http://gamingtrend.com
July 31, 2014, 12:18:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Supreme Commander Demo - Impressions?  (Read 6559 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9315



View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: February 10, 2007, 09:23:58 AM »

It'll probably ship with the game itself.

Also remember that the interface is completely moddable, the devs were talking about how that would be available to modders, so like WoW, they could customize the interface however they want.  If the feature takes off, it'll be interesting to see how it turns out.
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: February 10, 2007, 03:43:42 PM »

Quote from: juniordan on February 10, 2007, 01:18:13 AM

Tutorials now available. Lets hop this saves the game.
http://www.supremecommander.com/tutorials/

Requires you to have a fileplanet account to download them and they don't play in Media Player.

Not a good start.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Lee
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3211


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: February 10, 2007, 05:51:04 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on February 10, 2007, 03:43:42 PM

Quote from: juniordan on February 10, 2007, 01:18:13 AM

Tutorials now available. Lets hop this saves the game.
http://www.supremecommander.com/tutorials/

Requires you to have a fileplanet account to download them and they don't play in Media Player.

Not a good start.

Is long has the game has decent ones, I am ok with that.
Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9315



View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: February 11, 2007, 10:29:40 AM »

Well, it looks like I need to upgrade my system because SupCom at the lowest settings possible still killed my PC.  I guess that since there's so many units on screen the game is very CPU dependant, and I only have an Athlon XP 2000+.

Overall I liked it, I figured out how to get transports to automatically ferry units from one point to another and used to to land a massive invasion force behind enemy lines on the first mission, and as my factory created units they'd go straight to the transports to be taken to the front.

I figure I'll enjoy this game more if I had a better system, but it's basically TA2 to me, so I'm happy.
Logged
Space Herpes
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 221


View Profile WWW
« Reply #44 on: February 13, 2007, 11:17:48 PM »

Well, I've played a fair amount of SC.

My aging system:
Athlon64  3000+
1 Gig Ram
Geforce 6800

I turned off Shadows and the game runs well, even with hundred+ units on screen.
Easy is incredibly easy.  Was a good skill level to see what the different units could do without any pressure.
Medium is still very easy.  The AI built a little faster, but still wasn't much of a challenge.
Hard.  The first time I played hard, I got my butt kicked.  The AI comes at you much much faster.  After I knew how the AI was going to come after me, I was able to win.

I have to say this game has grown on me.  At first I didn't much care for it, but I knew there were aspects I hadn't touched on yet.  So, I kept trying it out.  The ability to queue up dozens of structures, ungrading the commander and experiemental units are all very cool.  Having the engineers being able to assist just about everything to help build or repair is nice.  Also, being able to put engineers on patrol and they auto fix units on their route takes pressure off watching the front lines.

Being attacked by a Monkey Lord was pretty freaky the first time I saw it (I hadn't figure out about experimental units).  The rapid fire artillery is absolutely devastating.

I went from "meh" to seriously considering purchasing it.
Logged

See the Mr. Sticky Show!
http://one.revver.com/watch/261625
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: February 14, 2007, 04:15:20 AM »

Quote from: Space Herpes on February 13, 2007, 11:17:48 PM

I went from "meh" to seriously considering purchasing it.

After playing with the demo for about a week I am in the same boat.  I am now trying to decide between SC and Crackdown for next week.  If I knew my PC would run the retail version of SC acceptably I would definately go with SC.  I refuse to upgrade my PC until the DX10 video cards are out and affordable though.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #46 on: February 14, 2007, 06:24:49 AM »

Quote from: denoginizer on February 14, 2007, 04:15:20 AM

Quote from: Space Herpes on February 13, 2007, 11:17:48 PM

I went from "meh" to seriously considering purchasing it.

After playing with the demo for about a week I am in the same boat.  I am now trying to decide between SC and Crackdown for next week.  If I knew my PC would run the retail version of SC acceptably I would definately go with SC.  I refuse to upgrade my PC until the DX10 video cards are out and affordable though.

I will be getting SC-but I will feel better about it if I can find it on sale.
Logged
Space Herpes
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 221


View Profile WWW
« Reply #47 on: February 14, 2007, 04:21:42 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on February 14, 2007, 04:15:20 AM

Quote from: Space Herpes on February 13, 2007, 11:17:48 PM

I went from "meh" to seriously considering purchasing it.

After playing with the demo for about a week I am in the same boat.  I am now trying to decide between SC and Crackdown for next week.  If I knew my PC would run the retail version of SC acceptably I would definately go with SC.  I refuse to upgrade my PC until the DX10 video cards are out and affordable though.

