http://gamingtrend.com
April 17, 2014, 01:34:47 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RTW performance on lower end machines  (Read 1260 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Ragnarok
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 531



View Profile
« on: October 17, 2004, 09:20:40 PM »

I'm looking to buy RTW as I've heard enough to make me want to buy it.  My question is how it will perform on my P4 1.7G 756MB ram GF3Ti200.  I know there are whole armies to view and watch while zoomed in and am curious if anyone is having any stability problems?
Logged
bluefugue
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 136


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 02:59:53 AM »

My system is less than yours -- Athlon 1500, Gf3ti200, 512 RAM.  I'm running RTW at 1024x768, mostly medium settings I think -- still looks swell and runs smoothly.  I am using normal unit numbers, not huge.  I have on a couple of occasions gotten serious chop while using flaming arrows, but otherwise the game runs fine.  It's actually a bit chuggier in the campaign map than the tactical battles most of the time, but still ok.

Easily best game of the year for me; I'd highly recommend it with the rig you've got.
Logged
Butterknife
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 378


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2004, 02:32:04 PM »

Get it!  You know you want to.

And, since I'm playing Devil's Advocate here, let me just add that I upgraded my rig recently and playing with larger unit settings is just flat-out amazing.  :twisted:
Logged
RaptorRed
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 100


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2004, 03:12:54 PM »

My system is very close to yours and I am running everything on highest settings and it runs as smooth as butter. Get it! Its great.
Logged

I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was.
Ragnarok
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 531



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2004, 03:19:14 AM »

Thanks for the input.  I WILL get it.  Actually I already went to an EB here but for some ungodly reason they didn't have it.  But its coming, oh yes its coming!
Logged
The Rocketman
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 427



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2004, 07:21:02 AM »

At my parents home, I'm running it on a AMD thunderbird 1.2 Ghz, with 512 MB RAM and a GeForce2 MX! WHich is really below the minimum settings, and it runs! Yeah, low detail and all that, but it really amazed me, it's really playable.

EDIT: I have had an error though that makes the tactical map go completely black, like the textures couldn't load. A reboot fixed that...
Logged
Montag
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 95


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2004, 06:20:54 PM »

Runs fine on a AMD 1 GHz Tbird with Ati 9500 pro
Logged
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7328



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2004, 07:32:23 PM »

Quote from: "Ragnarok"
Thanks for the input.  I WILL get it.  Actually I already went to an EB here but for some ungodly reason they didn't have it.  But its coming, oh yes its coming!


I have it for trade if you're interested...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.095 seconds with 38 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.029s, 2q)