http://gamingtrend.com
July 22, 2014, 11:16:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 28   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: [PC] StarCraft 2: Heart of the Swarm out! Legacy of the Void next!  (Read 46504 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
JayDee
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2176


View Profile
« Reply #640 on: August 03, 2010, 01:22:14 PM »

The more I play this game the better it gets. I forgot how fun Starcraft could be. To me it's at its best when you team up with a friend and stomp some AI opponents of varying difficulty.
Logged
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #641 on: August 03, 2010, 01:41:53 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on August 03, 2010, 02:59:00 AM

Quote from: Blackjack on August 03, 2010, 01:32:09 AM

On Mission 7, I just want to say...
Spoiler for Hiden:
Slow down, you #$*#$(*&#%*(#%*()#%ing TRAINS!!!!!!!  @#$(*&%

that may not necessarily be everyone's mission 7.

either way that was a cakewalk.
Speak for yourself, cocky man.  *Fist Shaking* icon_razz
Spoiler for Hiden:
Is there any point in building bunkers near the rails? What was happening to me is my speedy tank things eventually got chewed up faster than I could replace them (I've never pretended to be good at building up Destructor-size swarms of units), and the meager units I could still build couldn't take the faster trains out quickly enough.

A few Siege tanks no doubt would've been great here but I don't have access to them. I've gotten to the point of 6/8 trains but will probably have to replay it from the start.

Lastly, is there any ideal Counter for those Marauder groups? Anything I've thrown at them, even Merc units, just gets slaughtered. It may just be I don't have enough volume, just wondered if there's a counter other than simply having a larger group of Marauders myself.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 01:58:42 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #642 on: August 03, 2010, 02:14:46 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 03, 2010, 01:41:53 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on August 03, 2010, 02:59:00 AM

Quote from: Blackjack on August 03, 2010, 01:32:09 AM

On Mission 7, I just want to say...
Spoiler for Hiden:
Slow down, you #$*#$(*&#%*(#%*()#%ing TRAINS!!!!!!!  @#$(*&%

that may not necessarily be everyone's mission 7.

either way that was a cakewalk.
Speak for yourself, cocky man.  *Fist Shaking* icon_razz
Spoiler for Hiden:
Is there any point in building bunkers near the rails? What was happening to me is my speedy tank things eventually got chewed up faster than I could replace them (I've never pretended to be good at building up Destructor-size swarms of units), and the meager units I could still build couldn't take the faster trains out quickly enough.

A few Siege tanks no doubt would've been great here but I don't have access to them. I've gotten to the point of 6/8 trains but will probably have to replay it from the start.

Lastly, is there any ideal Counter for those Marauder groups? Anything I've thrown at them, even Merc units, just gets slaughtered. It may just be I don't have enough volume, just wondered if there's a counter other than simply having a larger group of Marauders myself.

Spoiler for Hiden:
I had a group of 4 of those Diamondbacks and 26 other units (a mix of marauders, firebats, medics, marines and mercs) that I'd move back to base in between the trains and deploy as soon as the route was revealed.  The soldiers would take down the escort while the tanks would target the first car, and once the escort was taken care of I'd target the very last car of the train.  it doesn't matter what car you do damage to, even though you can target them separately they all share health.  this way I didn't miss a single train.  I didn't bother with the roaming death squad, they were always far enough away from the train that I could get in, kill it and get back to safety.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #643 on: August 03, 2010, 02:21:10 PM »

Hmmm, I didn't realize all those... shared a health pool. Thanks. I'll go off to a corner and mutter "duh" to myself repeatedly.  icon_redface biggrin
Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #644 on: August 03, 2010, 03:49:14 PM »

I guess people are buying this game:

Quote
Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. today announced that StarCraft(R) II: Wings of Liberty(TM) achieved a day-one sales milestone of more than 1 million copies sold worldwide, making it the best-selling PC game of 2010 within its first 24 hours of availability.* The game went on to sell a total of more than 1.5 million copies in its first 48 hours, setting the record for fastest-selling strategy game of all time.*

*Based on internal company records, public data, and/or reports from key distribution partners
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #645 on: August 03, 2010, 04:04:53 PM »

On the train mission I ran into the death squad and killed them. lost a lot of my army though.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #646 on: August 03, 2010, 04:05:36 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 03, 2010, 02:21:10 PM

Hmmm, I didn't realize all those... shared a health pool. Thanks. I'll go off to a corner and mutter "duh" to myself repeatedly.  icon_redface biggrin

I didn't realize it either until the third train.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #647 on: August 03, 2010, 04:43:46 PM »

I remember after SC's success, various devs splintered off to form other small dev companies, though most of their "FROM the CREATORS of Starcraft!" games were about as successful as the ones "FROM the CREATORS of Diablo!" and usually the devs were like a "UI programmer" or a "3rd unit animator" on the better known games.