Your system is more powerful than mine.  I can't really say I have reservations about it, but I don't mind turning down the graphics.  Shadows seem to be the most expensive and least useful graphic in the game.  Does the game still stutter for you when you turn it down to, say, medium graphics and turn shadows off?
Logged

See the Mr. Sticky Show!
http://one.revver.com/watch/261625
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: February 14, 2007, 04:35:22 PM »

Quote from: Space Herpes on February 14, 2007, 04:21:42 PM

Quote from: denoginizer on February 14, 2007, 04:15:20 AM

Quote from: Space Herpes on February 13, 2007, 11:17:48 PM

I went from "meh" to seriously considering purchasing it.

After playing with the demo for about a week I am in the same boat.  I am now trying to decide between SC and Crackdown for next week.  If I knew my PC would run the retail version of SC acceptably I would definately go with SC.  I refuse to upgrade my PC until the DX10 video cards are out and affordable though.

Your system is more powerful than mine.  I can't really say I have reservations about it, but I don't mind turning down the graphics.  Shadows seem to be the most expensive and least useful graphic in the game.  Does the game still stutter for you when you turn it down to, say, medium graphics and turn shadows off?

It runs acceptably at 1280x960 with shadows off and medium graphics.  I would be buying it for multiplayer and I fear that in some of the bigger battles I may be in trouble.  I understand that the retail version has a higher unit count than the demo.  I have also heard that the retail version is more optimized.  I will probably cave and buy it.  Even if I have to wait for my eventual PC upgrade to really enjoy the game.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #49 on: February 15, 2007, 01:23:58 PM »

Ugh, the 20th is too far away...I want the game now...
Logged

Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: February 15, 2007, 07:56:43 PM »

Quote from: ROTC1983 on February 15, 2007, 01:23:58 PM

Ugh, the 20th is too far away...I want the game now...

Find any deal for it on week 1? I am not seeing a lot so far.
Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9315



View Profile WWW
« Reply #51 on: February 16, 2007, 01:05:54 AM »

Someone was already working on a Starship Troopers mod for this game.  I wanna nuke me some bugs.
Logged
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: February 16, 2007, 03:08:18 AM »

Quote from: Calvin on February 15, 2007, 07:56:43 PM

Quote from: ROTC1983 on February 15, 2007, 01:23:58 PM

Ugh, the 20th is too far away...I want the game now...

Find any deal for it on week 1? I am not seeing a lot so far.

I will pay full price for this biggrin
Logged

Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #53 on: February 17, 2007, 01:11:51 AM »

Ok, two levels in and I can tell you that there is a full tutorial system in the game.  It comes with the videos that you may have seen via various other sources, but it also has some easy levels where it holds your hands a little bit.  Build a mass extractor, build 3 power plants, build a blah blah blah etc. 

Full impressions when I've put more time in.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1211


View Profile
« Reply #54 on: February 17, 2007, 01:15:58 AM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 01:11:51 AM

Ok, two levels in and I can tell you that there is a full tutorial system in the game.  It comes with the videos that you may have seen via various other sources, but it also has some easy levels where it holds your hands a little bit.  Build a mass extractor, build 3 power plants, build a blah blah blah etc. 

Full impressions when I've put more time in.

Impressions can't come soon enough I'm jonesing for some mass destruction on an epic scale. icon_twisted
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
siege
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 599



View Profile
« Reply #55 on: February 17, 2007, 01:43:50 AM »

Think I'll be able to max out the game on a E6600, 2 gig ram, Geforce 7900GS? Won't have my new system for another 10 days, so I'm unable to test it out on the demo.

After being disappointed with the early beta on my old machine, I'm very much interested in playing it now that I'm no longer in the stone age.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #56 on: February 17, 2007, 02:14:46 AM »

Quote from: siege on February 17, 2007, 01:43:50 AM

Think I'll be able to max out the game on a E6600, 2 gig ram, Geforce 7900GS? Won't have my new system for another 10 days, so I'm unable to test it out on the demo.

After being disappointed with the early beta on my old machine, I'm very much interested in playing it now that I'm no longer in the stone age.

I will shut down SLI on my 7800s and let you know. 
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1211


View Profile
« Reply #57 on: February 17, 2007, 02:39:16 AM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 02:14:46 AM

Quote from: siege on February 17, 2007, 01:43:50 AM

Think I'll be able to max out the game on a E6600, 2 gig ram, Geforce 7900GS? Won't have my new system for another 10 days, so I'm unable to test it out on the demo.

