, 2010, 10:07:18 PM

The game is pretty user friendly in some ways, with all the voice guidance and encyclopedia and all. But some other things do seem hidden away. Figuring that stuff out does give me more "ownership" of the game though, which is nice. I'm a veteran of flight sims from way back so I don't mind a complicated game or two. Glad it's not all Peggle and Mystery Case Files out there.

Quote from: Hotfreak on May 06, 2010, 11:51:49 AM

Quote from: Old Negus on May 06, 2010, 06:12:18 AM

EDIT: So I've played a little more, buying a laser. I figured out how to install it but was getting frustrated because I couldn't figure out how the dickens to actually FIRE the darn thing. Turns out you can only fire it from the rear view because it's mounted on the rear of the ship. I only found this out after scouring the web for a long time. So it's not the most user friendly of games but barring too many more issues like this it may grow on me more. Looks like I won't be engaging in combat any time soon. How the hell would that work? Ah, so much to learn...
I played the original X: Beyond the Frontier, then Xtension (so clever!), X2 and then the first X3.  Each one get more complex as more variables are added leading to more connections between systems and more refinement.  I can't imagine what the learning curve would be like for someone jumping in on the last installment.

Still, it should be doable.   Hang in there and enjoy the ride up the steep slope!