So I am curious whether Blizzard today can keep all their devs within the Hive Mind in the long run. Certainly they have at least two more big SC2 titles to work on so there isn't that "Ahhh, our game's done, what do I work onw now" thing going on. Or if the "I can make it on my own!" syndrome will take place.

Though obviously Flagship/Hellgate is the 900 lb. Gorilla of "be careful what you wish for" in that regard.  paranoid

While it seems obvious nobody would want to leave a Blizzard any more than they'd want to leave a Bungie or maybe Infinity Ward, creative people do get itchy to do their own thing.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 04:46:38 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #648 on: August 03, 2010, 06:32:08 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on August 03, 2010, 03:49:14 PM

I guess people are buying this game:

Quote
Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. today announced that StarCraft(R) II: Wings of Liberty(TM) achieved a day-one sales milestone of more than 1 million copies sold worldwide, making it the best-selling PC game of 2010 within its first 24 hours of availability.* The game went on to sell a total of more than 1.5 million copies in its first 48 hours, setting the record for fastest-selling strategy game of all time.*

*Based on internal company records, public data, and/or reports from key distribution partners
I am curious if this includes pre-orders (which I guess were at least 800,000 strong in the U.S. pretty close to the release date I read). I dunno, do those not count as actual sales until day 1?

For comparison, I think Medal of Honor Allied Assault topped the sales charts for months after its release in January 2002. If I recall correctly, it sold about 1.5 million copies total (impressive, and a number EA is still futiley chasing 8 years later imho). So to push that many sales in one day in spite of piracy, consoles, and a flagging RTS genre is something else.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 06:45:57 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #649 on: August 03, 2010, 08:41:22 PM »

campaign officially beaten, again. all 29 are down and warfield portrait get. next up, challenges and try to get better at MP. also nexus wars.

I can't stop playing this game. well I have to now because of work.
Logged
TiLT
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6313


Preaching to the choir


View Profile WWW
« Reply #650 on: August 03, 2010, 08:46:40 PM »

Quote from: jersoc on August 03, 2010, 08:41:22 PM

campaign officially beaten, again. all 29 are down

You mean 25 or 26, I believe. I only had 25 missions in the campaign, and I did everything I could find. Supposedly there's one secret mission, and the rest are the branching missions that you are forced to skip because you made a different choice.
Logged
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #651 on: August 03, 2010, 08:47:59 PM »

nope, 29.
Logged
TiLT
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6313


Preaching to the choir


View Profile WWW
« Reply #652 on: August 03, 2010, 09:02:59 PM »

Quote from: jersoc on August 03, 2010, 08:47:59 PM

nope, 29.

So you played through the campaign twice?
Logged
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4121



View Profile WWW
« Reply #653 on: August 03, 2010, 09:08:18 PM »

Quote from: TiLT on August 03, 2010, 09:02:59 PM

Quote from: jersoc on August 03, 2010, 08:47:59 PM

nope, 29.

So you played through the campaign twice?

Quote from: jersoc on August 03, 2010, 08:41:22 PM

campaign officially beaten, again.

 nod
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Kevin Grey
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13976


View Profile
« Reply #654 on: August 03, 2010, 09:21:39 PM »

There are 3 alternate missions depending on your choices.  You can play these variations through the campaign menu. 
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 12508



View Profile
« Reply #655 on: August 04, 2010, 01:11:52 AM »

Quote from: Kevin Grey on August 03, 2010, 09:21:39 PM

There are 3 alternate missions depending on your choices.  You can play these variations through the campaign menu. 

Yeah you don't have to go through the campaign again to beat them, they are selectable in the Bridge, just not from the Star Map.
Logged
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #656 on: August 04, 2010, 06:43:29 AM »

Quote from: TiLT on August 03, 2010, 09:02:59 PM

Quote from: jersoc on August 03, 2010, 08:47:59 PM

nope, 29.

So you played through the campaign twice?

nah, i discovered if you delete saves the rest will show up. i just deleted until i saw the decision auto saves. i will probably do hard mode eventually though. hell normal was extremely easy anyways, i feel like i cheated.
Logged
baelthazar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1095



View Profile
« Reply #657 on: August 04, 2010, 04:38:04 PM »

Quote from: Daehawk on August 03, 2010, 04:04:53 PM

On the train mission I ran into the death squad and killed them. lost a lot of my army though.