After being disappointed with the early beta on my old machine, I'm very much interested in playing it now that I'm no longer in the stone age.

I will shut down SLI on my 7800s and let you know. 

Thought you were running 8800GTX?
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #58 on: February 17, 2007, 05:17:54 AM »

Quote from: pingwrx on February 17, 2007, 02:39:16 AM

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 02:14:46 AM

Quote from: siege on February 17, 2007, 01:43:50 AM

Think I'll be able to max out the game on a E6600, 2 gig ram, Geforce 7900GS? Won't have my new system for another 10 days, so I'm unable to test it out on the demo.

After being disappointed with the early beta on my old machine, I'm very much interested in playing it now that I'm no longer in the stone age.

I will shut down SLI on my 7800s and let you know. 

Thought you were running 8800GTX?

Nope, not I.  I can't afford that beastie. smile   

As for SupCom, I'll dig into it tomorrow - I had to finish my God of War II review tonight.  It goes up tomorrow morning....
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Autistic Angel
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3604


View Profile
« Reply #59 on: February 17, 2007, 06:01:07 AM »

I'll be interested to hear more detailed impressions.  Some other reviewers have already hinted that the retail release has been greatly optimized, and one poster on QuarterToThree.com said that it's one of the most profound cases of a demo *underselling* the greatness of the final product that he'd ever seen.

Personally, I think that award would have to go to Hitman: Contracts, but considering how much I'm enjoying the Supreme Commander demo, it's good news nonetheless. icon_cool

-Autistic Angel
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #60 on: February 17, 2007, 07:15:10 AM »

Quote from: Autistic Angel on February 17, 2007, 06:01:07 AM

I'll be interested to hear more detailed impressions.  Some other reviewers have already hinted that the retail release has been greatly optimized, and one poster on QuarterToThree.com said that it's one of the most profound cases of a demo *underselling* the greatness of the final product that he'd ever seen.

Personally, I think that award would have to go to Hitman: Contracts, but considering how much I'm enjoying the Supreme Commander demo, it's good news nonetheless. icon_cool

-Autistic Angel

The only thing the demo undersold to me is the performance-and if the final game is that much better this has returned to a day 1 purchase for me.
Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9315



View Profile WWW
« Reply #61 on: February 17, 2007, 09:25:15 AM »

I wonder if this means my current system can run it.
Logged
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #62 on: February 17, 2007, 12:29:00 PM »

If anyone wants to know how it runs on an 8800GTX, as soon as I get the full version, I will attempt my best to post some benchmarks.
Logged

Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #63 on: February 17, 2007, 01:19:29 PM »

Quote from: Autistic Angel on February 17, 2007, 06:01:07 AM

I'll be interested to hear more detailed impressions.  Some other reviewers have already hinted that the retail release has been greatly optimized, and one poster on QuarterToThree.com said that it's one of the most profound cases of a demo *underselling* the greatness of the final product that he'd ever seen.

Personally, I think that award would have to go to Hitman: Contracts, but considering how much I'm enjoying the Supreme Commander demo, it's good news nonetheless. icon_cool

-Autistic Angel

Well, I can tell you that with my specs (below) it runs with everything maxed and 400 units moving at the same time with ease.  When I take my cards out of SLI I'm sure it'll plummet, but I'll get some concrete numbers for you guys this afternoon.  Stupid work, interfering with my game time.  Pssh...
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #64 on: February 17, 2007, 01:37:55 PM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 01:19:29 PM

Quote from: Autistic Angel on February 17, 2007, 06:01:07 AM

I'll be interested to hear more detailed impressions.  Some other reviewers have already hinted that the retail release has been greatly optimized, and one poster on QuarterToThree.com said that it's one of the most profound cases of a demo *underselling* the greatness of the final product that he'd ever seen.

Personally, I think that award would have to go to Hitman: Contracts, but considering how much I'm enjoying the Supreme Commander demo, it's good news nonetheless. icon_cool

-Autistic Angel

Well, I can tell you that with my specs (below) it runs with everything maxed and 400 units moving at the same time with ease.  When I take my cards out of SLI I'm sure it'll plummet, but I'll get some concrete numbers for you guys this afternoon.  Stupid work, interfering with my game time.  Pssh...

