http://gamingtrend.com
August 01, 2014, 08:30:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What compelled you to go Console?  (Read 6345 times)
Jack Burton
Gaming Trend Reader

I am NOT Simon Cowell!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: October 29, 2004, 04:35:06 PM »

First of all, I've been playing games since 1979 (when I was 3) I'm serious!  Apple, TRS-80, Commodore.. blah blah. So I'm a PC gamer.  BUT I'm also a console lover.  Here's why I love both systems and some points on what makes them great in their own respect:

PC GAMES:
-Much higher capability for depth/Complexity:
examples: Civilization, Sim City, Railroad Tycoon, Hegemonia, Master of Magic/Orion, Heroes of Might and Magic, Warlords, Imperium Galactica, any wargame (good luck finding one on a console!)
-More flexible and accurate controls:(this will change with the addition of a common mouse and keyboard for the consoles)
examples:  Any FPS (DOOM, Half-life, tac-ops, bf1942), any RTS (mouse), any game where typing is required
-Easily expandible and upgradeable
-Games are moddable:examples: Counter-strike, Tac-ops, Freespace mods, Far-cry mods, MOO3 mods, the list goes on and on

CONSOLE GAMES:
-Able to play anywhere easily (in bed or living room)
-Geared towards easy pick up and play
-More action game oriented
-Have a special variety of RPG games that can't be found on the PC:
examples: Final Fantasy, Zelda, Symphonia, Dark Cloud

-Platformersexamples: Mario, Castlevania, mega man (some can be found on PC but its just not the same)
-Easy controls (except for FPS IMHO) and Easy to Learn