Much easier if you have gotten 'copters before the battle. No losses at all!

It is very interesting how you can go down one line, then go back to older missions. It means you can somewhat customize what forces you bring with you to different missions.

Bael
Logged
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #658 on: August 04, 2010, 05:06:07 PM »

Quote from: baelthazar on August 04, 2010, 04:38:04 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on August 03, 2010, 04:04:53 PM

On the train mission I ran into the death squad and killed them. lost a lot of my army though.

Much easier if you have gotten 'copters before the battle. No losses at all!

It is very interesting how you can go down one line, then go back to older missions. It means you can somewhat customize what forces you bring with you to different missions.

Bael
Are you sure? I know a couple of us have tried to replay an earlier completed mission after finishing subsequent missions (and gaining access to new unit types). But on the replay, it still seems to be from that point in the campaign, and we don't have access to those subsequently gained unit types.

You may mean something different than me though.  confused

At this point I'm tempted to just restart the whole dang campaign because so many of the units people toss about (Goliaths, Siege Tanks, etc.) I don't have, and never saw a mission that offered those (presumably cause I missed a "mission tree" somewhere).

Basically, I keep feeling like I brought a butter knife to a gunfight.  Head meets wall
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 05:08:19 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
Butterknife
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 378


View Profile
« Reply #659 on: August 04, 2010, 05:32:15 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 04, 2010, 05:06:07 PM

Basically, I keep feeling like I brought a butter knife to a gunfight.  Head meets wall

In that case you should be in good shape. slywink
Logged
Kevin Grey
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13976


View Profile
« Reply #660 on: August 04, 2010, 05:54:20 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 04, 2010, 05:06:07 PM

Quote from: baelthazar on August 04, 2010, 04:38:04 PM

Quote from: Daehawk on August 03, 2010, 04:04:53 PM

On the train mission I ran into the death squad and killed them. lost a lot of my army though.

Much easier if you have gotten 'copters before the battle. No losses at all!

It is very interesting how you can go down one line, then go back to older missions. It means you can somewhat customize what forces you bring with you to different missions.

Bael
Are you sure? I know a couple of us have tried to replay an earlier completed mission after finishing subsequent missions (and gaining access to new unit types). But on the replay, it still seems to be from that point in the campaign, and we don't have access to those subsequently gained unit types.

You may mean something different than me though.  confused

At this point I'm tempted to just restart the whole dang campaign because so many of the units people toss about (Goliaths, Siege Tanks, etc.) I don't have, and never saw a mission that offered those (presumably cause I missed a "mission tree" somewhere).

Basically, I keep feeling like I brought a butter knife to a gunfight.  Head meets wall

You can't miss a mission tree.  You have a choice in which order you take missions (and therefore when you get certain equipment) but you have to do them eventually. 
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #661 on: August 04, 2010, 06:11:04 PM »

So far I seem to be winning through superior numbers in SP. I'll build up a force of 30 or so units, mostly non mechanical (maybe 4 mechanical units at the most). The mix us usually 4 firebats, 1 medic for every 4 units, 4 marauders and the rest is all marines. I find mechanical units a liability dice they need a SCV for repairs.

Of course I'm probably about to hit the brickwall with this strategy. One cool idea I had is they should have a way to queue up unit construction so as soon as you lose one a new one will start being created.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #662 on: August 04, 2010, 06:21:21 PM »

get the science vessel to heal mech units. so worth it.
Logged
baelthazar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1095



View Profile
« Reply #663 on: August 04, 2010, 07:12:09 PM »

Quote
Are you sure? I know a couple of us have tried to replay an earlier completed mission after finishing subsequent missions (and gaining access to new unit types). But on the replay, it still seems to be from that point in the campaign, and we don't have access to those subsequently gained unit types.

You may mean something different than me though.

No, we mean different things. What I mean is - I didn't even bother doing Matt Horner's line until I had finished Tarkus's line and some of Tosh's line. So when I went over to Horner's line, I had all the goodies that I had acquired in the other lines to play with - including copters. I also had all the upgrades, like the MULE from the Orbital Command Center (ABSOLUTELY GET THIS ASAP). So I just spammed Diamondbacks and Copters and the mission was so much cake it was embarrassing.