Just quit? Tongue
Logged

Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #65 on: February 17, 2007, 02:05:40 PM »

Hehhe.  I also forgot to post my specs:

AMD Dual Core 4800
4 GB Corsair XMS RAM
2x eVGA 7800 running in SLI
Audigy 2 sound card
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Mattc0m
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 895

Hardcore


View Profile WWW
« Reply #66 on: February 17, 2007, 04:33:16 PM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 02:05:40 PM

Hehhe.  I also forgot to post my specs:

AMD Dual Core 4800
4 GB Corsair XMS RAM
2x eVGA 7800 running in SLI
Audigy 2 sound card

We should trade computers.  icon_eek
Logged

matt "mattc0m" richards
new project: GamesCast TV: eSports Television
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #67 on: February 17, 2007, 04:57:51 PM »

Quote from: Mattc0m on February 17, 2007, 04:33:16 PM

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 02:05:40 PM

Hehhe.  I also forgot to post my specs:

AMD Dual Core 4800
4 GB Corsair XMS RAM
2x eVGA 7800 running in SLI
Audigy 2 sound card

We should trade computers.  icon_eek

I should clean my desk and take pictures of the thing.  I want to replace the case though  - aluminum is great for dissapating heat, but it does kinda suck for dampening sound. 
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #68 on: February 17, 2007, 06:10:51 PM »

Must play now!!
Logged
pingwrx
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1211


View Profile
« Reply #69 on: February 17, 2007, 07:51:07 PM »

Quote from: Turtle on February 17, 2007, 09:25:15 AM

I wonder if this means my current system can run it.

My son tryed to play it on my old system and it bogged down after about 50+ units 1024x768.

Amd XP2500+
2 gigs ram
6600gt

We played on my new box got over 300+ units ran smooth maxed everthing at 1680x1050.
E6600
2 gigs ram
8800GTX
Logged

XBL gamertag: pingwrx
PS3-PS4 pingwrx
ioticus
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 74



View Profile
« Reply #70 on: February 18, 2007, 04:34:54 AM »

I have an Athlon FX-53, Geforce 7800 GS AGP and 2 gigs of ram. No matter what resolution or setting I run it on, I get between 10 and 20 fps if there is nothing happening and as soon as things get busy I drop below 10 fps. WTF? I tried running the /nosound switch since I have an Audigy 2 card and read about the Soundblaster bug, but there is no change in performance. Do you think this is due to my CPU or is there something else going on?
Logged
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #71 on: February 18, 2007, 05:09:35 AM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 04:57:51 PM

Quote from: Mattc0m on February 17, 2007, 04:33:16 PM

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 17, 2007, 02:05:40 PM

Hehhe.  I also forgot to post my specs:

AMD Dual Core 4800
4 GB Corsair XMS RAM
2x eVGA 7800 running in SLI
Audigy 2 sound card

We should trade computers.  icon_eek

I should clean my desk and take pictures of the thing.  I want to replace the case though  - aluminum is great for dissapating heat, but it does kinda suck for dampening sound. 


Try the Antec P180 or the 900...nice cases biggrin
Logged

Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9315



View Profile WWW
« Reply #72 on: February 18, 2007, 10:39:25 AM »

Not to be redundant, but have you tried turning all the details to low, the restarting the game?

This game is pretty CPU dependant, then that video card starts getting hurt when you do all those shadows and per pixel effects on all those units.

I suspect this game also uses vertex shaders to put all those units on the map at once, so the latest video card drivers can help.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #73 on: February 18, 2007, 01:38:01 PM »

I did some testing with FRAPS and with my secondary card disabled. 

All tests ran at 1280x1024 (I think, I'm doing this from memory) @ 75Hz with troop count maxed and battle on-screen

All options maxed, 4AA = roughly 25 fps when zoomed out, roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off = Roughly 20 fps when zoomed but I ran into some hitches moving in where framerate would plummet for a moment then recover.  roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off, shadows off = 45 fps when zoomed out, 60 when zoomed all the way in.   Apparently the shadow handlers are pretty rough on the card


I'm going to re-run the same tests on my single-core Centrino-based laptop.  It has a GeForce 6800 Go and 1GB of RAM - probably closer to the 'average' machine.  I'll let ya know.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #74 on: February 18, 2007, 06:59:54 PM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 18, 2007, 01:38:01 PM

I did some testing with FRAPS and with my secondary card disabled. 

