http://gamingtrend.com
August 28, 2014, 01:54:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Silent Hunter 3  (Read 1789 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
DArtagnan
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 251


View Profile
« on: March 18, 2005, 11:03:14 AM »

What, no comments yet?

Supposed to be pretty damn good. At least, better than that tragic prequel.

It's out here in Denmark, and I'll be picking it up after work (5-6 hours). I'll post my own impressions later then.

But, I'm bored now, so BRING ON THE IMPRESSIONS!

 biggrin
Logged
dbt1949
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2619


Don't tread on me


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2005, 02:12:55 PM »

http://www.octopusoverlords.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7986
http://www.octopusoverlords.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8024
http://www.octopusoverlords.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7847
Logged

Ye Olde Farte
VWBug
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 104


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2005, 11:43:56 PM »

Picked it up from EB Games on Wednesday, release day.  I was anxious for this one and didn't wait for a sale price.

Tried a couple of the tutorials (deck gun and AA gun).  AA gun was immediately fun - great explosions/effects.  Deck gun requires a little more effort.  I haven't gotten to the manual yet.

Nice environment, effects, and views.

More this weekend...  this one will keep me busy for a long time.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21054



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2005, 03:14:54 AM »

I picked it up today as well...um...this game is EXTREMELY complex.  I think I may have gotten the sub sim I've always wanted....
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Sepiche
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 723


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2005, 05:42:20 AM »

Man, I grabbed BIA and Nexus on Friday when I hit the store, but I'm starting to think I should have grabbed this.  I have next week off and it'd be nice to have a good complex old school sim to sink my teeth into.

s
Logged

And when he had failed to find these boons in things whose laws are known and measurable, they told him he lacked imagination, and was immature because he preferred dream-illusions to the illusions of our physical creation
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21054



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2005, 06:31:25 PM »

So, what is the copy protection that was installed on this thing?  I shut down my machine after installing it and it wouldn't get past the WinXP logo without 3 restarts.  Its the only thing I've installed recently...
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
ChaoZ
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 608


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2005, 06:33:16 PM »

Starforce

Surprised?
Logged
Ascendent
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1290


Have love, will travel..


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2005, 06:37:56 PM »

Its on sale at gamestop for 29.99 right now. After reading some of the posts about the game I had to get it. Especially 10 dollars cheaper then normal price.

http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=645804

Oh and use FREESHIPALL to get free shipping. Not bad no taxes and no shipping costs.

Ascendent

Credit for deal goes to CAG
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21054



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2005, 06:46:58 PM »

Quote
Starforce

Hmmm....this makes baby Jesus cry.  I think I'll find other methods to play my legitimate game.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Jeff
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3278



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2005, 07:34:46 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
Quote
Starforce

Hmmm....this makes baby Jesus cry.  I think I'll find other methods to play my legitimate game.


They're out there now. The game is playable with Starforce completely removed.
Logged
FlyingElvis
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 164


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2005, 09:31:41 PM »

If you can get past the copy protection, you will find one helluva game. This is one quality sim.

I'm still messing around in the Naval Academy. I re-played the torpedoes tutorial about 12 times before I finally got it right. In other words, not run out of torpedoes before taking out all the merchant ships.
Logged

Now playing: Oblivion, X3: The Reunion
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2005, 10:20:56 PM »

Quote from: "Jeff Jones"
They're out there now. The game is playable with Starforce completely removed.


So they crack or recode the installer?  I was wondering if they would get rid of Starforce alltogether rather than just cracking it.  I guess that's good news for people into that kind of thing since installing the game normally and then using a crack would seem to defeat the whole purpose of going that route.

I'm not particularly interested in the game (Starforce or not), but I like to keep up with the latest Starforce rumblings.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Autistic Angel
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3612


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2005, 07:12:28 PM »

Has anyone else suffered from any CTDs during gameplay?  I was just in the middle of a campaign patrol when I happened across a large convoy, and after successfully sinking the armed escorts and taking down a passenger liner, two C3 tranport vessels, and a T3 tanker, the game suddenly dumped me out to the desktop.  :x

That's happened once before too, but that was when I was in 1024x Time Lapse mode, so I had assumed it was an isolated issue....

 :x  SOOO...FRUSTRATING...!  :x

-Autistic Angel
Logged
AttAdude
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 246


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2005, 10:27:40 PM »

Quote from: "stiffler"
Quote from: "Jeff Jones"
They're out there now. The game is playable with Starforce completely removed.


So they crack or recode the installer?  I was wondering if they would get rid of Starforce alltogether rather than just cracking it.  I guess that's good news for people into that kind of thing since installing the game normally and then using a crack would seem to defeat the whole purpose of going that route.

I'm not particularly interested in the game (Starforce or not), but I like to keep up with the latest Starforce rumblings.


Not so Stiffler.  You are right they did not recode the installer so even pirates are getting SF installed on thier PC.  However after the crack im happy to say you can remove starforce and viola SH3 no starforce..... now if they would just release a hacked patch id be quite happy.
Logged

AttA
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.107 seconds with 51 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.044s, 2q)