Of course, that meant that some of my earlier missions were missing the Diamondback, but I can't honestly say that was too much of a loss.

And yes, that Science vessel is silly good. So are fully upgraded medivaks.

Bael
Logged
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #664 on: August 04, 2010, 07:21:54 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on August 04, 2010, 06:11:04 PM

One cool idea I had is they should have a way to queue up unit construction so as soon as you lose one a new one will start being created.
I wouldn't mind some ability to set a minerals threshold that would Beep-notify me when I fell below a certain level. Certainly you get a warning when you try to build something and you don't have the minerals. But I almost feel like I need an adjustable level warning to keep me from ever getting remotely close to "too low." Yeah I know, I should just build more SCVs. Truly, I always either build too many, or not enough.  icon_razz
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 07:23:48 PM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #665 on: August 04, 2010, 07:31:31 PM »

You can never build too many SCVs.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #666 on: August 04, 2010, 07:38:03 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on August 04, 2010, 07:31:31 PM

You can never build too many SCVs.

You need 30 SCVs per 'standard' base to maximize it.  If you have two gas geysers, you need 33. 
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #667 on: August 04, 2010, 07:51:38 PM »

so like, when the achievement says win a custom game again the AI. wtf is a custom game? I just played what I thought was a custom game and did not receive credit for any of those achievements.

upon googleing it appears you must create a game via MP and add the AI, keep the type as melee. because that's exactly what one would think, right blizzard? oh well, more build order practice.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 07:58:24 PM by jersoc » Logged
ScubaV
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 941



View Profile
« Reply #668 on: August 04, 2010, 08:01:03 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 03, 2010, 04:43:46 PM

I remember after SC's success, various devs splintered off to form other small dev companies, though most of their "FROM the CREATORS of Starcraft!" games were about as successful as the ones "FROM the CREATORS of Diablo!" and usually the devs were like a "UI programmer" or a "3rd unit animator" on the better known games.

So I am curious whether Blizzard today can keep all their devs within the Hive Mind in the long run. Certainly they have at least two more big SC2 titles to work on so there isn't that "Ahhh, our game's done, what do I work onw now" thing going on. Or if the "I can make it on my own!" syndrome will take place.

Though obviously Flagship/Hellgate is the 900 lb. Gorilla of "be careful what you wish for" in that regard.  paranoid

While it seems obvious nobody would want to leave a Blizzard any more than they'd want to leave a Bungie or maybe Infinity Ward, creative people do get itchy to do their own thing.

If I remember right the reason Bill Roper and co. left to make Flagship was more out of protest for the way Vivendi was handling something in regards to Blizzard rather than out of a desire to stake out his own territory.
Logged

I have absolute faith in the power of people to be stupid.

My vision is augmented.
stimpy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 814


I'm makin a move!!


View Profile
« Reply #669 on: August 04, 2010, 09:57:00 PM »

Is there a way to have 2 separate profiles?
Like say I didnt want my stats for mp to be on my main profile.
Logged
Hrothgar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1528


Do you Talk Strategy?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #670 on: August 04, 2010, 10:31:37 PM »

Quote from: stimpy on August 04, 2010, 09:57:00 PM

Is there a way to have 2 separate profiles?
Like say I didnt want my stats for mp to be on my main profile.

Unless I missed something you have to buy another copy of the game to get another bnet profile.  You can play as a guest on one computer though.
Logged

Cheers,
Hrothgar
Live gamertag & PSN name: HrothgarGG
I'm updating my website again.

"No, not alone."  -- War, Darksiders
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11243


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #671 on: August 04, 2010, 10:43:38 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 04, 2010, 07:21:54 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on August 04, 2010, 06:11:04 PM

One cool idea I had is they should have a way to queue up unit construction so as soon as you lose one a new one will start being created.
I wouldn't mind some ability to set a minerals threshold that would Beep-notify me when I fell below a certain level. Certainly you get a warning when you try to build something and you don't have the minerals. But I almost feel like I need an adjustable level warning to keep me from ever getting remotely close to "too low." Yeah I know, I should just build more SCVs. Truly, I always either build too many, or not enough.  icon_razz
I've been reading up on multiplayer strategies and one of the cardinal rules seems to be that it's desirable to always be low on resources.  Stockpiled resources could instead be units or buildings.  Same goes for queuing units.  Queuing 5 units at a production building may feel like an accomplishment of keeping that building busy, but what you're doing is tying up hundreds of resource units that could be actively helping you elsewhere.
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #672 on: August 05, 2010, 12:32:59 AM »