All tests ran at 1280x1024 (I think, I'm doing this from memory) @ 75Hz with troop count maxed and battle on-screen

All options maxed, 4AA = roughly 25 fps when zoomed out, roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off = Roughly 20 fps when zoomed but I ran into some hitches moving in where framerate would plummet for a moment then recover.  roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off, shadows off = 45 fps when zoomed out, 60 when zoomed all the way in.   Apparently the shadow handlers are pretty rough on the card


I'm going to re-run the same tests on my single-core Centrino-based laptop.  It has a GeForce 6800 Go and 1GB of RAM - probably closer to the 'average' machine.  I'll let ya know.

Thanks ron!!
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #75 on: February 18, 2007, 09:24:49 PM »

Quote from: Calvin on February 18, 2007, 06:59:54 PM

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on February 18, 2007, 01:38:01 PM

I did some testing with FRAPS and with my secondary card disabled. 

All tests ran at 1280x1024 (I think, I'm doing this from memory) @ 75Hz with troop count maxed and battle on-screen

All options maxed, 4AA = roughly 25 fps when zoomed out, roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off = Roughly 20 fps when zoomed but I ran into some hitches moving in where framerate would plummet for a moment then recover.  roughly 40 when zoomed all the way in

All options max, 4AA off, shadows off = 45 fps when zoomed out, 60 when zoomed all the way in.   Apparently the shadow handlers are pretty rough on the card


I'm going to re-run the same tests on my single-core Centrino-based laptop.  It has a GeForce 6800 Go and 1GB of RAM - probably closer to the 'average' machine.  I'll let ya know.

Thanks ron!!

Ooooohkay.  After enabling SLI I'm not seeing any difference on the final game.  Reading up on the forums it seems that GPG decided that dual monitors was more important than SLI so there is NO SLI SUPPORT for this title.  Bring your dual core or go home.

Played through the first three levels on my laptop with the same settings as above.  (It is an XPS M170 from Dell) It started out roughly the same but as I ran more and more troops onto the screen I started to see visible chop.  Eventually it was severe chop and required me to drop the detail level to medium across the board to remain above 20fps.  I know my laptop is shy on RAM (1GB) so that counldn't have helped, but from my research, the lack of a second core is more damning. 

I don't know what this is going to mean for most people but I can imagine that the reviews are going to get slaughtered by performance issues.  I'll dual-review it and give you a review based on my PC specs and my laptop specs, similar to what I did with Oblivion. 

...

I can't believe they chose dual monitors over SLI.  How foolish.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #76 on: February 18, 2007, 09:30:25 PM »

For frame of reference:

1) What are the minimum system requirements to play Supreme Commander?

A:   Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2, Vista

      512 MB of System RAM

      1.8 GHz Processor

      8 GB Available Hard Drive Space

      128 MB video RAM or greater

      DirectX 8 Vertex Shader / Pixel Shader 2.0 support (Nvidia 6x00 or better)

      Sound Card, speaders or headphones

      Broadband internet connection (DSL/Cable)

2) What are the recommended system requirements to play Supreme Commander?

A:   3.0 GHz Intel or equivalent AMD processor or better

      1 GB of System RAM or better

      8 GB Available Hard Drive Space

      256 MB video RAM, with DirectX 9 Vertex Shader / Pixel Shader 2.0 support (Nvidia 6800 or better)

      Internet connection with Cable/DSL speeds
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #77 on: February 19, 2007, 03:20:49 AM »

Thanks for all the info ron-so you think this is clearly CPU rather than gpu limited?
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21050



View Profile WWW
« Reply #78 on: February 19, 2007, 05:10:28 AM »

Quote from: Calvin on February 19, 2007, 03:20:49 AM

Thanks for all the info ron-so you think this is clearly CPU rather than gpu limited?

I think there is a combination of things, but primarily yes - CPU limited rather than GPU.  I think there are other elements at play though as people with systems far more powerful than mine are seeing wild swings in performance (like swinging literally from 80 to 3fps at the drop of a hat) that can only be some issue in code.  I think we'll be seeing some big patches for this game to fix performance issues.  Tread with caution.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
faide
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 443


View Profile
« Reply #79 on: February 19, 2007, 05:30:14 AM »

Quote from: Calvin on February 19, 2007, 03:20:49 AM

Thanks for all the info ron-so you think this is clearly CPU rather than gpu limited?

From what I read over on the official forums for it, a lot of people with dual core processors are seeing the first processor peg out at 100% and the second around 50-70%.  It definitely sounds like it's a CPU issue.  There are also issues with Creative Audigy cards as well.   I love the game from what I've played in the demo, but the performance issues are going to keep me from buying it I think.  Hopefully they can get it optimized with a few patches. 
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.174 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.053s, 2q)