Quote from: wonderpug on August 04, 2010, 10:43:38 PM

Quote from: Blackjack on August 04, 2010, 07:21:54 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on August 04, 2010, 06:11:04 PM

One cool idea I had is they should have a way to queue up unit construction so as soon as you lose one a new one will start being created.
I wouldn't mind some ability to set a minerals threshold that would Beep-notify me when I fell below a certain level. Certainly you get a warning when you try to build something and you don't have the minerals. But I almost feel like I need an adjustable level warning to keep me from ever getting remotely close to "too low." Yeah I know, I should just build more SCVs. Truly, I always either build too many, or not enough.  icon_razz
I've been reading up on multiplayer strategies and one of the cardinal rules seems to be that it's desirable to always be low on resources.  Stockpiled resources could instead be units or buildings.  Same goes for queuing units.  Queuing 5 units at a production building may feel like an accomplishment of keeping that building busy, but what you're doing is tying up hundreds of resource units that could be actively helping you elsewhere.

I'm no expert. But I agree with this 100%.  This is one of the biggest mistakes new players make.  

If you constantly find yourself with a large quantity of minerals, building more unit production buildings should be your priority. Not queuing up units in the buildings you already have.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2010, 12:35:03 AM by denoginizer » Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
USMC Kato
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2749


I have a bad feeling about this....


View Profile
« Reply #673 on: August 05, 2010, 01:03:03 AM »

I used to get wiped by easy-normal A.I. on skirmish, but ever since I did most of the challenges I can take on hard difficulty with no problem.
Logged

Semper Fidelis

Gamertag: USMC Kato
PSN ID: USMC_Kato
Gamecenter ID: USMC Kato
Wii U Nintendo ID: USMC_Kato
baelthazar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1095



View Profile
« Reply #674 on: August 05, 2010, 01:28:29 AM »

Yeah, the Strat Guide very much advises against Resource "banking." The game goes by too fast to have a balance, and units are instantly usable. Even more critical as the Zerg, where your units are supposed to be numerous and expendable. Make banelings and just harass the enemy if you have nothing better to do!
Logged
Blackjack
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10808



View Profile
« Reply #675 on: August 05, 2010, 02:27:01 AM »

Attention: I have finished the...
Spoiler for Hiden:
Train Mission. I got a little smarter about positioning early in the train's route, did sprinkle in some medics in my mob, and leaned heavily on my mercs.
That is all.  High five!

CeeKay's tips helped (I did consciously try to get more medics into my "mob mix"), and I leaned quite a bit on my Mercs. I know they blow a lot of minerals to produce, but I love the ability to get them right away and not be impatiently waiting for the barracks to produce.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2010, 11:51:14 AM by Blackjack » Logged

Playing
PC
-Marvel Heroes
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #676 on: August 05, 2010, 10:06:55 AM »

51% of the achievements obtained so far. those damn challenges kick my ass for anything other than bronze :|
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #677 on: August 05, 2010, 02:09:05 PM »

Quote from: Blackjack on August 05, 2010, 02:27:01 AM

CeeKay's tips helped (I did consciously try to get more medics into my "mob mix"), and I leaned quite a bit on my Mercs. I know they blow a lot of minerals to produce, but I love the ability to get them right away and not be impatiently waiting for the barracks to produce.

I usually try and keep one of the merc drops in reserve in case I need a quick base defense  I haven't bought any of the other merc contracts yet, do they have separate cooldown timers or does bringing in one of the groups cause all the others to go into cooldown?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
ANZAC
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 299



View Profile
« Reply #678 on: August 05, 2010, 02:50:41 PM »

Any way to rotate view or lock on to selected unit?
Logged

Byte me
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #679 on: August 05, 2010, 03:15:52 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on August 05, 2010, 02:09:05 PM

Quote from: Blackjack on August 05, 2010, 02:27:01 AM

CeeKay's tips helped (I did consciously try to get more medics into my "mob mix"), and I leaned quite a bit on my Mercs. I know they blow a lot of minerals to produce, but I love the ability to get them right away and not be impatiently waiting for the barracks to produce.

I usually try and keep one of the merc drops in reserve in case I need a quick base defense  I haven't bought any of the other merc contracts yet, do they have separate cooldown timers or does bringing in one of the groups cause all the others to go into cooldown?

They all have separate cooldowns.  I drop in Siege Tanks and Goliaths almost as soon as I have the cash to do so.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 28   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.191 seconds with 105 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.061s, 4q)